WEEI>On Demand>>Mustard and Johnson Preview Game 3 Tonight in St Louis and Discuss Farrell's Big Decisions

Mustard and Johnson Preview Game 3 Tonight in St Louis and Discuss Farrell's Big Decisions

Oct 26, 2013|

Craig and LJ give their thoughts and predictions for Game 3 and all 3 games in St Louis. They talk about Farrell's moves so far and what, if anything, he should change going forward to get the offense rolling.

Related Audio:

  1. @Bradfo Show: Sundays with Torey

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Red Sox Bench Coach Torey Luvollo joins the program to talk about Red Sox injuries and the MLB Replay process

  2. The Chris Villani Show: The Failure of MLB Replay System

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Our number two Chris aligning with sports Sunday Sports Radio WEEI 6177797937. Then not all Red Sox some pretty much all Jon Lester threw the first hour lie detectors weighing in on the AT&T tax line on that will get to that just a moment. Out final round of the masters is going on a maturity people. Into getting into what is much science tiger. And without Phil as well he Mickelson showed up I think late Thursday night she flew in and Friday after energy is flied out. With Phil Mickelson. I he had a tough weekend are tough early going Richardson first round in a local guy Keegan Bradley struggled missed But there are some big games of the top the leaderboard some exciting. I young names of the Jordan's BT's twenty years old he's cash to win the masters I he'd be the youngest winner since 1979. LEB younger. Then the tiger was the first time you want it. And one of the things that really stood out to me is speaking with some people were down there this week to cover the toward talks and these young guys and it get back to tiger. The complete and water. Lack of off. Around around Tiger Woods to these guys are too young you think about twenty years old 21 years old with somebody like camera some would like walker. In somebody like Blix the Swedish guys and second right now and he's. He's like 28. You know some of these guys too young to really remember or at least have played with tiger against tiger. When he was hitting level like we never seen before the PGA tour earlier received since Jack. And they look at him now a Zagat shoot 77 on the weekends. Is that cats really contention anymore where is I mean Aaron I'm not old and your and all of you remember when. Final round tigers in the lead it was done forget about it I mean one year in the PGA YE Yang those big shots out late and ended up beating and yet that epic battle with Bob May. I nearly beat him in the PGA but it would for the most part just wasn't close he would get a lead and he was one of the best closers in the we'd seen in the sport. But it's just it's different now that's a different vibe. Around Tiger Woods and it's gone from seemingly a foregone conclusion that he would get to nineteen majors is seemingly foregone conclusion that he won't eat next year. Does play majors this year. Is give forty years old Jack won three. After he needs five Jack won three after forty to two of those were when he was forty and the masters in 986. Was kind of an out Larry's 46 years old. Tiger would be a hall of fame career from here on out five major championship all career to get in nineteen. I think it's interesting not only his fall from grace just as a player. In terms of winning majors the was in my opinion at least the best player on were last year he had five or six wins a torch to win major. But the bigger thing to me is just how some of these younger players perceive him do tiger as a contention it used to be regarded. The average stroke. The average round rather up a stroke in. In in the in the final round on Sundays when tiger was in contention real just kind of melted aged just. Folded around with a few exceptions mentioned Bob revealed in Nickels and it's good battles but. For the most part it was just tiger's world everybody else's playing for second they were on him Ernie Els just not Now is young guys just young enough to cocky enough and don't really remember that at least they didn't play through it. And they're saying how statute 75 on the weekends with what's not ID in the turn now but. I should be upon Sunday Bubba Watson very very likable guy. And I Jordan who were finding out a lot about trying to become the youngest masters winner a long time quick birds update we'll get back to the calls against 617779. 7937. Cordially NC DM IA's doing great to get the good news on him that was definitely a concern that you know DM IAA was. Out I got hit looked like in the that it from I thought it was illegal but not dirty if that makes sense I don't think there was intent to injure there. It was just one of those times you're trying to make a hockey play get the principal point contact up higher and you won it. So I thought it was an illegal hit not a dirty hit but by a help not the that you concussion translated to on the ice Thursday that part we don't know just yet. But Patrice Bergeron it sound like is fine I he missed the third period yesterday that would would have been a huge concern. I outside to go. There's not too many guys you point to and say this more important to the bees and Bergeron two way player in hockey this year. Obvious he's good according to coach Julianne and Chris Kelly looks like still day to day with that back injury so some. Relatively speaking. Minor bumps and Bruce is going into the Stanley Cup Playoffs but you know these guys especially Alec Bergeron if he could be on the ice on Thursday against the red he's going to be there. I HTT tech slide is 37937. It's like grab a few of these real quick a one Dexter says eight times over David Price let Lester walked. While you make Casey price a better pitcher at this stage of his career early younger I can cost more money. And now your bidding against everybody else you've got the cost control guy. Housing cost control we get the guided the under your control rather. The of the exclusive negotiating window with wants to stay here to guide it. As more in depth track record in the post season to sign him. And that point it's not a knock