WEEI>On Demand>>Red Sox Review with John Ryder and Lenny Megliola Hour 2

Red Sox Review with John Ryder and Lenny Megliola Hour 2

Sep 1, 2013|

John and Lenny discuss the month of September for the Red Sox. Boston has some tough games ahead should be able to win over 90 games for the season. John and Lenny discuss other teams in the potential playoff race.

Related Audio:

  1. @Bradfo Show: Sundays with Torey

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Red Sox Bench Coach Torey Luvollo joins the program to talk about Red Sox injuries and the MLB Replay process

  2. The Chris Villani Show: The Failure of MLB Replay System

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Our number two Chris aligning with sports Sunday Sports Radio WEEI 6177797937. Then not all Red Sox some pretty much all Jon Lester threw the first hour lie detectors weighing in on the AT&T tax line on that will get to that just a moment. Out final round of the masters is going on a maturity people. Into getting into what is much science tiger. And without Phil as well he Mickelson showed up I think late Thursday night she flew in and Friday after energy is flied out. With Phil Mickelson. I he had a tough weekend are tough early going Richardson first round in a local guy Keegan Bradley struggled missed But there are some big games of the top the leaderboard some exciting. I young names of the Jordan's BT's twenty years old he's cash to win the masters I he'd be the youngest winner since 1979. LEB younger. Then the tiger was the first time you want it. And one of the things that really stood out to me is speaking with some people were down there this week to cover the toward talks and these young guys and it get back to tiger. The complete and water. Lack of off. Around around Tiger Woods to these guys are too young you think about twenty years old 21 years old with somebody like camera some would like walker. In somebody like Blix the Swedish guys and second right now and he's. He's like 28. You know some of these guys too young to really remember or at least have played with tiger against tiger. When he was hitting level like we never seen before the PGA tour earlier received since Jack. And they look at him now a Zagat shoot 77 on the weekends. Is that cats really contention anymore where is I mean Aaron I'm not old and your and all of you remember when. Final round tigers in the lead it was done forget about it I mean one year in the PGA YE Yang those big shots out late and ended up beating and yet that epic battle with Bob May. I nearly beat him in the PGA but it would for the most part just wasn't close he would get a lead and he was one of the best closers in the we'd seen in the sport. But it's just it's different now that's a different vibe. Around Tiger Woods and it's gone from seemingly a foregone conclusion that he would get to nineteen majors is seemingly foregone conclusion that he won't eat next year. Does play majors this year. Is give forty years old Jack won three. After he needs five Jack won three after forty to two of those were when he was forty and the masters in 986. Was kind of an out Larry's 46 years old. Tiger would be a hall of fame career from here on out five major championship all career to get in nineteen. I think it's interesting not only his fall from grace just as a player. In terms of winning majors the was in my opinion at least the best player on were last year he had five or six wins a torch to win major. But the bigger thing to me is just how some of these younger players perceive him do tiger as a contention it used to be regarded. The average stroke. The average round rather up a stroke in. In in the in the final round on Sundays when tiger was in contention real just kind of melted aged just. Folded around with a few exceptions mentioned Bob revealed in Nickels and it's good battles but. For the most part it was just tiger's world everybody else's playing for second they were on him Ernie Els just not Now is young guys just young enough to cocky enough and don't really remember that at least they didn't play through it. And they're saying how statute 75 on the weekends with what's not ID in the turn now but. I should be upon Sunday Bubba Watson very very likable guy. And I Jordan who were finding out a lot about trying to become the youngest masters winner a long time quick birds update we'll get back to the calls against 617779. 7937. Cordially NC DM IA's doing great to get the good news on him that was definitely a concern that you know DM IAA was. Out I got hit looked like in the that it from I thought it was illegal but not dirty if that makes sense I don't think there was intent to injure there. It was just one of those times you're trying to make a hockey play get the principal point contact up higher and you won it. So I thought it was an illegal hit not a dirty hit but by a help not the that you concussion translated to on the ice Thursday that part we don't know just yet. But Patrice Bergeron it sound like is fine I he missed the third period yesterday that would would have been a huge concern. I outside to go. There's not too many guys you point to and say this more important to the bees and Bergeron two way player in hockey this year. Obvious he's good according to coach Julianne and Chris Kelly looks like still day to day with that back injury so some. Relatively speaking. Minor bumps and Bruce is going into the Stanley Cup Playoffs but you know these guys especially Alec Bergeron if he could be on the ice on Thursday against the red he's going to be there. I HTT tech slide is 37937. It's like grab a few of these real quick a one Dexter says eight times over David Price let Lester walked. While you make Casey price a better pitcher at this stage of his career early younger I can cost more money. And now your bidding against everybody else you've got the cost control guy. Housing cost control we get the guided the under your control rather. The of the exclusive negotiating window with wants to stay here to guide it. As more in depth track record in the post season to sign him. And that point it's not a knock on price and gives great pitcher. But if