WEEI>On Demand>>NFL Sunday: Previewing and Breaking Down the NFC Championship

NFL Sunday: Previewing and Breaking Down the NFC Championship

Jan 19, 2014|

Dale and Matt take a peak at the hard-hitting, rubber match battle later today between the Seahawks and the 49ers and what they expect to happen. They chat about the Pete Carroll factor and how fun it will be if the Pats match up against the Seahawks in 2 weeks at the Super Bowl.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Fourth and final hour NFL Sunday Sports Radio WEEI it is conference championship. Sunday in the National Football League. You'll see you'll hear the pregame show 2 o'clock up for the AFC championship game -- open here of the game at 3 o'clock here on Sports Radio. And needless to say 95% of our focus so far to date has been on the AFC championship game for the obvious local interest reasons. But we've got time here before we bring Tommy current and at the bottom of the -- -- Turn our attention at least briefly to the NFC championship game San Francisco visiting Seattle to say the two best teams in the NFL possible. I think a way for those match ups that happen and we can dig a little deeper our eye of the one thing is because you'll get a ton of exposure are here to those AFC west teams. I'd seen a lot of RS is in FC west front. I hadn't seen a lot of Russell Wilson led simply heard that he had had a another big year he was the consistent guy were cap predicament up and down and RG three's got away. Getting to see you next to have an expendable to them last week in a divisional playoff game. I still think keys. A guy who can make enough mistakes are still needs to be in a move the -- situation a guy whose accuracy isn't. Near leave their yet you know if we saw him bouncing ball stuck on in cots and throw balls at people's feet and stuff like that last week's game albeit the conditions were perfect but. I do look at it as a game where the quarterback play from by either of those teams will be a little bit up and down. But it'll most likely be dependent upon who runs the ball best which is so weird to say in this environment the NFL but the Marshall -- lynch -- running game. The cap predict a little bit more involved in the running game with Frank Gore but I think that's really the dynamic -- they'll tell you what goes on those -- that game. Interesting too because over the last month or so if you look at Russell Wilson's statistics he's only averaging about a 150 yards a game throwing the football. And this day and age in the NFL it just seems strange to even say that. But he he has become at least the last month -- so much more of the game manager type then you know go down -- and help us win this thing. And from against the super sole small sample I've seen it did looked to me that that -- he's different -- obviously a Tom Brady or Manning but I think you can over commit yeah I think you wanna make him. Stand back there and beach. I think you can while Marshawn Lynch to go for five as you would like Marino because I think you told you certainly don't want him to take over the game away. And on the flip side of the ball Seattle so big in the secondary. That you know you may move the ball up and down the field on the -- scary once they get the red zone because they have so many people point out in and that's you know like the Jamie Collins body but those guys are -- Corner and safety you know vote. The sort of you know locked up was kind of arms kind of -- so the the room gets smaller and their their -- -- or an issue so. The biggest surprise me watching the division round last week in watching San Francisco's win. Against Green Bay the thing that really surprised me was how undisciplined that war. I'm I mean -- and I was kind of half joking when I said. In Archie Colin -- nick is mature listening you know worries -- mimicking that the touchdown celebration of the opposing quarterback the super. The Superman thing and all that stuff. Anquan Boldin looked like he was -- -- for a fight on every play head button guys they were much more on discipline that I expected. A Jim Harbaugh team to. Our. Which is interesting because that's certainly not the perception I mean I I certainly think of Harbaugh and I think of -- -- sort of that you know I actually listen to an interview with Donte Whitner on the -- in on the writing here from from Bellingham dale and Whitner was talking about how much of a player's coach that Harbaugh isn't. I guess that's not my perception of what feel like he's sort of a disciplinarian -- body wise yet but he referenced him as a guy that was a little more loose and let his dual wanna do let us be quarter equal 49ers a report. He believes that to mean but what. But whatever but you know you do have some very strong personalities and solace in young -- nick who has been a little bit -- we and that's kind of been his thing the commercials in the off the field stuff. And Vernon Davis who's been a little bit actually I think I got -- -- sounds a lot more sort of -- there than he was in the singletary days that kind of stuff but. More than a guy who as we watch him that I I have kind of like Reggie Jackson fuel about it. He's he's an okay declared the regular season but he's like mr. not October but I guess mr. January like you just watch his production spike. In his focus on the offense Everest Davison so Vernon Davis himself was at hip injury wasn't a terribly big part of last week's game so. Yeah I'd yogurt 2.0 and I think that ultimate mistakes will be would be an issue in for a team that was in the super boy a year ago for them to continue to make mistakes you play with play with -- a little bit especially going on the road. It's interesting too because in both conference championship games this weekend on today. The stadium is like the coast. It in Denver it's the mile high in altitude and and of course in Seattle it's the twelfth man -- out the stadium on the planet mullets the stadium is like costar promote these these games one and winters appoint him no likenesses of Vernon Davis and of your early in the week any lesbian. Where he had