WEEI>On Demand>>NFL Sunday: Previewing and Breaking Down the NFC Championship

NFL Sunday: Previewing and Breaking Down the NFC Championship

Jan 19, 2014|

Dale and Matt take a peak at the hard-hitting, rubber match battle later today between the Seahawks and the 49ers and what they expect to happen. They chat about the Pete Carroll factor and how fun it will be if the Pats match up against the Seahawks in 2 weeks at the Super Bowl.

Related Audio:

  1. @Bradfo Show: Sundays with Torey

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Red Sox Bench Coach Torey Luvollo joins the program to talk about Red Sox injuries and the MLB Replay process

  2. The Chris Villani Show: The Failure of MLB Replay System

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Our number two Chris aligning with sports Sunday Sports Radio WEEI 6177797937. Then not all Red Sox some pretty much all Jon Lester threw the first hour lie detectors weighing in on the AT&T tax line on that will get to that just a moment. Out final round of the masters is going on a maturity people. Into getting into what is much science tiger. And without Phil as well he Mickelson showed up I think late Thursday night she flew in and Friday after energy is flied out. With Phil Mickelson. I he had a tough weekend are tough early going Richardson first round in a local guy Keegan Bradley struggled missed But there are some big games of the top the leaderboard some exciting. I young names of the Jordan's BT's twenty years old he's cash to win the masters I he'd be the youngest winner since 1979. LEB younger. Then the tiger was the first time you want it. And one of the things that really stood out to me is speaking with some people were down there this week to cover the toward talks and these young guys and it get back to tiger. The complete and water. Lack of off. Around around Tiger Woods to these guys are too young you think about twenty years old 21 years old with somebody like camera some would like walker. In somebody like Blix the Swedish guys and second right now and he's. He's like 28. You know some of these guys too young to really remember or at least have played with tiger against tiger. When he was hitting level like we never seen before the PGA tour earlier received since Jack. And they look at him now a Zagat shoot 77 on the weekends. Is that cats really contention anymore where is I mean Aaron I'm not old and your and all of you remember when. Final round tigers in the lead it was done forget about it I mean one year in the PGA YE Yang those big shots out late and ended up beating and yet that epic battle with Bob May. I nearly beat him in the PGA but it would for the most part just wasn't close he would get a lead and he was one of the best closers in the we'd seen in the sport. But it's just it's different now that's a different vibe. Around Tiger Woods and it's gone from seemingly a foregone conclusion that he would get to nineteen majors is seemingly foregone conclusion that he won't eat next year. Does play majors this year. Is give forty years old Jack won three. After he needs five Jack won three after forty to two of those were when he was forty and the masters in 986. Was kind of an out Larry's 46 years old. Tiger would be a hall of fame career from here on out five major championship all career to get in nineteen. I think it's interesting not only his fall from grace just as a player. In terms of winning majors the was in my opinion at least the best player on were last year he had five or six wins a torch to win major. But the bigger thing to me is just how some of these younger players perceive him do tiger as a contention it used to be regarded. The average stroke. The average round rather up a stroke in. In in the in the final round on Sundays when tiger was in contention real just kind of melted aged just. Folded around with a few exceptions mentioned Bob revealed in Nickels and it's good battles but. For the most part it was just tiger's world everybody else's playing for second they were on him Ernie Els just not Now is young guys just young enough to cocky enough and don't really remember that at least they didn't play through it. And they're saying how statute 75 on the weekends with what's not ID in the turn now but. I should be upon Sunday Bubba Watson very very likable guy. And I Jordan who were finding out a lot about trying to become the youngest masters winner a long time quick birds update we'll get back to the calls against 617779. 7937. Cordially NC DM IA's doing great to get the good news on him that was definitely a concern that you know DM IAA was. Out I got hit looked like in the that it from I thought it was illegal but not dirty if that makes sense I don't think there was intent to injure there. It was just one of those times you're trying to make a hockey play get the principal point contact up higher and you won it. So I thought it was an illegal hit not a dirty hit but by a help not the that you concussion translated to on the ice Thursday that part we don't know just yet. But Patrice Bergeron it sound like is fine I he missed the third period yesterday that would would have been a huge concern. I outside to go. There's not too many guys you point to and say this more important to the bees and Bergeron two way player in hockey this year. Obvious he's good according to coach Julianne and Chris Kelly looks like still day to day with that back injury so some. Relatively speaking. Minor bumps and Bruce is going into the Stanley Cup Playoffs but you know these guys especially Alec Bergeron if he could be on the ice on Thursday against the red he's going to be there. I HTT tech slide is 37937. It's like grab a few of these real quick a one Dexter says eight times over David Price let Lester walked. While you make Casey price a better pitcher at this stage of his career early younger I can cost more money. And now your bidding against everybody else you've got the cost control guy. Housing cost control we get the guided the under your control rather. The of the exclusive negotiating window with wants to stay here to guide it. As more in depth track record in the post season to sign him. And that point it's not