you're looking at what you can do it even easier than that that will save you some money relative to what price can get on the open market signed last. I know detector can you imagine having Stanton in Boston did it forty plus homers easy architecture from western mass. Two words about prospects Daniel yep they can go hard the other way. I another one here says agree with you order percent top of the rotation guys talk about Lester innings a year post seasons died. Given the cash over five years five for one and should get it done. And out finally is Lester stats are comparable to average career he walked away from 244 million Lester has been better than Homer Bailey and look at the contract. That he just signed a few textures telling me the gets four clocked at. Well evening parade for a UConn for the championships I assume the men and women together out both of them winning the national title. Yes as tougher as Turkey's but happy for Kevin Ollie who now is the next. Hot coaching named to go from college to the end beauty after eight seasons. But undefeated in the NCAA tournament ally guys can say that are at six or 77797937. is in New Jersey he's up next When then. Just try to not cute bit Ali thank you and I can't believe that a low ball. Jon Lester like they don't agree that you like a side impact by one and whatever argument sake. We have been out of my. But you see a lot of contracts for your team that have gone got into the contract stratosphere and some of them have really worked out so well. But for a number like dapper Lester what he's so willing to stay. I agree I was surprised. When I saw what the number was at the end of spring training where the Red Sox know Lester broke off toxin seems like a a low ball contract terms of dollars in a low ball contract thirty years. definitely. god I G I mean lucky probably let out a little bit like that way radio reluctant I had. Yeah I mean yeah I'm with you thanks to the fall being a former yankees fans perspective. They're never shy about spending dollars. That Lester contract is makes sense and I've said this a few times. Because just getting back to this point I do think my gut still tells me they get a Don. Gut feeling they still get this contract done because I hate candidate it player just wants too much just wants to be a Boston too much. You back going to be here at the expense of taking deal it's foolish and a four year seventy to eighty million dollar contract before which. At ball way below market terms years below market terms the average annual There's no upside here it sounded like a Red Sox blown away with a give you four years but here's point six million a year. Which is probably more than you gonna get I guarantee each and every year on the open market that it could at least. I still think Lester would walk away from crystal he'd say no. But I could look at that is saying the Red Sox in good faith effort to try to. Do with last year what they've done with other guys which is over pay an average annual dollars but try to take that discounted terms of the number years seventy. I can't say that. I can't see it as they came under years came under dollars 6177797937. Bill isn't busted up next they've built. They would subject. who visual. You know what about. You guys keep in the world. Could together okay. guys they look at the guys renewed deal if everybody involved. Make him have the option to. Who boarded deals rivals ordered to the guys will. Make it work. So real simple. So three years of his make sure Israelis and three years seventy million. And then assuming he stays healthy another two years at how much. Ordered me at all. That would come out to volley at 5110. About then you know what would actions. YouTube. 120. It was cute guys so. Yeah It it it any guaranteed dollars sport. That that's just not gonna work for the players work for last. Well hope what works right now what made two big guy a two year deal seven million. With a guarantee. Appeared to remain nimble. The two more years of targeted what are enviable. Well let's get. That that that the five year 120 million dollar contract. Where. OK I guess that that's reasonable but I mean you if you're guaranteeing the money that it's not three years in the two years to five years. And yet we could what three years didn't work out three years it will be created numerous believe that you develop very animated. You know. Yeah I mean I like well. I guess I can't get what you in there you know again trial period so to speak at three year seventy million dollar. You know test blown the CP states LP and see if he still producing. The news saying guaranteed fifty million after that which is five for once money. Why would John again you'd think about it okay hometown discount know we heard the operator gets excited about it. to get past the idea of a hometown discount meeting complete insanity. Seventy million dollars even over a three years average dollars a lot of money. But it still. 50% of what can get out in the open market. You know why would I take seventy million guaranteed even for three years when I could just double that six years guaranteed at 140 million. You know six I can get that extra seventy million dollars over three more seasons just to go out in the open market. That would be a great team friendly kind of idea but Lester were being eyed Joseph and Wakefield once the way HL. What they've done so much for the in the you know 78 years. That burning up I don't know are already up at. I agree with UN and the injury concern for me is that they're now we are talking about Clay Buchholz we'd be having added I merely different conversation. But with Lester even a year it was bad in 2012. Still pitch to plus innings. Yeah I mean you don't get a picture wondering about that party and you don't hate you guys brought there get a going to be offered. And I are I think I really like the attitude that you just want the behavior I don't understand why the Internet situation black. We're not talking about giving the guy a 140. I'm not all that with the amount of money more book like the object audit. Well he had I think the Red Sox kind of Hewitt in the regard as well