mentioned -- he knew some of his offensive linemen are wearing earplugs in practice the sort of simulate I don't know offered I would never take those plugs through the game. Concerned that if I had a -- I couldn't hear a check or were your rotate the call in the huddle. Exactly exactly hear the quarterback make them the play call on the -- and certainly not been signed you -- so I don't -- I think that would be a bit of risk by. Usually you. You're on offense year yeah that the does that does that sound build up before -- ever gotten -- instrument -- I don't know that but it would seem like a bit Everest. And kind of tea. A resurrection for Pete Carroll has -- Since the basically got up before the posse arrived in Southern California let's be honest he got out before the NCAA came down on like on the -- But whatever you wanna say about a man when he was the coach your lot was said about him. He's really doing a great job there with that -- sure is and I think it shows. How important the head coaches in the -- and really is I think. -- a situation where he releasing mr. changed what was going on that building. Feeling the players have the kind of player that sort of mimic his personality you know I don't think it's -- it's a coincidence that a guy like Richard Sherman has blossomed under a guy like Pete I mean that's that's that's it's a perfect sort of -- you may be that. Wouldn't be assembly here who knows but early she got the sort of put those personalities. The battle Britain be part of the -- way -- kind of stuff but. I think he's found people to fit his system I think he was always agree teacher never personally got the plea form but I hear my guys like Ted -- Ted -- speak highly go home. I will he speaks highly of -- he's the guy the brought those guys and you know fell in and gave him a lot of there -- schooling on the front end of their careers will be certainly hold them and I regard. It's just that. It as sort of a dichotomy is the exact opposite daily approach and Ross Ross stuffing your gonna game here as things are now in Foxborough. Do you believe the perception in it's out there. That the NFC championship game will be the more physical of the two contests that this will be you'll whichever team survives this NFC championship game right. Well you buy into that. Part of what makes people believe you're playing more physical is just simply the political choice. If you put too if you put fullback in the backfield and you -- -- or defense across from your gonna play that kind of game your quarter or physical. If you put a third wide receiver and -- would spread out in the games played in space. Yeah you're going to the big -- plays but I think off the sublime play is still pretty physical war with the other. And the best example -- -- the Denver which -- is a team that you know maybe in the old -- small but the so called nine you know novice -- quote quote unquote physical and asks right. But you watch Beatles you watch of -- as you -- Martinez center. Those are pretty through physical due to the white people out so yes they are change of pace -- plays with no show -- but I think from the player review going and you watch film. Balls are light -- old Denver you know zone read run stuff with the two world Davis kind of linemen. They're pretty physical -- to yesterday and get more passes them. Quick passing plays and I think that says finessed a lot of people. What the personalities they have on the roster posters aren't a part of it is too and I am convinced of this as I watch them both play. It's it's huge hits that are deemed illegal by the end. Right that you know ultimately drop flags but you know I showed you -- here at the price it's like it's. Both teams seem more willing to -- those types of shots. And smarter more disciplined teams tend to well I think you're also looking to -- -- this is -- attitude of the audio we just heard from coach Belichick about leader -- it's about the pad level stuff right in the way you have to hit guys out space like that. When you get Marshawn Lynch out in space those pats get -- you get the hold branded beast mode thing. And there's going to be collision there's literally no way -- to hit helmet to helmet -- the pats in that situation as a guy gets all blow. What's on the front of the body just forgot what it's like -- of course they're gonna hit. You see those massive collision when your screen passes when you're doing draw plays. Sometimes a -- doesn't happen so I think style sorted dictates what goes on in that room. It is ironic that we talked about this in in relation to the patriots game today. The weird sort of thing going on here Wear this to passing. It is -- fling the ball around a lot type of football. And yet I would say that for best running attacks are in the conference championships right. Which makes you accurate GM of one of these other twenty teachers in all right now tractor -- gonna build us up for next year. Is that the port of the so called. Copycat league that you go back and try and find the man I've been moving towards spread offenses in moving the ball up and down the field and drafting smaller defensive players and and all the sudden these teams in in December early January. Packed it in him bloodied our nose. I -- you know it's sort of the union yanking it back and -- guys the defendant or maybe I need to go try to build myself to be open as well. Again as long as the dimensions of the field never change unless somehow the skilled as the players dramatically change in size. It's always going to be a part of the reason I say that is I think off the talk now about how. Players are bigger faster thrower it's really look at the players up and down NFL rosters. The people over the course of last -- were different in size and ability of the off its line. Those the guys who make the most demonstrable change. A lot of these quarterbacks or Bobby Taylor you know fifteen years ago it was a 64 quarter -- or pepper -- coral banks and LP's 20/20 five years ago or just as big an action bigger than a lot of guys the route there now. Reynolds was a 6364 wide receiver that big