a knock on price and gives great pitcher. But if you're looking at what you can do it even easier than that that will save you some money relative to what price can get on the open market signed last. I know detector can you imagine having Stanton in Boston did it forty plus homers easy architecture from western mass. Two words about prospects Daniel yep they can go hard the other way. I another one here says agree with you order percent top of the rotation guys talk about Lester innings a year post seasons died. Given the cash over five years five for one and should get it done. And out finally is Lester stats are comparable to average career he walked away from 244 million Lester has been better than Homer Bailey and look at the contract. That he just signed a few textures telling me the gets four clocked at. Well evening parade for a UConn for the championships I assume the men and women together out both of them winning the national title. Yes as tougher as Turkey's but happy for Kevin Ollie who now is the next. Hot coaching named to go from college to the end beauty after eight seasons. But undefeated in the NCAA tournament ally guys can say that are at six or 77797937. is in New Jersey he's up next When then. Just try to not cute bit Ali thank you and I can't believe that a low ball. Jon Lester like they don't agree that you like a side impact by one and whatever argument sake. We have been out of my. But you see a lot of contracts for your team that have gone got into the contract stratosphere and some of them have really worked out so well. But for a number like dapper Lester what he's so willing to stay. I agree I was surprised. When I saw what the number was at the end of spring training where the Red Sox know Lester broke off toxin seems like a a low ball contract terms of dollars in a low ball contract thirty years. definitely. god I G I mean lucky probably let out a little bit like that way radio reluctant I had. Yeah I mean yeah I'm with you thanks to the fall being a former yankees fans perspective. They're never shy about spending dollars. That Lester contract is makes sense and I've said this a few times. Because just getting back to this point I do think my gut still tells me they get a Don. Gut feeling they still get this contract done because I hate candidate it player just wants too much just wants to be a Boston too much. You back going to be here at the expense of taking deal it's foolish and a four year seventy to eighty million dollar contract before which. At ball way below market terms years below market terms the average annual There's no upside here it sounded like a Red Sox blown away with a give you four years but here's point six million a year. Which is probably more than you gonna get I guarantee each and every year on the open market that it could at least. I still think Lester would walk away from crystal he'd say no. But I could look at that is saying the Red Sox in good faith effort to try to. Do with last year what they've done with other guys which is over pay an average annual dollars but try to take that discounted terms of the number years seventy. I can't say that. I can't see it as they came under years came under dollars 6177797937. Bill isn't busted up next they've built. They would subject. who visual. You know what about. You guys keep in the world. Could together okay. guys they look at the guys renewed deal if everybody involved. Make him have the option to. Who boarded deals rivals ordered to the guys will. Make it work. So real simple. So three years of his make sure Israelis and three years seventy million. And then assuming he stays healthy another two years at how much. Ordered me at all. That would come out to volley at 5110. About then you know what would actions. YouTube. 120. It was cute guys so. Yeah It it it any guaranteed dollars sport. That that's just not gonna work for the players work for last. Well hope what works right now what made two big guy a two year deal seven million. With a guarantee. Appeared to remain nimble. The two more years of targeted what are enviable. Well let's get. That that that the five year 120 million dollar contract. Where. OK I guess that that's reasonable but I mean you if you're guaranteeing the money that it's not three years in the two years to five years. And yet we could what three years didn't work out three years it will be created numerous believe that you develop very animated. You know. Yeah I mean I like well. I guess I can't get what you in there you know again trial period so to speak at three year seventy million dollar. You know test blown the CP states LP and see if he still producing. The news saying guaranteed fifty million after that which is five for once money. Why would John again you'd think about it okay hometown discount know we heard the operator gets excited about it. to get past the idea of a hometown discount meeting complete insanity. Seventy million dollars even over a three years average dollars a lot of money. But it still. 50% of what can get out in the open market. You know why would I take seventy million guaranteed even for three years when I could just double that six years guaranteed at 140 million. You know six I can get that extra seventy million dollars over three more seasons just to go out in the open market. That would be a great team friendly kind of idea but Lester were being eyed Joseph and Wakefield once the way HL. What they've done so much for the in the you know 78 years. That burning up I don't know are already up at. I agree with UN and the injury concern for me is that they're now we are talking about Clay Buchholz we'd be having added I merely different conversation. But with Lester even a year it was bad in 2012. Still pitch to plus innings. Yeah I mean you don't get a picture wondering about that party and you don't hate you guys brought there get a going to be offered. And I are I think I really like the attitude that you just want the behavior I don't understand why the Internet situation black. We're not talking about giving the guy a 140. I'm not all that with the amount of money more book like the object audit. Well he had I think the Red Sox kind of Hewitt