WEEI>On Demand>>It Is What It Is Cast: Preview of the Patriots and Jets

It Is What It Is Cast: Preview of the Patriots and Jets

Oct 17, 2013|

FOXBORO -- WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price look ahead to the Patriots and Jets this Sunday at MetLife Stadium. The 5-1 Patriots look to continue winning ways despite more serious injuries.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Welcome back to Gillette Stadium everybody my name is quite proudly joined as always -- patriots expert columnist for that we BI -- conference right. -- injuries continue to mount Jerod Mayo has been placed on season ending injured reserve with a -- -- for a muscle. -- on Sunday in the fourth quarter. Making quite a bit on the one Darren Sproles he had surgery this week he's done for the year how in the world that the patriots go about replacing. It's -- be a lot like what he did with Vince -- going to be collective you're gonna be a lot of the -- of -- like Dorothy -- Jamie Collins quite possibly -- but it was gonna have to mix and match. You have to make some personnel. It would be right you Rodney didn't run the ball from that you can defense but you -- -- -- headline one of the things that we could -- In their -- they have a lot of hybrids have a lot of guys can do a little bit everything back there I think they're gonna lean on that -- global. I know you're writing about it this week are the patriots. Tipping point for -- is that there is such -- thing possible. The patriots. Injuries mounting up to the point where they hit it. Like if you look at around the league -- you look at traditional powers like the giants in the Steelers and Packers and like you detected. All of these teams. Have struggled a little bit when faced with with -- optical -- the first 56 games of the season. I think depicted that distinguish themselves from the fact that they're a little bit deeper than it was -- coach. But more prepared wait a few of them made it but obviously think all those injuries -- -- that afternoon trading him but it avoided them. Now there is an -- And he went out. But the toll may or may not be available he was not at practice on Wednesday early in that we. Practice you think that -- -- left on Sunday in the second apple felt. What in the world that they do it. But equally I know we talked about it this shifting and personnel with the linebackers I think we're in a few more than in the secondary -- that would -- which we need to put them forty. Move him from speaking over corner and you lean on some of the younger guys whether on armored people been arrested -- you're gonna need. Guys and start stepping up guys were those second third finger. We're going to play more going to have much more global. Danny Amendola he took a vicious hit from one -- -- the second half. In Sunday's win over the saints. Danny on the dole -- got to be somebody billboard and I guess we look forward to is Boston College like he said a week ago is he perhaps the insurance for any Amendola. I'd be really at this point I think all you need to know about Austin College. You'll -- him out -- on that fourth quarter drive that you winning drive. Where you got to -- after concluding that fourth down pass -- to think that would be deprived regardless of what happened with the Amendola. I wouldn't be surprised you more often colleague in this offense in the passing people -- look. -- -- with somebody we talked about a week two when the patriots beat the jets thirteen to ten beta but a bit of a prediction made some headlines in New York wells -- This week collective focus on another defensive -- that would be. Damon snacks Harrison bill -- Bryant hearing a little bit defense what or why is that. I think they're comparisons being made there he does now but obviously that that -- -- -- yet been relatively convinced that. But he one of those beat you in the -- will be tough to run it in the therapies that run defense. But it could only about 75 rushing yards a game one of the best numbers in the lead the patriots have to figure out we've -- -- -- a couple of whether they wanna try to mound with a one run more play action whatever it is they're there to find a way to run the ball against mr. What happened Sunday and why I think the patriots win this game I know that the debate on both sides of the ball when it comes to injuries but I'd be looked at the jets dolphins. In the jets' offense has struggled mightily to this point of the season I don't think it happened -- -- all the scoreboard.

Audio On Demand

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Rep…

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Heath Evans, NFL Network: The Impact of Revis and Browner on the Patriots Defense

Heath Evans of the NFL Network joins Mut and Lou to talk how Revis and Browner impact the Patriots defense, the Vince Wilfork Situation, and the arms race between Denver and New England

Former Patriot Ty Law with Dale, Holley and Fauria

We talk Revis with his friend and mentor, former Patriot Ty Law.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, discussing Rajon Rondo as a color commentator, the NBA draft, and the epic Pacers-Heat game

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston joins Mut, Lou, and Christian to talk about Rajon Rondo in the booth, the rest of the Celtics losing season, and the epic battle between the Pacers and Heat.