bodies guys at this but there's skill position. Forty -- I don't think that much different. The people that are bigger and different. The 68350. Pound offensive -- the 66330. -- to work six to 300 anymore. That's where your changes to the guys that you answer to. In free agency and and you draft -- relief in that box. Everybody who retire from the game ultimately looks at the games it's being played now it is all well. I'd be I'd be safety did. But I hate to say Matt -- your case going up against 68350. Pound. Offensive -- it'll be hard for you -- your size and body type to play that game right now I'm -- similar size to Rob Ninkovich suggests that's relief who and it's hard and and again that that -- look at the linebackers I would bet I would be on the big side of -- linebackers even now in the NFL released on that into the curve. The guys that you get in trouble with the or the small Oregon Treblinka and his name it was a really good partly it's that would be even at this what you do it will work tested when your middle linebackers. Five point 2.5 you know that kind of thing the colts middle linebacker like -- but like I like -- key -- looks small he does fight by today's linebackers standard intently at east lead in the league -- his book he -- keep it -- becomes a little more difficult for a guy like him for -- Kiko Alonso with -- -- If you have to played. Last week's game -- efforts -- to over the line up with maybe two tight ends and a Mac or two backs in the backfield and it's downhill running right -- -- with those guys are best is when you spread when you allow them to world when you force them recovery tied for the -- back in space. Where their -- pursuing him making tackles all over the field that's where their root legally. When you do the other thing you're gonna need some more pepper Johnson bodies -- need some more spikes bodies in New Delhi Ninkovich public. Can we assume that the 49ers would have an advantage over the the Seahawks if they made it to the Super Bowl just in this regard. They've been there. They've done that they know what it's like back they were their last year in other than that that thing about Yunel. Go to the Super Bowl for the first time you don't know what you don't know you don't understand what that. And I'm sure their guys I haven't looked through the whole roster they're guys in the Seattle roster who have been in the super ball and trial here. But you've got the entire 49ers roster practically that was in the Super Bowl a year ago. They might be able to handle the noise a little better. -- that's an interest in angle bill to bring up because I'd Bjorn. Your demon that I would be curious just historically and Chris is one always pulls the stock forests and those stock while but. Once the last time a Super Bowl loser. Went about back in bills may be immune I mean -- now along with someone just. Loss on and made the way back I mean we've had a string here with the -- the year before lose or some numbers and make the playoffs at a relatively high right so. That would be a big deal so yeah I think they would have an advantage -- it would still be fresh because you know you're probably talking at least half for two thirds of the Ross who was there with from the time for. Yes it's a new team but for all those reasons -- mentioned. Maybe the bright lights are cubic everybody's hungry at this stage obviously start but yet everybody wants him to win the Super Bowl championship. But isn't it fair to say that the team that lost the Super Bowl a year ago might be that much hungrier. There they were so tantalizingly close I think that's fair I think the biggest issue is hunger is one thing. Lessons learned is another. You have enough people on that roster that would have remembered what went wrong in in -- usually comes down to half a dozen plays half a dozen things they've learned from that we just had done this. There's enough people the room to fix that you're not trying to write a new book. You can go back and try to fix the things that were fixable understand the kind of things can't happen -- I can imagine and I I haven't been a part of that the two. Play a Super Bowl losses we're here we're going one by. There's -- I'm sure there's a field with some of those guys in the event that. We done XYZ would know when their to have that -- This time it's not you know four years later Wes Welker caught the past gonna go their but I had hail that piled onto the interception you run plays like that -- okay. Your right so but I think in the event that those lessons. Or four teams from four years ago that we just simply wore the same helmet sticker it's a lot of the same people so you don't have to. Reach its no new lessen its -- from the coaching staff you're talking a lot of missing people were involved. I heard a great -- earlier today and one right didn't realize and I give Ian O'Connor from ESPN radio the credit for this. Derek Jeter had a nine year drought from 2000 to 2009. Between World Series championships right. I mean if you think about it that's pretty unusual. To have World Series titles but a nine year gap between them interestingly enough you've got Tom Brady in the same sort of route here for the patriots. And in an. I've always said this if you -- if you have the opportunity to get to what a championship game as a rookie. You might be ill served you might think almost always going to be like -- that you know you play you win yet your -- you're a Super Bowl you won a super all these great. Brady's got to be thinking how many more kicks at this can am I gonna get where you got guys like -- nick. Who's already been and one Russell Wilson who has a better one but he's almost on his way up and you know on his way through it. You get those two guys who may not have as good an understanding as Manning and Brady do -- doesn't happen very -- Right and I think there are other people in that building who have. Experienced a ton of success but not the ultimate thing in Gaza according who's been here and they've been basically successful since -- walked in the door. Yet they haven't got that final thing -- is