in the regard as well that's why I wasn't completely floored when he said OK if we here opera was the most that they had. I'll put out there by the time they broke off negotiations. But I'd be and neighbor of 400. Yell now and a and a big. Average annual value a Ford seventy for is an opera that you know the players get a that's an opera that it's designed to be turned out. Yeah independent though they looked like but based on the yacht I don't know it. All the the PR stunt getting negative PR because I think I had tickets ridiculous they have any Lester did lie to me if he blocks away at the end of the day. And and the Red Sox look back and in the end flick back and say. And they could of they could negotiate they could out of spring training but the only opera percent beat the teams the only one's gonna look bad that's an. Aerial my opinion darker integrated you know integrated I'm sorry you know it made it. It's the same age and it did Dustin Pedroia has I can't think of his name off my head to similar Pedroia as we negotiated down discounts the This situation it is thought here we cannot I mean update completely done park are now completely. It sounds like till the end of the season got to do have an exclusive negotiating window. Went thanks for the college and they've exclusive negotiating window with Lester. After the season is over and that it's free agency. But you know in my mind even if the Red Sox were come back with a big number in the fall. But it even gets to. Reagents even gets to the point were other teams are our ticketing contracts are offers a Lester you're probably spending more than what you have spent. It just get the deal done now. You just avoid any possibility any any chance did you rate in the another team another suitor and unlike David Ortiz we can't you know we had a debate about Ortiz is going to be even a market that is. And I thought maybe lot of people but absolutely now. That's fine with Lester there's no debate right. I mean when I can debate the fact that it thirty year old going on 31 year old lefty it's starting pitcher with a great post season track records that market. We know that that's the case there's going to be money thrown at this. So you have the opportunity. To not only negotiate exclusively with him up or you even touch or even Free agency. It to get an offer on the table to sign this guy if they're not able losing the player beat. I signing into a deal that maybe goes outside their comfort zone because now they worry about free agency not to worry about other offers them. You could have made a better fate in my mind decide than these reported figures in at these numbers are right you know he's not taking. It's an it's designed to be refused to keep brought out their deceit it's a hit proper. I don't think organ necessarily buy that I think that this mark baseball banner that. That they and as long as you're in line with keeping Lester some cables don't want that at any high price and that's fine that's your opinion I disagree by. It any band that wants Jon Lester back is valued at his team. It and understand just what the market is looking for the seventy's at It's an insult. Text messages committed 37937. AT&T like. Texas is Red Sox have too many pitches in the system they had the upper hand. Now that it's does its thing is too many pitchers in this is have a lot of starting pitching depth they have a lot of potential. As allowed by hope and is better than Jon Lester obese Kerr shot why not. But you know what you have in Jon Lester. You don't know what you have yet Henry and that goes to my point of if you're gonna have some of these cost control pre arbitration arbitration guys up. Lester got the money to do. He could have a a lot of money coming off the books over the next read of where years. Yet a pitcher John Lackey threw for 500000 dollars on next season. In NA and it not a salary cap sport but it sport I care about a 189 million dollar luxury tax threshold for the at least they're from last. I that to take three years the market's already at five to six. years as Lester won't get 140 on the open market I disagree I think he will. I the Texas is give Lester one of these two deals. Or for a hundred or seven and 12611. if the offer candidate for for a hundred then I would say you know the Sox made an effort. They made shots try to sign him and take battled down discounted terms of the year when it for par seventy it. and a few text is going back to a couple calls as a wide world Lester take three year deal and a trial period. We can get five years guaranteed and I completely agree this is an interesting text here get this one before the break. I you know I'm not entirely sure why everyone has the phrase 110 for five I should get it done because he had no idea. What will get it done in theory. Yet that would be a hometown discount. 111 for five years an option six and eight I have no way of knowing. Whether that would get it done so he's looking at 5110. I just keep coming back that number because I look at. What the market would probably and keep going back to guys like Cole Hamels you know reasonable comparable to last year's regular season numbers I see six. In 144. EC 23 and change per year so take roughly that average annual value. 43 in his case it's going to take a year back it five years old hometown discount. But he's not leaving and and the billions of dollars That's why I come back to that number I'll get it done I have no idea what I'd be willing to go to say. 150 over 520 million a year probably. Start pushing diablo or we'll talk. You see what the number but a number I have in mind. And a lot of people have in mind they think 22 million a year twenty to 22 million a year years and college day. Five years a 10210 million dollars 6177797937. The point though I had no idea we don't know. What gets I can tell you this though. Ward seven he doesn't get it on told you that before knowing. That that was the for the Jon Lester turned out we get back to your calls coming up next we'll talk war. A Red Sox get to the Bruins as well and what touch and the Celtics before the end of the show as well get to 4 o'clock Chris Blondie with Sports Radio. WE yeah.