on price and gives great pitcher. But if you're looking at what you can do it even easier than that that will save you some money relative to what price can get on the open market signed last. I know detector can you imagine having Stanton in Boston did it forty plus homers easy architecture from western mass. Two words about prospects Daniel yep they can go hard the other way. I another one here says agree with you order percent top of the rotation guys talk about Lester innings a year post seasons died. Given the cash over five years five for one and should get it done. And out finally is Lester stats are comparable to average career he walked away from 244 million Lester has been better than Homer Bailey and look at the contract. That he just signed a few textures telling me the gets four clocked at. Well evening parade for a UConn for the championships I assume the men and women together out both of them winning the national title. Yes as tougher as Turkey's but happy for Kevin Ollie who now is the next. Hot coaching named to go from college to the end beauty after eight seasons. But undefeated in the NCAA tournament ally guys can say that are at six or 77797937. is in New Jersey he's up next When then. Just try to not cute bit Ali thank you and I can't believe that a low ball. Jon Lester like they don't agree that you like a side impact by one and whatever argument sake. We have been out of my. But you see a lot of contracts for your team that have gone got into the contract stratosphere and some of them have really worked out so well. But for a number like dapper Lester what he's so willing to stay. I agree I was surprised. When I saw what the number was at the end of spring training where the Red Sox know Lester broke off toxin seems like a a low ball contract terms of dollars in a low ball contract thirty years. definitely. god I G I mean lucky probably let out a little bit like that way radio reluctant I had. Yeah I mean yeah I'm with you thanks to the fall being a former yankees fans perspective. They're never shy about spending dollars. That Lester contract is makes sense and I've said this a few times. Because just getting back to this point I do think my gut still tells me they get a Don. Gut feeling they still get this contract done because I hate candidate it player just wants too much just wants to be a Boston too much. You back going to be here at the expense of taking deal it's foolish and a four year seventy to eighty million dollar contract before which. At ball way below market terms years below market terms the average annual There's no upside here it sounded like a Red Sox blown away with a give you four years but here's point six million a year. Which is probably more than you gonna get I guarantee each and every year on the open market that it could at least. I still think Lester would walk away from crystal he'd say no. But I could look at that is saying the Red Sox in good faith effort to try to. Do with last year what they've done with other guys which is over pay an average annual dollars but try to take that discounted terms of the number years seventy. I can't say that. I can't see it as they came under years came under dollars 6177797937. Bill isn't busted up next they've built. They would subject. who visual. You know what about. You guys keep in the world. Could together okay. guys they look at the guys renewed deal if everybody involved. Make him have the option to. Who boarded deals rivals ordered to the guys will. Make it work. So real simple. So three years of his make sure Israelis and three years seventy million. And then assuming he stays healthy another two years at how much. Ordered me at all. That would come out to volley at 5110. About then you know what would actions. YouTube. 120. It was cute guys so. Yeah It it it any guaranteed dollars sport. That that's just not gonna work for the players work for last. Well hope what works right now what made two big guy a two year deal seven million. With a guarantee. Appeared to remain nimble. The two more years of targeted what are enviable. Well let's get. That that that the five year 120 million dollar contract. Where. OK I guess that that's reasonable but I mean you if you're guaranteeing the money that it's not three years in the two years to five years. And yet we could what three years didn't work out three years it will be created numerous believe that you develop very animated. You know. Yeah I mean I like well. I guess I can't get what you in there you know again trial period so to speak at three year seventy million dollar. You know test blown the CP states LP and see if he still producing. The news saying guaranteed fifty million after that which is five for once money. Why would John again you'd think about it okay hometown discount know we heard the operator gets excited about it. to get past the idea of a hometown discount meeting complete insanity. Seventy million dollars even over a three years average dollars a lot of money. But it still. 50% of what can get out in the open market. You know why would I take seventy million guaranteed even for three years when I could just double that six years guaranteed at 140 million. You know six I can get that extra seventy million dollars over three more seasons just to go out in the open market. That would be a great team friendly kind of idea but Lester were being eyed Joseph and Wakefield once the way HL. What they've done so much for the in the you know 78 years. That burning up I don't know are already up at. I agree with UN and the injury concern for me is that they're now we are talking about Clay Buchholz we'd be having added I merely different conversation. But with Lester even a year it was bad in 2012. Still pitch to plus innings. Yeah I mean you don't get a picture wondering about that party and you don't hate you guys brought there get a going to be offered. And I are I think I really like the attitude that you just want the behavior I don't understand why the Internet situation black. We're not talking about giving the guy a 140. I'm not all that with the amount of money more book like the object audit. Well he had I think the Red Sox kind of Hewitt in