another guy since he's been here but a lot of winning but they haven't pulled and a final sort of strength. So yeah I think there are enough people on -- all sort of party your leadership group that understands that. -- happen at some point we're not gonna be here every year although I think their situation is a little bit unique the feeling is not just. You know out there in the ether. What in the event that bills here in the event that comes here maybe that's a three year window maybe that the two maybe to five maybe it's six. But I think there is enough the feeling and should take it from credit. But that in the event that there is there were gonna review -- comeback can potentially be in the spot each year now about shouldn't you know help you -- not perform the same level you need to be reaching every year. -- experience that because because that's so much success in the span of four years going three or four times. But I felt public and almost made you hunger like after we won it it was so much better some reports citing so much more driven to get back there are so I think this is a group that big gets it. Now they just need to go get it done. On team is favored in both conference championship games and should be I mean that's why you earn the opportunity to have home field advantage the right regular season. Do you think the home team should win the NFC championship game ordeal like the visitor in this one there's something to be said. For late season momentum is well and the and the 49ers committed today's conference championship game on the heels of an eight game winning streak. Yeah hand I I I believe at this for played. Say in the Rose Bowl or some sort of neutral site. I would ignore the simple say in the event that your name -- teams should play a suitable somehow I would probably -- San Francisco. But this is just that Warren -- ball weird things with that venue in the way of taking place in the -- that's part of his -- as loud it's also they play well in that environment they generally respond and answer when there there. That to mean makes it a toss up you know farm picking this week I would probably pick Seattle not because I believe they're better but I believe that there. Within a hair of the other team and they earned their advantage they got their advantage and it's the kind of thing based on how they're built run game grind you down big play guy off play action. That works there. So yeah I think it's a situation where as you mentioned you did all those things the regular season you earn the right to be there it should now caption for. I kind of feel the same way and I know the the trendy pick around the country. Is San Francisco yeah it is because of the eight game winning streak I think. And because of how impressive they looked a week ago against Carolina and they did look impressive you know they seem to -- the trendy pick and yet I'm currently he liked. Police say -- home team. Is the team that I would pick to win this game not just because. If the patriots were to win today I would love you know two weeks of preparation for Pete Carroll but I I just think that's the that's the pick for me. What's put it this way in the event that Seattle were to get past I think that's a team from the game play standpoint if you're either Denver New England that you. Are nearly as for your for -- because they don't have a lot of those offensive weapons you know that's one of the biggest thing when it's tough to judge Russell Wilson. A lot of his pursue our minister of a question mark they lost Sidney Rice you know basically. -- paid as the big time wide receiver they have. They have sort of a Seattle says -- and will be ready Indianapolis Super Bowl but boy -- wonder I know also a -- a situation where they're awfully depleted themselves are so much more dependent on that run game the American usually is for each and every week. Well I think that's a team that would be a little easier to game plan for this San Francisco lease on the outside the ball Sampras -- goes a little more diversity. They've got those big time gamers in your Bolden and your Vernon Davis and Crabtree is now come along in a run game it's diversion to do a lot of things in the quarterback is dangerous. I just think -- tougher matchup you probably feel a little -- -- we can take away blank in the event of you know Marshawn Lynch. You'll the quarterback not allowed to get outside the pocket -- the rest out a matchup spatter. -- Cisco not that way but that doesn't have a -- to do with that and I think today Seattle has a good chance of a portrait. And isn't it fair to say that whichever team wins the NFC championship game today. Either want. That if they if you put him under sodium pentothal they'd prefer to play the patriots in two weeks and the Denver Broncos its interest in from a perception standpoint. You're probably right because I I don't think that the the regard for the Patriots defense there and the patriots offensive glass and yeah. Well I think back of our old the old 2001 perception of loss and even though three come back tears later. Are they really that cool under the age is the team that does all the right things does all the little things but doesn't really scare us you know schematic we don't scare us on the box score that -- In the stat sheet. That's good hope they feel that way you know him as an as a team going against them -- hope that they think -- of the better matchup. Because this is one of those teams that. You know just does what it takes and they figured out next may and couple that stops -- you really can't quantify that when he tried who usually entered. We will bring Tom Curran from CS and any dot com into our conversation in just couple of minutes. At the top of the hour we will take you to the pregame show from. West wood is covering today's game will take you to their pregame show 2 o'clock today we will have the game for yet. Here -- Sports Radio this is NFL Sunday presented by the plans the insurance at the plant ski -- shops or use save. Visit cup Lansky dot com today.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Lo…