  3. Chris Villani on the Lester Contract Situation

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Villani doesn't understand the Red Sox' approach to the negotiations with Jon Lester for an extension. Sure, you have to start somewhere, but their offer was so off base, it was almost insulting. He wonders if the Red Sox truly want Lester in the future and if they don't, WHY!?!

  4. Butch and Buck on Sports Sunday: "It's a nice problem to have", but what will the Sox do in the outfield when Victorino Returns

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    The Red Sox will have the proverbial log jam in the outfield when Shane Victorino returns - what should they do? Send Jackie Bradley back down, make a trade or something else...Butch and Buck discuss.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Fourth and final hour NFL Sunday Sports Radio WEEI it is conference championship. Sunday in the National Football League. You'll see you'll hear the pregame show 2 o'clock up for the AFC championship game -- open here of the game at 3 o'clock here on Sports Radio. And needless to say 95% of our focus so far to date has been on the AFC championship game for the obvious local interest reasons. But we've got time here before we bring Tommy current and at the bottom of the -- -- Turn our attention at least briefly to the NFC championship game San Francisco visiting Seattle to say the two best teams in the NFL possible. I think a way for those match ups that happen and we can dig a little deeper our eye of the one thing is because you'll get a ton of exposure are here to those AFC west teams. I'd seen a lot of RS is in FC west front. I hadn't seen a lot of Russell Wilson led simply heard that he had had a another big year he was the consistent guy were cap predicament up and down and RG three's got away. Getting to see you next to have an expendable to them last week in a divisional playoff game. I still think keys. A guy who can make enough mistakes are still needs to be in a move the -- situation a guy whose accuracy isn't. Near leave their yet you know if we saw him bouncing ball stuck on in cots and throw balls at people's feet and stuff like that last week's game albeit the conditions were perfect but. I do look at it as a game where the quarterback play from by either of those teams will be a little bit up and down. But it'll most likely be dependent upon who runs the ball best which is so weird to say in this environment the NFL but the Marshall -- lynch -- running game. The cap predict a little bit more involved in the running game with Frank Gore but I think that's really the dynamic -- they'll tell you what goes on those -- that game. Interesting too because over the last month or so if you look at Russell Wilson's statistics he's only averaging about a 150 yards a game throwing the football. And this day and age in the NFL it just seems strange to even say that. But he he has become at least the last month -- so much more of the game manager type then you know go down -- and help us win this thing. And from against the super sole small sample I've seen it did looked to me that that -- he's different -- obviously a Tom Brady or Manning but I think you can over commit yeah I think you wanna make him. Stand back there and beach. I think you can while Marshawn Lynch to go for five as you would like Marino because I think you told you certainly don't want him to take over the game away. And on the flip side of the ball Seattle so big in the secondary. That you know you may move the ball up and down the field on the -- scary once they get the red zone because they have so many people point out in and that's you know like the Jamie Collins body but those guys are -- Corner and safety you know vote. The sort of you know locked up was kind of arms kind of -- so the the room gets smaller and their their -- -- or an issue so. The biggest surprise me watching the division round last week in watching San Francisco's win. Against Green Bay the thing that really surprised me was how undisciplined that war. I'm I mean -- and I was kind of half joking when I said. In Archie Colin -- nick is mature listening you know worries -- mimicking that the touchdown celebration of the opposing quarterback the super. The Superman thing and all that stuff. Anquan Boldin looked like he was -- -- for a fight on every play head button guys they were much more on discipline that I expected. A Jim Harbaugh team to. Our. Which is interesting because that's certainly not the perception I mean I I certainly think of Harbaugh and I think of -- -- sort of that you know I actually listen to an interview with Donte Whitner on the -- in on the writing here from from Bellingham dale and Whitner was talking about how much of a player's coach that Harbaugh isn't. I guess that's not my perception of what feel like he's sort of a disciplinarian -- body wise yet but he referenced him as a guy that was a little more loose and let his dual wanna do let us be quarter equal 49ers a report. He believes that to mean but what. But whatever but you know you do have some very strong personalities and solace in young -- nick who has been a little bit -- we and that's kind of been his thing the commercials in the off the field stuff. And Vernon Davis who's been a little bit actually I think I got -- -- sounds a lot more sort of -- there than he was in the singletary days that kind of stuff but. More than a guy who as we watch him that I I have kind of like Reggie Jackson fuel about it. He's he's an okay declared the regular season but he's like mr. not October but I guess mr. January like you just watch his production spike. In his focus on the offense Everest Davison so Vernon Davis himself was at hip injury wasn't a terribly big part of last week's game so. Yeah I'd yogurt 2.0 and I think that ultimate mistakes will be would be an issue in for a team that was in the super boy a year ago for them to continue to make mistakes you play with play with -- a little bit especially going on the road. It's interesting too because in both conference championship games this weekend on today. The stadium is like the coast. It in Denver it's the mile high