the regard as well that's why I wasn't completely floored when he said OK if we here opera was the most that they had. I'll put out there by the time they broke off negotiations. But I'd be and neighbor of 400. Yell now and a and a big. Average annual value a Ford seventy for is an opera that you know the players get a that's an opera that it's designed to be turned out. Yeah independent though they looked like but based on the yacht I don't know it. All the the PR stunt getting negative PR because I think I had tickets ridiculous they have any Lester did lie to me if he blocks away at the end of the day. And and the Red Sox look back and in the end flick back and say. And they could of they could negotiate they could out of spring training but the only opera percent beat the teams the only one's gonna look bad that's an. Aerial my opinion darker integrated you know integrated I'm sorry you know it made it. It's the same age and it did Dustin Pedroia has I can't think of his name off my head to similar Pedroia as we negotiated down discounts the This situation it is thought here we cannot I mean update completely done park are now completely. It sounds like till the end of the season got to do have an exclusive negotiating window. Went thanks for the college and they've exclusive negotiating window with Lester. After the season is over and that it's free agency. But you know in my mind even if the Red Sox were come back with a big number in the fall. But it even gets to. Reagents even gets to the point were other teams are our ticketing contracts are offers a Lester you're probably spending more than what you have spent. It just get the deal done now. You just avoid any possibility any any chance did you rate in the another team another suitor and unlike David Ortiz we can't you know we had a debate about Ortiz is going to be even a market that is. And I thought maybe lot of people but absolutely now. That's fine with Lester there's no debate right. I mean when I can debate the fact that it thirty year old going on 31 year old lefty it's starting pitcher with a great post season track records that market. We know that that's the case there's going to be money thrown at this. So you have the opportunity. To not only negotiate exclusively with him up or you even touch or even Free agency. It to get an offer on the table to sign this guy if they're not able losing the player beat. I signing into a deal that maybe goes outside their comfort zone because now they worry about free agency not to worry about other offers them. You could have made a better fate in my mind decide than these reported figures in at these numbers are right you know he's not taking. It's an it's designed to be refused to keep brought out their deceit it's a hit proper. I don't think organ necessarily buy that I think that this mark baseball banner that. That they and as long as you're in line with keeping Lester some cables don't want that at any high price and that's fine that's your opinion I disagree by. It any band that wants Jon Lester back is valued at his team. It and understand just what the market is looking for the seventy's at It's an insult. Text messages committed 37937. AT&T like. Texas is Red Sox have too many pitches in the system they had the upper hand. Now that it's does its thing is too many pitchers in this is have a lot of starting pitching depth they have a lot of potential. As allowed by hope and is better than Jon Lester obese Kerr shot why not. But you know what you have in Jon Lester. You don't know what you have yet Henry and that goes to my point of if you're gonna have some of these cost control pre arbitration arbitration guys up. Lester got the money to do. He could have a a lot of money coming off the books over the next read of where years. Yet a pitcher John Lackey threw for 500000 dollars on next season. In NA and it not a salary cap sport but it sport I care about a 189 million dollar luxury tax threshold for the at least they're from last. I that to take three years the market's already at five to six. years as Lester won't get 140 on the open market I disagree I think he will. I the Texas is give Lester one of these two deals. Or for a hundred or seven and 12611. if the offer candidate for for a hundred then I would say you know the Sox made an effort. They made shots try to sign him and take battled down discounted terms of the year when it for par seventy it. and a few text is going back to a couple calls as a wide world Lester take three year deal and a trial period. We can get five years guaranteed and I completely agree this is an interesting text here get this one before the break. I you know I'm not entirely sure why everyone has the phrase 110 for five I should get it done because he had no idea. What will get it done in theory. Yet that would be a hometown discount. 111 for five years an option six and eight I have no way of knowing. Whether that would get it done so he's looking at 5110. I just keep coming back that number because I look at. What the market would probably and keep going back to guys like Cole Hamels you know reasonable comparable to last year's regular season numbers I see six. In 144. EC 23 and change per year so take roughly that average annual value. 43 in his case it's going to take a year back it five years old hometown discount. But he's not leaving and and the billions of dollars That's why I come back to that number I'll get it done I have no idea what I'd be willing to go to say. 150 over 520 million a year probably. Start pushing diablo or we'll talk. You see what the number but a number I have in mind. And a lot of people have in mind they think 22 million a year twenty to 22 million a year years and college day. Five years a 10210 million dollars 6177797937. The point though I had no idea we don't know. What gets I can tell you this though. Ward seven he doesn't get it on told you that before knowing. That that was the for the Jon Lester turned out we get back to your calls coming up next we'll talk war. A Red Sox get to the Bruins as well and what touch and the Celtics before the end of the show as well get to 4 o'clock Chris Blondie with Sports Radio. WE yeah.