It Is What It Is Cast: Logan Mankins, the offensive line, and Brandon Spikes' guarantee

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Christopher Price discuss Logan Mankins' breakdown of the offensive line and how it will look without Dante Scarnecchia. They also discussed Mankins' rebuttal to Brandon Spikes.

It Is What It Is Cast: Bill Parcells and Patriots Hall of Fame

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Bill Parcells' Patriots Hall of Fame candidacy.

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Celtics President Danny A…

Celtics President Danny Ainge with Dale and Holley 4-17-14

We wrap up the Celtics season by speaking with Celtics president Danny Ainge about this past season and the team's future.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

Red Sox Assistant GM Mike…

Red Sox Assistant GM Mike Hazen chats with Dennis and Callahan

Hazen joins Dino, Gerry and Kirk for the Front Office Report to give us the latest on all things Red Sox. He also gives his take on the Michael Pineda pine tar controversy.

John Lackey with Joe and Dave after he pitches a great game to beat the Yankees

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox pitcher John Lackey after he goes 8 solid innings in a great performance, while giving the Red Sox bullpen a night off. Lackey talks a little about what he thinks about Michael Pineda's ejection for having pine tar on his neck.

Sox Manager John Farrell with Dale and Holley

We check in with John Farrell live from Fenway Park with Dale, Holley and Steve Lyons. We talk Boagearts, Buchholz, Pierzynski, Lester, the losing and much much more.

Andy Brickley, NESN: Reca…

Andy Brickley, NESN: Recaps Bruins vs Red Wings, Game 3

Andy Brickley, NESN; Joins Mut and Merloni to recap the Bruins win against the Red Wings in game 3

Shawn Thornton on the game 3 win in Detroit 4-23-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to discuss the Bruins win last night over the Red Wings. Shawn talked about Marchand's agitator status within the league.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, Bruins- Red Wings 4-22-14

Pierre McGuire of NBC Sports joins the program to talk about Game 3 between the Bruins and the Red Wings. He also discusses the issue of targeting player and weighs in on Matt Cooke's vicious knee hit to Tyson Barrie.