in altitude and and of course in Seattle it's the twelfth man -- out the stadium on the planet mullets the stadium is like costar promote these these games one and winters appoint him no likenesses of Vernon Davis and of your early in the week any lesbian. Where he had mentioned -- he knew some of his offensive linemen are wearing earplugs in practice the sort of simulate I don't know offered I would never take those plugs through the game. Concerned that if I had a -- I couldn't hear a check or were your rotate the call in the huddle. Exactly exactly hear the quarterback make them the play call on the -- and certainly not been signed you -- so I don't -- I think that would be a bit of risk by. Usually you. You're on offense year yeah that the does that does that sound build up before -- ever gotten -- instrument -- I don't know that but it would seem like a bit Everest. And kind of tea. A resurrection for Pete Carroll has -- Since the basically got up before the posse arrived in Southern California let's be honest he got out before the NCAA came down on like on the -- But whatever you wanna say about a man when he was the coach your lot was said about him. He's really doing a great job there with that -- sure is and I think it shows. How important the head coaches in the -- and really is I think. -- a situation where he releasing mr. changed what was going on that building. Feeling the players have the kind of player that sort of mimic his personality you know I don't think it's -- it's a coincidence that a guy like Richard Sherman has blossomed under a guy like Pete I mean that's that's that's it's a perfect sort of -- you may be that. Wouldn't be assembly here who knows but early she got the sort of put those personalities. The battle Britain be part of the -- way -- kind of stuff but. I think he's found people to fit his system I think he was always agree teacher never personally got the plea form but I hear my guys like Ted -- Ted -- speak highly go home. I will he speaks highly of -- he's the guy the brought those guys and you know fell in and gave him a lot of there -- schooling on the front end of their careers will be certainly hold them and I regard. It's just that. It as sort of a dichotomy is the exact opposite daily approach and Ross Ross stuffing your gonna game here as things are now in Foxborough. Do you believe the perception in it's out there. That the NFC championship game will be the more physical of the two contests that this will be you'll whichever team survives this NFC championship game right. Well you buy into that. Part of what makes people believe you're playing more physical is just simply the political choice. If you put too if you put fullback in the backfield and you -- -- or defense across from your gonna play that kind of game your quarter or physical. If you put a third wide receiver and -- would spread out in the games played in space. Yeah you're going to the big -- plays but I think off the sublime play is still pretty physical war with the other. And the best example -- -- the Denver which -- is a team that you know maybe in the old -- small but the so called nine you know novice -- quote quote unquote physical and asks right. But you watch Beatles you watch of -- as you -- Martinez center. Those are pretty through physical due to the white people out so yes they are change of pace -- plays with no show -- but I think from the player review going and you watch film. Balls are light -- old Denver you know zone read run stuff with the two world Davis kind of linemen. They're pretty physical -- to yesterday and get more passes them. Quick passing plays and I think that says finessed a lot of people. What the personalities they have on the roster posters aren't a part of it is too and I am convinced of this as I watch them both play. It's it's huge hits that are deemed illegal by the end. Right that you know ultimately drop flags but you know I showed you -- here at the price it's like it's. Both teams seem more willing to -- those types of shots. And smarter more disciplined teams tend to well I think you're also looking to -- -- this is -- attitude of the audio we just heard from coach Belichick about leader -- it's about the pad level stuff right in the way you have to hit guys out space like that. When you get Marshawn Lynch out in space those pats get -- you get the hold branded beast mode thing. And there's going to be collision there's literally no way -- to hit helmet to helmet -- the pats in that situation as a guy gets all blow. What's on the front of the body just forgot what it's like -- of course they're gonna hit. You see those massive collision when your screen passes when you're doing draw plays. Sometimes a -- doesn't happen so I think style sorted dictates what goes on in that room. It is ironic that we talked about this in in relation to the patriots game today. The weird sort of thing going on here Wear this to passing. It is -- fling the ball around a lot type of football. And yet I would say that for best running attacks are in the conference championships right. Which makes you accurate GM of one of these other twenty teachers in all right now tractor -- gonna build us up for next year. Is that the port of the so called. Copycat league that you go back and try and find the man I've been moving towards spread offenses in moving the ball up and down the field and drafting smaller defensive players and and all the sudden these teams in in December early January. Packed it in him bloodied our nose. I -- you know it's sort of the union yanking it back and -- guys the defendant or maybe I need to go try to build myself to be open as well. Again as long as the dimensions of the field never change unless somehow the skilled as the players dramatically change in size. It's always going to be a part of the reason I say that is I think off the talk now about how. Players are bigger faster thrower it's really look at the players up and down NFL rosters. The people over the course of last -- were different in size and ability of the off its line. Those the guys who make the most demonstrable change. A lot of these quarterbacks or Bobby Taylor you know fifteen years