  3. Chris Villani on the Lester Contract Situation

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Villani doesn't understand the Red Sox' approach to the negotiations with Jon Lester for an extension. Sure, you have to start somewhere, but their offer was so off base, it was almost insulting. He wonders if the Red Sox truly want Lester in the future and if they don't, WHY!?!

  4. Butch and Buck on Sports Sunday: "It's a nice problem to have", but what will the Sox do in the outfield when Victorino Returns

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    The Red Sox will have the proverbial log jam in the outfield when Shane Victorino returns - what should they do? Send Jackie Bradley back down, make a trade or something else...Butch and Buck discuss.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Mustered -- Johnson our number two. Mediated addition. Of mustard and -- Serena take the quality over quantity -- because at 11 o'clock. We're going to the heavy hitters are okay no more fool around -- -- -- light weights so it's big. It is Jerry Kelly and John Dennis Kirk Manning and lives. In Saint Louis at 11 o'clock they'll take you through the afternoon minutes Bradford in -- Alex -- than Dave O'Brien and and Joseph. Is that you know it's like baseball like a Matt -- later when their -- we -- -- or crossover -- if there is a short listened to. Is that show that he. Great night no -- and -- -- John Dennis loves me. They do the right way. Like they sent all these people want to Saint Louis and it really you can't tell whether originally -- talented whether there and say why because -- tomorrow and hit your weather there and lowers -- where they. -- -- Wow it is our rightly attacked tiger attack at the seamer -- that this that. John -- and and do you view and not only that about the game but they talk about saint look exactly the -- -- -- there's so much smoke in this room right now kids yet -- if you look back cracked right I remember how we are you on hold stroke. I just I don't feel less. -- if you listen to this -- this is not just about the game it's about. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- I was a surprise to see Craig -- or about yeah. I you are on a roll arms dropped it anyway so apparently according to my sources in other words Larry Johnson. John Dennis accuse me of using illegal substances by claiming. At that Grand Slam against the tigers in game two. Unable able blitzer some demented or -- he's getting on our prayer at the icing on the cake for Ortiz. I'm not sure if he doesn't think the Ortiz should make the hall or. That I don't know already has given points for a -- they don't want they refused that that's not to forward at all they just got to make sure they get the stereo. This bridge stories out there I mean they're gonna watch the game that night from a fourth -- apply because they -- get credentials to get into the game Mac at some violent music I need some sad music for Dennis and Callahan and these poor guys are forced to go out the Saint Louis for World Series. -- welcome -- just advocating quick to credentials -- terrorism. Yes we got to leave time for Adam Myers are gonna have a -- -- X seven text he says before reduce that guys. Fine with -- and -- that would stick withdrew -- so those guys are playing -- I tend to agree -- -- he makes every place supposed to make Ross. However asked the play soft is just overmatched. By good pitching you agree that CM -- -- There is concern I think. The way these games have been played -- as much concerned about the hitting although Ross is hitting -- wait five games. Is I -- the defense in I think controlling. The deep pitching staff I think in terms of going out. As you know the catcher calls out that Varitek was great with that in -- takes control of the situation. With a peavy type like that I just think he's fundamentally. Sound that's what he is and that's what I want right now. Our Ross absolutely asked the places that texture in the final way salty is horrible. Behind the plate and finally another text in the final eight says. If clay -- able to pick the Red Sox. Not that simple words the I want we're we're Reid. If we had not gotten peavy in that trade we wouldn't be where we are. Right now I think PV. As much as people you know but Carl's got her I got the surprise write articles and earning him in the regular season and you're gonna need him tonight if he's not available would you I've I'm much more comfortable -- Jake Peavy in the National League park. Where he's had success in the past been either Felix the -- or Ryan Dempster I'm sorry. This is this movie's gonna pay off tonight it's it's. Amazing drama it really is in if you can be dogmatic about it. I I think you're dogmatic about Lester. I think Lackey now his is is proven the point of winning -- confidence and sense of what he's going to be after that I am unsure. I am I am just I am not sure Bockwoldt. I am not sure with anybody outside the top two when you can say that about a lot of rotation with it to have phones John Blackstone you're first up this hour Sports Radio WEK -- They expect Larry I don't good how are you. Brett you know and Apple Stock of CIL I mind my personal heroes always been Walter White. What bridge argument -- -- -- bet -- won't -- It right at that point of the greatest series I've ever seen breaking. Bad belongs in the same group is sopranos the wire. So why won't anybody large black list has its. It demonstrates that we're all like about what you can't take it you know I don't take any shows and commercials and the final break -- -- can take commercials now. Not only neck cracked the family didn't didn't doubt disappoint you know tidbits and I was like the I held it held its own analogy that's good that you lead I don't. Well hopefully well have a winning finale. With his heroes who plays that went right back to sports and only got two hours -- -- at all at all -- what you take -- a series of margin. That state park gonna go seven -- -- -- now anybody can disagree with that and then at -- doesn't go seventy you know starting in game seven. You get JP going day -- well I could get Fenway Park. Yeah I I like his chances better really in Saint Louis is he says the lead us there equipment you gotta be kidding me so you get I don't peavy pitching today right. And then you got the Pentagon possibly Brock -- -- are -- bright. Event like that -- -- -- it brought out that and I hit. It is our right so they sent you feel you would feel comfortable with -- you radical -- -- -- Astaro. More PD. Well yeah well sure what that means it is not -- in the play out straight and you look at the numbers there I know and ensure rat that is. Brutal -- from the darkness. Yet yeah exactly and your lack element something about saying look that good against lefties. Slowly they scored nine against spot in about like eating in the last Spaniard currently archer. So La that means not even in the playoffs and everything gets thrown out on the it did tonight and hit TV get hypocrite I'm getting that he wrote acting but it pitched well what did. I've entered earners spotted there recently yeah but at all game and at -- app. No question about you know he gets into the sixth inning I think there'll be happy. And here's the