Red Sox Assistant GM Mike…

Red Sox Assistant GM Mike Hazen chats with Dennis and Callahan

Hazen joins Dino, Gerry and Kirk for the Front Office Report to give us the latest on all things Red Sox. He also gives his take on the Michael Pineda pine tar controversy.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Lupita Nyong'o is the Most Beautiful Woman 4-24-14

Headlines of the day brought to you by Kirk Minihane include the most beautiful woman, three lesbians and a baby, and a murder tattoo.

Pine Tar Finally Catches up to Pineda 4-24-14

Dino, Gerry & Kirk evaluate the newest contender for dumbest athlete.

Daily Diamond: NY's react…

Daily Diamond: NY's reaction to Pineda, 4-24-14

Mut and Merloni tune in to WFAN in New York and listen to a Yankees perspective of what transpired last night at Fenway.

Michael Pineda gets ejected for pine tar; suspended 10 games, 4-24-14

Mut and Merloni react to a wildly entertaining game at Fenway last night in which we saw Michael Pineda ejected in the second inning because he had pine tar on his neck.

Buster Olney, ESPN: Farrell did the "exact right thing", 4-24-14

Buster Olney joins Mut and Merloni to discuss Michael Pineda using pine tar at Fenway and getting ejected from the game. He also discusses the reaction from Yankees GM Brian Cashman.

Dale and Holley's Four at…

Dale and Holley's Four at Four Milestone Editon - 4/23/14

We tackle four topics all revolving around big time milestones in sports.

John Farrell with Dale and Holley: Pierzynski just needs more familiarity with this pitching staff 4-23-14

We check in with John Farrell live from Fenway Park with Dale, Holley and Steve Lyons. We talk Boagearts, Buchholz, Pierzynski, Lester, the losing and much much more.

Holy Diver? Bruins win but focus switches to Brad Marchand's instigating tactics 4-23-14

We discuss the Bruins win to take a 2-1 lead in Detroit, and how Brad Marchand is once again (for better or worse) making his presence felt in a series. Hey, he may be a rat, but he's OUR rat.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Fantasy Football Off-Seas…

Fantasy Football Off-Season Podcast 4

The 4th addition of WEEI’s Fantasy Football Offseason Podcast is loaded and ready. In this week’s conversation Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson of Rotobahn.com dig into the sinking draft stock of Teddy Bridgewater (much too their chagrin), while refocusing and emphasizing the immense scouting work done by Pete on players like Bridgewater, Zach Mettenberger, Blake Bortles, Bishop Sankey & Lache Seastrunk. Also, Jim & Pete touch on news from around the league regarding new Jet, Chris Johnson, Montee Ball in Denver and help you tune out all of the negative noise some in the media are trying to push. We’re not buying! Lots of Football love in this podcast for the Football lover. Enjoy!

Pod Man Rush: DJ Bean and Greg Wyshynski on Bruins-Red Wings

Greg Wyshynski of Yahoo! Sports joins DJ to break down the first-round matchup between the Bruins and Red Wings. Also discussed is Zdeno Chara's Norris candidacy, transparency with voting for the NHL awards and whether the Canadiens will get out of the first round.

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

Boston Marathon director …

Boston Marathon director Dave McGillivray 4-22-14

Dave called in to discuss the epic Boston Marathon.

More from this show

Pine Tar Finally Catches …

Pine Tar Finally Catches up to Pineda 4-24-14

Dino, Gerry & Kirk evaluate the newest contender for dumbest athlete.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: David Gregory is tanking 4-22-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed David Gregory's tanking Meet The Press ratings.

More from this show

Aaron Boone, ESPN: Sox ha…

Aaron Boone, ESPN: Sox haven't been able to replace Ellsbury, 4-23-14

Aaron Boone joins Mut and Merloni to talk about the early season troubles the Red Sox have had and the defensive struggles.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Colbert introduced on Letterman

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. The guys talked about Colbert joining Dave Letterman last night.

More from this show

Weei Writers