ago it was a 64 quarter -- or pepper -- coral banks and LP's 20/20 five years ago or just as big an action bigger than a lot of guys the route there now. Reynolds was a 6364 wide receiver that big bodies guys at this but there's skill position. Forty -- I don't think that much different. The people that are bigger and different. The 68350. Pound offensive -- the 66330. -- to work six to 300 anymore. That's where your changes to the guys that you answer to. In free agency and and you draft -- relief in that box. Everybody who retire from the game ultimately looks at the games it's being played now it is all well. I'd be I'd be safety did. But I hate to say Matt -- your case going up against 68350. Pound. Offensive -- it'll be hard for you -- your size and body type to play that game right now I'm -- similar size to Rob Ninkovich suggests that's relief who and it's hard and and again that that -- look at the linebackers I would bet I would be on the big side of -- linebackers even now in the NFL released on that into the curve. The guys that you get in trouble with the or the small Oregon Treblinka and his name it was a really good partly it's that would be even at this what you do it will work tested when your middle linebackers. Five point 2.5 you know that kind of thing the colts middle linebacker like -- but like I like -- key -- looks small he does fight by today's linebackers standard intently at east lead in the league -- his book he -- keep it -- becomes a little more difficult for a guy like him for -- Kiko Alonso with -- -- If you have to played. Last week's game -- efforts -- to over the line up with maybe two tight ends and a Mac or two backs in the backfield and it's downhill running right -- -- with those guys are best is when you spread when you allow them to world when you force them recovery tied for the -- back in space. Where their -- pursuing him making tackles all over the field that's where their root legally. When you do the other thing you're gonna need some more pepper Johnson bodies -- need some more spikes bodies in New Delhi Ninkovich public. Can we assume that the 49ers would have an advantage over the the Seahawks if they made it to the Super Bowl just in this regard. They've been there. They've done that they know what it's like back they were their last year in other than that that thing about Yunel. Go to the Super Bowl for the first time you don't know what you don't know you don't understand what that. And I'm sure their guys I haven't looked through the whole roster they're guys in the Seattle roster who have been in the super ball and trial here. But you've got the entire 49ers roster practically that was in the Super Bowl a year ago. They might be able to handle the noise a little better. -- that's an interest in angle bill to bring up because I'd Bjorn. Your demon that I would be curious just historically and Chris is one always pulls the stock forests and those stock while but. Once the last time a Super Bowl loser. Went about back in bills may be immune I mean -- now along with someone just. Loss on and made the way back I mean we've had a string here with the -- the year before lose or some numbers and make the playoffs at a relatively high right so. That would be a big deal so yeah I think they would have an advantage -- it would still be fresh because you know you're probably talking at least half for two thirds of the Ross who was there with from the time for. Yes it's a new team but for all those reasons -- mentioned. Maybe the bright lights are cubic everybody's hungry at this stage obviously start but yet everybody wants him to win the Super Bowl championship. But isn't it fair to say that the team that lost the Super Bowl a year ago might be that much hungrier. There they were so tantalizingly close I think that's fair I think the biggest issue is hunger is one thing. Lessons learned is another. You have enough people on that roster that would have remembered what went wrong in in -- usually comes down to half a dozen plays half a dozen things they've learned from that we just had done this. There's enough people the room to fix that you're not trying to write a new book. You can go back and try to fix the things that were fixable understand the kind of things can't happen -- I can imagine and I I haven't been a part of that the two. Play a Super Bowl losses we're here we're going one by. There's -- I'm sure there's a field with some of those guys in the event that. We done XYZ would know when their to have that -- This time it's not you know four years later Wes Welker caught the past gonna go their but I had hail that piled onto the interception you run plays like that -- okay. Your right so but I think in the event that those lessons. Or four teams from four years ago that we just simply wore the same helmet sticker it's a lot of the same people so you don't have to. Reach its no new lessen its -- from the coaching staff you're talking a lot of missing people were involved. I heard a great -- earlier today and one right didn't realize and I give Ian O'Connor from ESPN radio the credit for this. Derek Jeter had a nine year drought from 2000 to 2009. Between World Series championships right. I mean if you think about it that's pretty unusual. To have World Series titles but a nine year gap between them interestingly enough you've got Tom Brady in the same sort of route here for the patriots. And in an. I've always said this if you -- if you have the opportunity to get to what a championship game as a rookie. You might be ill served you might think almost always going to be like -- that you know you play you win yet your -- you're a Super Bowl you won a super all these great. Brady's got to be thinking how many more kicks at this can am I gonna get where you got guys like -- nick. Who's already been and one Russell Wilson who has a better one but he's almost on his way up and you know on his way through it. You get those two guys who may not have as good an understanding as Manning and Brady do -- doesn't happen very -- Right and I think there are other people in that building who have. Experienced a ton of success but not the ultimate thing in Gaza according