that's why I wasn't completely floored when he said OK if we here opera was the most that they had. I'll put out there by the time they broke off negotiations. But I'd be and neighbor of 400. Yell now and a and a big. Average annual value a Ford seventy for is an opera that you know the players get a that's an opera that it's designed to be turned out. Yeah independent though they looked like but based on the yacht I don't know it. All the the PR stunt getting negative PR because I think I had tickets ridiculous they have any Lester did lie to me if he blocks away at the end of the day. And and the Red Sox look back and in the end flick back and say. And they could of they could negotiate they could out of spring training but the only opera percent beat the teams the only one's gonna look bad that's an. Aerial my opinion darker integrated you know integrated I'm sorry you know it made it. It's the same age and it did Dustin Pedroia has I can't think of his name off my head to similar Pedroia as we negotiated down discounts the This situation it is thought here we cannot I mean update completely done park are now completely. It sounds like till the end of the season got to do have an exclusive negotiating window. Went thanks for the college and they've exclusive negotiating window with Lester. After the season is over and that it's free agency. But you know in my mind even if the Red Sox were come back with a big number in the fall. But it even gets to. Reagents even gets to the point were other teams are our ticketing contracts are offers a Lester you're probably spending more than what you have spent. It just get the deal done now. You just avoid any possibility any any chance did you rate in the another team another suitor and unlike David Ortiz we can't you know we had a debate about Ortiz is going to be even a market that is. And I thought maybe lot of people but absolutely now. That's fine with Lester there's no debate right. I mean when I can debate the fact that it thirty year old going on 31 year old lefty it's starting pitcher with a great post season track records that market. We know that that's the case there's going to be money thrown at this. So you have the opportunity. To not only negotiate exclusively with him up or you even touch or even Free agency. It to get an offer on the table to sign this guy if they're not able losing the player beat. I signing into a deal that maybe goes outside their comfort zone because now they worry about free agency not to worry about other offers them. You could have made a better fate in my mind decide than these reported figures in at these numbers are right you know he's not taking. It's an it's designed to be refused to keep brought out their deceit it's a hit proper. I don't think organ necessarily buy that I think that this mark baseball banner that. That they and as long as you're in line with keeping Lester some cables don't want that at any high price and that's fine that's your opinion I disagree by. It any band that wants Jon Lester back is valued at his team. It and understand just what the market is looking for the seventy's at It's an insult. Text messages committed 37937. AT&T like. Texas is Red Sox have too many pitches in the system they had the upper hand. Now that it's does its thing is too many pitchers in this is have a lot of starting pitching depth they have a lot of potential. As allowed by hope and is better than Jon Lester obese Kerr shot why not. But you know what you have in Jon Lester. You don't know what you have yet Henry and that goes to my point of if you're gonna have some of these cost control pre arbitration arbitration guys up. Lester got the money to do. He could have a a lot of money coming off the books over the next read of where years. Yet a pitcher John Lackey threw for 500000 dollars on next season. In NA and it not a salary cap sport but it sport I care about a 189 million dollar luxury tax threshold for the at least they're from last. I that to take three years the market's already at five to six. years as Lester won't get 140 on the open market I disagree I think he will. I the Texas is give Lester one of these two deals. Or for a hundred or seven and 12611. if the offer candidate for for a hundred then I would say you know the Sox made an effort. They made shots try to sign him and take battled down discounted terms of the year when it for par seventy it. and a few text is going back to a couple calls as a wide world Lester take three year deal and a trial period. We can get five years guaranteed and I completely agree this is an interesting text here get this one before the break. I you know I'm not entirely sure why everyone has the phrase 110 for five I should get it done because he had no idea. What will get it done in theory. Yet that would be a hometown discount. 111 for five years an option six and eight I have no way of knowing. Whether that would get it done so he's looking at 5110. I just keep coming back that number because I look at. What the market would probably and keep going back to guys like Cole Hamels you know reasonable comparable to last year's regular season numbers I see six. In 144. EC 23 and change per year so take roughly that average annual value. 43 in his case it's going to take a year back it five years old hometown discount. But he's not leaving and and the billions of dollars That's why I come back to that number I'll get it done I have no idea what I'd be willing to go to say. 150 over 520 million a year probably. Start pushing diablo or we'll talk. You see what the number but a number I have in mind. And a lot of people have in mind they think 22 million a year twenty to 22 million a year years and college day. Five years a 10210 million dollars 6177797937. The point though I had no idea we don't know. What gets I can tell you this though. Ward seven he doesn't get it on told you that before knowing. That that was the for the Jon Lester turned out we get back to your calls coming up next we'll talk war. A Red Sox get to the Bruins as well and what touch and the Celtics before the end of the show as well get to 4 o'clock Chris Blondie with Sports Radio. WE yeah.