difference. At. -- it. Why I think if you throw up blood is -- -- -- -- -- brought sharp drop in the sub saharan morale -- let's not present lie you're. Out on autopilot so like yeah you know what you the. I actually thought of all this discussion about pitchers cannot throw to bases with a lot of Revere in 2001. Try to go to second base on a bond he's (%expletive) out there obviously hindsight he should help the ball. And -- yeah I know I still think as this what I think I I pick the the Red Sox to win in five. I after what the cardinals in game two I I guess it's more reasonable thing reportage about playing anywhere but where does it yet thank -- -- -- In I mean this person in the cattle that's the the debt write what I like it was all right away and and the Red Sox cannot. Same thing later in the game when they spit the bit there with some assault -- much -- that's. Seven spinning it into you know the second game the second game came down to the seventh inning -- -- -- It's not a -- look like that anyway he's got his foot on the bag -- -- -- his -- on the on the base of the play. -- I think he must have believed it was a much closer play that it really was I'm wondering what happens though is on target does the make that play I still think he gets -- if you you'll like that -- on tea and you could see Gomes as his body was not. He went to school in a way yes our ballot while Robert -- was that is where account why people don't like him. -- jump on that so quick. Peaches that you gotta you gotta move off the plate to get the ball right. All. Right we got a gentleman that you please we got to get over that. He's got enough home as Iran and now screaming for teams. You know they could kill them if they are hollow flatly last point all fixing Craig with what sort peace if he'd been -- and again school. Broken record than any broad and then brought in the Rogers it. That -- that's that this is what John must have meant when he thought I was knots were automatically putting Ortiz and for some reason maybe because he's David Ortiz and he's user friendly with the media. And he's challenged his his placed on that list that came out ten years ago. He's not quite in that same category have to admit that even though he might have been user but here's my attitude. All use that for the last year just immediately stricken ship. Yeah Pedro on the interview with token knowledge is not okay when he -- he just said that's one of the reasons he refused to use anything. Because he worked very however this body he worked very had to stay in shape if Pedro -- sit here right now would you tell him -- I believe you were using. I think that's so ridiculous to say everybody was using don't want is definitively said. Don't possibility that that -- -- being from the committee can never used any single of the legal debate Polytechnic. What about the possibility of it would it would be a chilling column last week Greg why didn't use state defiantly. Well you'll only be easy -- -- words apparent division where -- as -- -- user. We don't know that he didn't -- innocent until proven guilty. Well but -- about a quote equity analyst so you'll get there. Well you know worked -- and I say this. I'll say this about Ortiz. The way they have screwed up things just like the Obama health plan that everybody wants that everybody wants these things to be darn right in baseball screw that up so bad in releasing names and then there -- names that weren't released. -- is just a fiasco so I don't know. I don't know how I lean a little bit towards Greg I don't know how you can just keep our guy out because his name is on a list because it was handled so poorly. No I think they should all go in I'm not I'm not making any demarcation. Is all this is a good steroid user Andy Pettitte David Ortiz. This -- a bad steroid user -- erotic -- they all go in my mind. Put them in -- economic -- you put a little lap strictly aimed at played in the steroid are you that you don't think they've played an error or black people were not allowed to play for crying out how they played and aaron's. We want to play with a bat right exactly what this player right in one thing about the -- -- an outlet. But -- got to come out. That it -- that hit a rut it's not bitter peace between these guys. Out there were outed -- -- -- -- right OK but the -- right now all we we we not find out want okay let's get. The only thing the only thing I will give they -- credit for. Is that he did come out in face the music in you admitted that he did it. I I will get credit for that. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- But I -- fumes. To win -- to indict everybody. Because some people were caught that's ridiculous logic. Well it wasn't exactly. Scientific methodology. Here these people that were quote unquote caught. Were based on testimony that you know unreliable a lot of ways so when I say that David Ortiz belongs in the hall of fame. I'm putting a big asterisk next all of these guys they were all dominant maybe you can probably not a historical -- -- have an asterisk. Next to his name I said the era I would put on individual plan except that is it and is still a visitor. To Cooperstown. Understands. For instance the -- group was a great player dominated. His peers in a variety of different things including on the mound. But you also have to understand historically. That he wasn't necessarily. Facing the best possible opposite okay this entire group of people were not allowed applied. Right in in but his best week no Babe Ruth was not Ty Cobb and so you don't blame him what was -- backup. He was that are out now racist everybody knew that -- and I'm and that's say I would put some current some people -- that did not encourage or want to allow -- or do everything to prevent it. I still don't understand -- yawkey way he has street signs and in buildings named after -- -- I was now not racist I'll I'll never understand that that's not part of playing the game whether you are racists -- not believe the world he says no we are right up on the game when I'm saying is guys like Gaylord Perry poverty knew he knows he. Pitched illegally for years you're not supposed to put a subs that right out of baseball -- -- About Lester went wicked do you believe he's using a foreign substance in his -- they all do. They all do every year to your in this thing where everybody's doing it right because I'm much source Taylor and a I can get exclusive statements I'm not a doctor it'll play one on the radio so I -- -- -- -- -- -- 98 rotted Bedford your product Sports Radio W Maria. But I didn't vote -- an ally. Russia and we just apropos what I thought I love trouble or what we brought here. A lot of credit or what shirt and force. You know what's gone on what are surgeons dispute that the eliminate. The guys fell asleep but will follow -- mostly good but we'll. Went flawlessly. Lackey out alone let me explain it it's a tool that people don't you -- to a virtual blocks that valued at a lefty ready go -- -- -- -- Tonight banks get sicker they are left straight faced a left the -- that I don't get to a one on entirely different and that's the first time people leave. Second time. Yeah Brooke we'll follow the ball over the had a third baseman that bring in the tying run in the world here. -- a