who's been here and they've been basically successful since -- walked in the door. Yet they haven't got that final thing -- is another guy since he's been here but a lot of winning but they haven't pulled and a final sort of strength. So yeah I think there are enough people on -- all sort of party your leadership group that understands that. -- happen at some point we're not gonna be here every year although I think their situation is a little bit unique the feeling is not just. You know out there in the ether. What in the event that bills here in the event that comes here maybe that's a three year window maybe that the two maybe to five maybe it's six. But I think there is enough the feeling and should take it from credit. But that in the event that there is there were gonna review -- comeback can potentially be in the spot each year now about shouldn't you know help you -- not perform the same level you need to be reaching every year. -- experience that because because that's so much success in the span of four years going three or four times. But I felt public and almost made you hunger like after we won it it was so much better some reports citing so much more driven to get back there are so I think this is a group that big gets it. Now they just need to go get it done. On team is favored in both conference championship games and should be I mean that's why you earn the opportunity to have home field advantage the right regular season. Do you think the home team should win the NFC championship game ordeal like the visitor in this one there's something to be said. For late season momentum is well and the and the 49ers committed today's conference championship game on the heels of an eight game winning streak. Yeah hand I I I believe at this for played. Say in the Rose Bowl or some sort of neutral site. I would ignore the simple say in the event that your name -- teams should play a suitable somehow I would probably -- San Francisco. But this is just that Warren -- ball weird things with that venue in the way of taking place in the -- that's part of his -- as loud it's also they play well in that environment they generally respond and answer when there there. That to mean makes it a toss up you know farm picking this week I would probably pick Seattle not because I believe they're better but I believe that there. Within a hair of the other team and they earned their advantage they got their advantage and it's the kind of thing based on how they're built run game grind you down big play guy off play action. That works there. So yeah I think it's a situation where as you mentioned you did all those things the regular season you earn the right to be there it should now caption for. I kind of feel the same way and I know the the trendy pick around the country. Is San Francisco yeah it is because of the eight game winning streak I think. And because of how impressive they looked a week ago against Carolina and they did look impressive you know they seem to -- the trendy pick and yet I'm currently he liked. Police say -- home team. Is the team that I would pick to win this game not just because. If the patriots were to win today I would love you know two weeks of preparation for Pete Carroll but I I just think that's the that's the pick for me. What's put it this way in the event that Seattle were to get past I think that's a team from the game play standpoint if you're either Denver New England that you. Are nearly as for your for -- because they don't have a lot of those offensive weapons you know that's one of the biggest thing when it's tough to judge Russell Wilson. A lot of his pursue our minister of a question mark they lost Sidney Rice you know basically. -- paid as the big time wide receiver they have. They have sort of a Seattle says -- and will be ready Indianapolis Super Bowl but boy -- wonder I know also a -- a situation where they're awfully depleted themselves are so much more dependent on that run game the American usually is for each and every week. Well I think that's a team that would be a little easier to game plan for this San Francisco lease on the outside the ball Sampras -- goes a little more diversity. They've got those big time gamers in your Bolden and your Vernon Davis and Crabtree is now come along in a run game it's diversion to do a lot of things in the quarterback is dangerous. I just think -- tougher matchup you probably feel a little -- -- we can take away blank in the event of you know Marshawn Lynch. You'll the quarterback not allowed to get outside the pocket -- the rest out a matchup spatter. -- Cisco not that way but that doesn't have a -- to do with that and I think today Seattle has a good chance of a portrait. And isn't it fair to say that whichever team wins the NFC championship game today. Either want. That if they if you put him under sodium pentothal they'd prefer to play the patriots in two weeks and the Denver Broncos its interest in from a perception standpoint. You're probably right because I I don't think that the the regard for the Patriots defense there and the patriots offensive glass and yeah. Well I think back of our old the old 2001 perception of loss and even though three come back tears later. Are they really that cool under the age is the team that does all the right things does all the little things but doesn't really scare us you know schematic we don't scare us on the box score that -- In the stat sheet. That's good hope they feel that way you know him as an as a team going against them -- hope that they think -- of the better matchup. Because this is one of those teams that. You know just does what it takes and they figured out next may and couple that stops -- you really can't quantify that when he tried who usually entered. We will bring Tom Curran from CS and any dot com into our conversation in just couple of minutes. At the top of the hour we will take you to the pregame show from. West wood is covering today's game will take you to their pregame show 2 o'clock today we will have the game for yet. Here -- Sports Radio this is NFL Sunday presented by the plans the insurance at the plant ski -- shops or use save. Visit cup Lansky dot com today.