Red Sox Manager John Farr…

Red Sox Manager John Farrell with Dale and Holley

We discuss the Red Sox early season woes with manager John Farrell, as well as his views and faith in MLB's new instant replay system, and the continuity in the Sox outfield.

Joe and Dave Postgame with Grady Sizemore 04-11-14

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox starting left fielder, Grady Sizemore. grady talks about what it was like to hit a home run off his old teammate, C.C. Sabathia, and his reaction to not seeing Koji on the mound in a save situation.

Dale and Holley: Steve Lyons 4-11-14

Steve Lyons joins Dale and Holley to talk about the Red Sox and Yankees series and Michael Pineda's sticky hand.

Pod Man Rush: DJ Bean and…

Pod Man Rush: DJ Bean and Greg Wyshynski on Bruins-Red Wings

Greg Wyshynski of Yahoo! Sports joins DJ to break down the first-round matchup between the Bruins and Red Wings. Also discussed is Zdeno Chara's Norris candidacy, transparency with voting for the NHL awards and whether the Canadiens will get out of the first round.

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the upcoming series against the Red Wings.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, brings us around the NHL 4-11-14

2 games left in the season and the Bruins are in the driver's seat for the President's Cup which is allowing them to coast and get healthy. Pierre McGuire updates Mut and Lou on the possibility of Seidenberg's return and talks about situations elsewhere in the NHL.

Crystel the Tsnarnaev def…

Crystel the Tsnarnaev defender 4=16=14

Crystel called in to defend the terrorists.

Michele McPhee on the nutjob at the finish line

Our friend Michele McPhee joined the show to discuss the latest with Kayvon.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Chelsea Handler

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

Buster Olney, ESPN: Sox c…

Buster Olney, ESPN: Sox clubhouse unhappy with Lester offer, 4-16-14

Buster Olney joined Mut and Merloni to discuss the Lester contract offer and the trickle-down effect in the clubhouse, the defense of Xander Bogaerts, and the slow start

Andy Brickley, NESN: Boston's depth is too much for Detroit, 4-16-14

Andy Brickley joins Mut and Merloni to discuss the Bruins Red Wings series, a possible Seidenberg return, and the power play.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

John Farrell joins Dale a…

John Farrell joins Dale and Holley

We discuss the Red Sox early season woes with manager John Farrell, as well as his views and faith in MLB's new instant replay system, and the continuity in the Sox outfield.

Red Sox batting order and outfield continues to lack continuity

We discuss the Red Sox after our interview with John Farrell, and Dustin Pedroia in the lead-off position has become a hot topic.

Should Bruins fans be wary of the Red Wings? And why?

We discuss the Bruins first round matchup vs the Red Wings, and why many national folks think this series could be the one to watch for an early round upset.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Pod Man Rush: DJ Bean and…

Pod Man Rush: DJ Bean and Greg Wyshynski on Bruins-Red Wings

Greg Wyshynski of Yahoo! Sports joins DJ to break down the first-round matchup between the Bruins and Red Wings. Also discussed is Zdeno Chara's Norris candidacy, transparency with voting for the NHL awards and whether the Canadiens will get out of the first round.

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

WEEI WrestleCast: Wrestlemania 30 recap

Scott and Ben recap WrestleMania 30 and talk about the death of the Ultimate Warrior.

Boston Strong one year la…

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

More from this show

Crystel the Tsnarnaev def…

Crystel the Tsnarnaev defender 4=16=14

Crystel called in to defend the terrorists.

More from this show

Headlines Headlines Headl…

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

More from this show

Brad Faxon gives his take…

Brad Faxon gives his take on Bubba Watson capturing his second Green Jacket 4-14-14

Friend of the show, Brad Faxon, checks in to examine all the Masters action and to evaluate Bubba Watson's performance.

More from this show

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the Red Wings series and the one year anniversary of the Marathon Bombings.

More from this show

Weei Writers