little crooked admiral picking up my own. Just like human nature in his -- because Hewitt came down you've got to get a he got the pulpit where the ball and launch a program and edit and apparently. You -- triggered -- two of the searing -- No hardly get a writes I get the breslaw any human being is obvious it is not gonna -- that clear mind to what street culture we're all people. So you just say so when he used things fouls have taken Adam. -- -- -- The bidding got it you elect you to let. Get accepted now that's that they'll struggle because there but mostly it's a tight game go to the next tree would he told them all over that you particularly Libya. -- probably might go about it. No we looked at mount. By the way is as much as everybody it is that much is everybody's putting the knock on Saltalamacchia he made a great stop there. During that series. Well -- you wanna get people call out the figure of force like. When you look at the at the plate or what shall all trying to make a nice weeks yeah I don't -- every -- Kidney and he well -- certainly. A couple of I'd be like -- Why open it would look up a little Gamal and although. It. But as you well know but Ron right now Saltalamacchia. Is on Red Sox fans the list the guys not Haiti makes a bad play good. What's that. Want it to me that I hope they -- greener fuel it even will. With one out that should have been go to sleep well if you look at how the big -- up to the plate with one out the seventh and you. If we re certainly ill leadership based law. We could find a World Series team who had a bad it would keep the American League hitting certain OB opiates and an up and play. I think it's offered don't -- I do wonder about -- I understand defensively right drew was in there and I I don't. The -- illegals even -- what do social the first of great Mike you've played division took baseball and what can you -- -- completely brick and everybody. -- -- -- -- I've also same plays I've also -- plays by other teams of players in the points -- -- Fundamental plays -- made so I'm not taking anything for granted. Right and you know a lot I'm looking even when they're down 42 in the bombs simply still have three innings for the Red Sox tonight now it's in this post season in the way they played all year. Did you really believe it fortuitous that. Then at the game was over it it just because. The cardinals were able to exploit a couple of mistakes by the Red Sox go up by a couple of runs. Did not mean by any stretch did you really think. That the cardinal bullpen was going to be lights out in those final three it's going to be honest with you I mean I don't watch that much National League ball all right it really know what to exactly. And we -- that I know there was throw in some gas well I don't expect -- I understood what they did in the nationally playoffs in the regular season but I expected more of the same what we saw with the tigers tigers. Completely on able. To be equal to the moment -- final the tigers were just it does not even the wow really didn't mean that much will move on and you know is always next year. Guys make -- twenty something million a year yet to be kidding me on the other hand Hampshire Jim Leland probably in retrospect. Would admit that. I should captures -- -- jazz though only a little bit longer both those games. 6177797937. Will we be saying that about Lackey. I don't think it was Lackey that I mean if -- -- on the mound. Does does the seventh inning unfold differently if he stays in the game -- -- thing is Breslow has been terrific right up to date that's why you can't have a -- people are not machines and it's right. Every once a while a guy's gonna come out there and he's not going to be able to make the plays that you won on the make that's the difference fraternal won game one -- winning. We're gonna take a quick break more your calls on the way of Sports Radio WEI. Everything's fixed fixed fixable you know it's. When too much to read into -- really you know -- people want to. It to make it to. Just a small small adjustment that. Can make all the difference in the world. As Jake Peavy trying to work out the -- maybe get some -- arms slot adjustments going for tonight's game number at the rate. Is first World Series appearance ever. He has had success. In Saint Louis as a long time. Hodge -- pitcher we -- seats ninety number three got to -- right year. -- Sports Radio WEEI really all day long is just one giant. Baseball. Pregame show Dennis and -- coming up after process that's -- -- -- -- -- it now they'll just talk about -- kind of things going -- -- that'll be great you know John Dennis thinks it might crack because I -- like John David Ortiz is a hall of -- here's a -- that might take issue with that very topic -- -- -- you're next on Sports Radio. Well fourteen to go on in Enron and orders. -- first designated hitter ever right. Part time left handed DH first baseman only Bloomberg -- better okay -- the Hokies found the fountain view there's something else. Yeah out of a lot of other players you have victories pots they -- on to Gatwick you'll admit Ortiz is one of the greatest clutch -- -- you have a saint. I told nobody is always a sure we'll kick then. Yes. All oil and A-Rod had obviously you're gonna concede this they -- -- -- a little medicinal help now and again he only had one good year postseason -- that's. I got a great what you I just want can sit Greg you can you guys can do what we scientific. Poll your callers. Asked them at fourteen -- I guarantee you at least two thirds tools they never do. While most of the college we polls say they don't want you want. Now -- well not. That hey you know what it is right at least Ortiz is giving Al gift house -- If for your for your own -- of the you don't see the text line that's -- -- an opera Obama got -- academic. And I gotta get this now to get this straight what is the bet between -- -- correct it it's it's a moot point the Red Sox winning the World Series. That he sit down with Mike. Yeah 8383. -- Larry would jump ever collect. You're not gonna collect as the Red Sox are winning the World Series yeah. But you don't -- Well it'll loans for me no I don't agree with credited as a tossup now. They believe that -- the -- box the -- -- around the game in game one the Red Sox return of -- game to Budapest the pipe. We tell you something right now don't you can go with Jake Peavy. Aren't the only. I mean come. The grass -- blast from the past air -- out of a new ball the pitchers you can compare. Probably. -- Oh remember I'm Joseph Girardi who ousted -- C Lee ever have to go to the mound for the Red Sox in the key game -- will it. Any anywhere in a post season in seizing have to check them out now. -- will quit the game. Which one. Sunday on the Obama the app patriots got robbed. I don't but when she's got what are you going to do some field goal and I. A lot of wal -- second level all right -- -- that. Let's do it when I I don't know that would be our IR Bryant got them right now I thought Bryant got him. Ryan got him on that when these idiot that we want you don't think rob art -- his brother -- told them my confidence. Yeah let me tell you for the people say well incident that would be placed updated in baseball. Happens all the time our manager -- opposing