Audio On Demand

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Rep…

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Heath Evans, NFL Network: The Impact of Revis and Browner on the Patriots Defense

Heath Evans of the NFL Network joins Mut and Lou to talk how Revis and Browner impact the Patriots defense, the Vince Wilfork Situation, and the arms race between Denver and New England

Former Patriot Ty Law with Dale, Holley and Fauria

We talk Revis with his friend and mentor, former Patriot Ty Law.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, discussing Rajon Rondo as a color commentator, the NBA draft, and the epic Pacers-Heat game

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston joins Mut, Lou, and Christian to talk about Rajon Rondo in the booth, the rest of the Celtics losing season, and the epic battle between the Pacers and Heat.

Joe and Dave Postgame wit…

Joe and Dave Postgame with Grady Sizemore 04-11-14

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox starting left fielder, Grady Sizemore. grady talks about what it was like to hit a home run off his old teammate, C.C. Sabathia, and his reaction to not seeing Koji on the mound in a save situation.

Dale and Holley: Steve Lyons 4-11-14

Steve Lyons joins Dale and Holley to talk about the Red Sox and Yankees series and Michael Pineda's sticky hand.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: On Pineda's par tar 4-11-14

Kevin Millar makes his weekly appearance to discuss Michael Pineda's apparent pine tar on his hand, the Red Sox loss to the Yankees, and the team's pitching.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the upcoming series against the Red Wings.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, brings us around the NHL 4-11-14

2 games left in the season and the Bruins are in the driver's seat for the President's Cup which is allowing them to coast and get healthy. Pierre McGuire updates Mut and Lou on the possibility of Seidenberg's return and talks about situations elsewhere in the NHL.

Dale and Holley: Jack Edwards 4-10-14

Jack Edwards talks about the Bruins stretch run to the playoffs and rants about the NCAA.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the Red Wings series and the one year anniversary of the Marathon Bombings.

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Joe Andruzzi, Former Patriots OL: Reflecting on the Boston Marathon, 4-15-14

Joe Andruzzi witnessed the attacks first-hand and sprung into action to help others when the blasts went off on Boylston Street. The former Patriots OL joined the show to discuss and reflect on that day.

Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing one year later 4-15-14

Mut, Merloni and Christian Fauria reflect on the tragic events on April 15th 2013 at the Boston Marathon and discuss how the city has changed.

Matt Chatham with Dale an…

Matt Chatham with Dale and Holley: Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

We speak with Matt Chatham, who re-tells his story from that fateful Monday and looks ahead to brighter things, including this year's marathon.

Reflecting on the One-Year Anniversary of the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

Dale, Michael and Steve Lyons reflect back on the event last year, and the good that has taken place since then as Boston came together.

David Abel of the Boston Globe : Remembering Martin Richard through the eyes of the Richard family 4-15-14

We speak with David Abel of the Boston Globe, who penned the incredible piece on the Richard Family in this past weekend's Boston Globe.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Minor Details Ep. 79: The…

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

WEEI WrestleCast: Wrestlemania 30 recap

Scott and Ben recap WrestleMania 30 and talk about the death of the Ultimate Warrior.

Fantasy Football Offseason Podcast #3

It’s been a busy week across the NFL & with the College Football Draft Hopefuls so Jim Hackett & Pete Davidson plowed through as much as you can handle, including news about The Jets & their interest in Chris Johnson, the LSU Pro Day, rumors and news surrounding free agents & recent signings like Santonio Holmes, DeSean Jackson & Nate Burleson. Then it’s all about the 2014 Rookie Wide Receiver class that just continues to grow and impress. There’s a lot here to keep you informed as the offseason heats up and the draft approaches. Get ready!

Boston Strong one year la…

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

More from this show

Brad Faxon gives his take…

Brad Faxon gives his take on Bubba Watson capturing his second Green Jacket 4-14-14

Friend of the show, Brad Faxon, checks in to examine all the Masters action and to evaluate Bubba Watson's performance.

More from this show

Bruins V. Red Wings in fi…

Bruins V. Red Wings in first round of NHL Playoffs 4-14-14

LB joins Mut and Merloni in studio to preview the Bruins first opponent in the playoffs, the Detroit Red Wings.

More from this show

Headlines Headlines Headl…

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

More from this show

Weei Writers