defense a lefty with a group thought most of first. Don't -- at first base umpire for the games they list you don't want to -- Absolutely. -- this is here's the question on Mike -- line up that field goal 56 yards knowing that fall wasn't then hopefully the refereeing would throw the yellow flag Beasley going already -- -- -- -- -- and you are probably here's my point I think that was a tremendous -- -- -- -- and that. I disagree with a bit more I think Iraq is too conservative on third and five broads running the ball you don't back and -- still think. You know he's still not completely companies submit that you might. You know if I needed a bit. I I like him now I I think it's gonna be there for awhile he stays injury -- can be pretty good player. I can't I thought like that kidding about the way this thing about it went to -- this information coming into bad attitude I don't see that at all. -- -- -- -- I don't know I thought he had a good game I thought he outplayed Brady Brady right now. I think what you're seeing right now. Yes wasting time talk about the paycheck really got ten minutes left I don't. Let me let me just summed up this whole PP staying within a rod and commissioner used car salesman. From 1995. To 2005. When PED uses an overdrive. Selig did absolutely nothing about it he knew about it. Now he -- David let let if you look like a crusader. Okay. Okay do you think everybody did it like Greg saying. I don't smoke everywhere -- Larry I think a substantial amount of them did it. You think Jeter did it. All young guy you return to a little -- go that far. You can't just make this blanket statement that these guys didn't do -- tell me why aren't why debate why should they be smeared. Quite -- -- everybody who would put a 100% I think it's significant percent. I think Canseco was probably on target what he says 7580 -- -- -- -- -- did. -- -- -- -- Yeah how about it by. That you used car lot in Milwaukee -- he and Bartlett a plaid jacket tells them soccer I think what you would give Buick. Let me read a tepid metro fire at every -- with -- Kevin Mitchell know what that -- which Mitchell the senator -- tournament. -- probably broke the health plan is up in the abort is on board of directors of the Red Sox as a very objective best. All -- he's got. I don't feel -- Jack you win you're an exact radio and I feel this morning Jack about your Boston Red Sox. Let me be quick points -- I know you looked -- me as much time as -- stop slightly different. I was talked about personal I've met -- when I was -- I wanted to say hello happy with the caucus I don't have a telephone number but anywhere developed useless and hopefully get. I just wanna talk about that one play because in the game the other night. Principal goal shouldn't have been in there and Duracell. I think done a great job getting them with the -- -- -- a mistake I don't know how -- can put that guy in the lineup would now run the bank but on that play. Is brought it was still in the wrong way -- -- -- he had not shock really to get the -- at the plate if he had real baseball instincts which I think he does. -- -- -- At the -- and I'm glad it was a four point. We have endorsed Obama the second that the guy that time would describe it that would have been out in the parliament it's a Lackey up. What does -- -- region and he's trying to catch well this week even if he reaches out and gets the ball -- -- -- this weekend and get them now. -- and then look at the -- could go and Saltalamacchia. Their own internal. I mean I never saw so many swings and misses and strikeout. And I would put a benefit to. And hopefully those statistics are the 670. League ballplayers that are put it. And that and that and that at Baltimore -- in playoff baseball playoffs. It's six the sense that he broke. I mean you know I'll tell me intimate and the place and I agreed to have a good but I haven't seen and. -- part of the lives you -- only good plate now you're going to be probably the guy that's can't make those plays. Because you've got to take one game of football -- to try and put metal works. Last year he was great he went in the slap this year and -- in the line -- we come back. When he first came back he was didn't -- -- 300 then whatever a puppy get. But boy I would much rather seen that -- a -- and Stephen Drew right now. You know and I just think you're comfortable -- -- short and that is about -- his shots. I mean that that predicament that he was in the basement. -- we know why I don't know I think when it comes October and did everything and did I forget whether they were ahead 21 about one not that. Mentally capable men on first and second in the league pennants. And I don't give it to them and. What a cute to look at him look good nor bad play is important I think there were down one nothing at the time that you read about it and nepotism that successful. -- -- -- -- put -- management and. Don't play that way in the American League you know well all that Jackie got to give up your small ball. Crusade as its not gonna happen. Ralph in Cranston you're next on Sports Radio -- Ralph. And good morning thanks Tom. The game itself. This is going to be a different strategy -- ensured that. It will lead to at least association with the estrogens -- will look at such great report which is in the world and the concept was. The MacBook or try to fool and it's actually collect and this is not a stunt which they -- so many below. The actual that's why when we get to this pitcher Joseph otherworldly I would have spoke -- -- not the whole world. Like a sure it's -- burrow into one of these guys will -- won everything. Right but you can actually support score in -- up or -- that's why -- -- only way to usual hole why. How about power about Saltalamacchia catching again. Well I mean. That's. Something I don't get around perhaps also used it as much last to be getting -- that the source. But I don't have a problem with their original -- -- you -- how about how about defensively. I particularly like sure I'll look at that offense first stop this war that he can't do legally to the 78 I would put my best teacher to play yourself. -- like BL I bring true it -- now it's a little different strategy because this is a different. We never thought would be. Didn't we built this recorded call these guys and most of them are gonna be a war -- It's more pressure on to win the action here subsequent -- was. Now we thought this is going to hear -- enjoy the game tonight Steve we got to let ego get -- -- coming up next and Dennis and Callahan amending. Million policies that you know. Okay what a great show they do -- just loved that show Larry some more accolades before you go. I'm like -- you're Italian you want me to rip -- you yeah I -- really sites are from the they're really upset that you're ripping a job very well right about the Obama -- -- -- and rip him took a shot at me that I am still on the floor over recognizable pretty large enough medically sick -- you wouldn't be getting out too bad Shelby wasn't here we were forced to go about -- I haven't the last working under -- -- -- -- Now I'm obviously a signals an instant shirts you Wear enough of those dirty war let's go out to the mighty Mississippi River job. And Jerry and Kirk covered up -- and Sports Radio WB.

Audio On Demand

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Rep…

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Heath Evans, NFL Network: The Impact of Revis and Browner on the Patriots Defense

Heath Evans of the NFL Network joins Mut and Lou to talk how Revis and Browner impact the Patriots defense, the Vince Wilfork Situation, and the arms race between Denver and New England

Former Patriot Ty Law with Dale, Holley and Fauria

We talk Revis with his friend and mentor, former Patriot Ty Law.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, discussing Rajon Rondo as a color commentator, the NBA draft, and the epic Pacers-Heat game

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston joins Mut, Lou, and Christian to talk about Rajon Rondo in the booth, the rest of the Celtics losing season, and the epic battle between the Pacers and Heat.

Joe and Dave Postgame wit…

Joe and Dave Postgame with Grady Sizemore 04-11-14

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox starting left fielder, Grady Sizemore. grady talks about what it was like to hit a home run off his old teammate, C.C. Sabathia, and his reaction to not seeing Koji on the mound in a save situation.

Dale and Holley: Steve Lyons 4-11-14

Steve Lyons joins Dale and Holley to talk about the Red Sox and Yankees series and Michael Pineda's sticky hand.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: On Pineda's par tar 4-11-14

Kevin Millar makes his weekly appearance to discuss Michael Pineda's apparent pine tar on his hand, the Red Sox loss to the Yankees, and the team's pitching.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the upcoming series against the Red Wings.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, brings us around the NHL 4-11-14

2 games left in the season and the Bruins are in the driver's seat for the President's Cup which is allowing them to coast and get healthy. Pierre McGuire updates Mut and Lou on the possibility of Seidenberg's return and talks about situations elsewhere in the NHL.

Dale and Holley: Jack Edwards 4-10-14

Jack Edwards talks about the Bruins stretch run to the playoffs and rants about the NCAA.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the Red Wings series and the one year anniversary of the Marathon Bombings.

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Joe Andruzzi, Former Patriots OL: Reflecting on the Boston Marathon, 4-15-14

Joe Andruzzi witnessed the attacks first-hand and sprung into action to help others when the blasts went off on Boylston Street. The former Patriots OL joined the show to discuss and reflect on that day.

Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing one year later 4-15-14

Mut, Merloni and Christian Fauria reflect on the tragic events on April 15th 2013 at the Boston Marathon and discuss how the city has changed.

Matt Chatham with Dale an…

Matt Chatham with Dale and Holley: Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

We speak with Matt Chatham, who re-tells his story from that fateful Monday and looks ahead to brighter things, including this year's marathon.

Reflecting on the One-Year Anniversary of the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

Dale, Michael and Steve Lyons reflect back on the event last year, and the good that has taken place since then as Boston came together.

David Abel of the Boston Globe : Remembering Martin Richard through the eyes of the Richard family 4-15-14

We speak with David Abel of the Boston Globe, who penned the incredible piece on the Richard Family in this past weekend's Boston Globe.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Minor Details Ep. 79: The…

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

WEEI WrestleCast: Wrestlemania 30 recap

Scott and Ben recap WrestleMania 30 and talk about the death of the Ultimate Warrior.

Fantasy Football Offseason Podcast #3

It’s been a busy week across the NFL & with the College Football Draft Hopefuls so Jim Hackett & Pete Davidson plowed through as much as you can handle, including news about The Jets & their interest in Chris Johnson, the LSU Pro Day, rumors and news surrounding free agents & recent signings like Santonio Holmes, DeSean Jackson & Nate Burleson. Then it’s all about the 2014 Rookie Wide Receiver class that just continues to grow and impress. There’s a lot here to keep you informed as the offseason heats up and the draft approaches. Get ready!

Boston Strong one year la…

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

More from this show

Brad Faxon gives his take…

Brad Faxon gives his take on Bubba Watson capturing his second Green Jacket 4-14-14

Friend of the show, Brad Faxon, checks in to examine all the Masters action and to evaluate Bubba Watson's performance.

More from this show

Bruins V. Red Wings in fi…

Bruins V. Red Wings in first round of NHL Playoffs 4-14-14

LB joins Mut and Merloni in studio to preview the Bruins first opponent in the playoffs, the Detroit Red Wings.

More from this show

Headlines Headlines Headl…

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

More from this show

Weei Writers