  3. Chris Villani on the Lester Contract Situation

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Villani doesn't understand the Red Sox' approach to the negotiations with Jon Lester for an extension. Sure, you have to start somewhere, but their offer was so off base, it was almost insulting. He wonders if the Red Sox truly want Lester in the future and if they don't, WHY!?!

  4. Butch and Buck on Sports Sunday: "It's a nice problem to have", but what will the Sox do in the outfield when Victorino Returns

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    The Red Sox will have the proverbial log jam in the outfield when Shane Victorino returns - what should they do? Send Jackie Bradley back down, make a trade or something else...Butch and Buck discuss.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Basis Red Sox review on the WTI. Sports Radio network. It's a recap of the Red Sox and White Sox. Swing and rockets pulled in right field line got a base hit down the line one runners in Ellsbury scores here comes Victor Reno. Ortiz sitting in the second slides in with a double but was stopping his third two more runs in their third seasons back on the beam. He has done it again in the Red Sox have just doubled their lead it is now afforded a -- -- -- Red Sox revue with John Ryder. Here's the 12 home swing and a high fly ball well hit right center but there is Quintin -- underneath he makes -- after the ballgame is over. The Red Sox have won again and today they -- The Chicago White Sox 76 the final. And another save her Koji we are who is now put together 24 consecutive scoreless innings. Now John writers and Red Sox review on the WE. He ice Sports Radio network. For some of the details there in an open from the gray Dave O'Brien. As the red sites and a -- you delights like seven is -- is John Ryder -- Wood -- may go check out -- of the metro west daily news Boston Globe and doing the baseball journal and Lenny you have a piece in the globe today. I -- but if things start you know me with -- human interest stories -- which are great down they were to -- try and they've both struggled last year and they are both gonna go under this year but one team said you know we get scope players the other team said. We get Saddam. We get that alignment right one was from Braintree one with from my frame him -- now they -- one team and I met -- west cowboys. And -- in the league up. Nice they have made some -- you can imagine. The just think of a semi tough right the characters on this -- great -- at lot -- -- -- that. That some friends that have played those leagues in the middle broke over yes and yes that that came up in the story you know. -- dominant the past I have been. How one golf now if I may make sure I mean -- -- flash and Sergio I got theaters that. Eighteen under rights -- static on signature on to win in them another day right. -- you think he'd enjoyed winning tiger is charity. Tournament is admittedly that's a little bit today Interbank. Have. Is Hendrick Stinson is just one and back so this will Yahoo!'s long way to go by nothing counting tiger amid impacts. Yeah anyway and Sergio is a pension as we note to crumble. At the end that's true or does the sector around for that matter in my and the final. Guy he had tigers have faded and as after a 72 of them I'd 6177797937. You can text -- said 37937. Whether it's -- -- will mix it up here even if you wanted to -- the patriots because has been slower roster moves. Over the weekend and teams haven't Japan. To 53 were patriots would. And the number of additions today but no one that you would really -- you're really really -- pay attention to. -- out of college football. Or even the united some of the minimal names on rosters you would no way any of these guys are but there are some Nike names -- let go including Leon Washington today. -- -- Chris -- could Phyllis and and how those guys know he definitely good -- he's got all the information up on WEEI decked out there and straighten him he has here's Charlie implement that Charlie. Land near the end -- A -- has been looking forward to the patriots season but I think it's going to be another instant replay LS season. Meaning they're gonna have to score top points again to win these games. There's this thing mold secondary really gave up 271. Yards a game and ranked 29. They don't have a strong safety. And Kyle Arrington and not enough you know this that. It cut any ball wrong Kyle Arrington was way last year at AB and I have this side of the ball thrown his way were completed. So we'll look at that instant replay again with a secondary. Now hopefully Aqib Talib comes through and a big contract year for him. Yes and also seven according bounces back. If Logan prize and watch for him you gonna have to help Altria. Yes and he's edited pre season we'll see if that translates into area. Into the regular season although they get more pressure this year and that's whatever kind of odd day in Chandler Jones and in his pass rush this group progresses because I don't know if they're gonna put as many points on the board as they have in the past now I think it's asking too much on I mean look at the tight -- situation and receiver -- yeah. But I mean no lack of items really. You know obviously Reno or and his two minutes -- going to be about hiring and don't have much it's it's that little man in a -- -- that's Starr at the Seattle and you know one we know what we're gonna get the I don't we don't and I think grant comes -- -- I assume you know a week for something like that right would you be surprised him and playing against buffalo yes is Leo yes I would I I think even. I wouldn't put it past him to be playing a week the rate. Undated there's a reason it -- put among the populace overlaps a little sick they think he's going to be back here we always going to be six weeks yeah. Militarily -- it's just going to be a great season anything's battling Oakland Raiders they haven't won since two they haven't had a winning season since 20020. And they actually have more quarterbacks in two punters. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- You see what dated today Charlie to cut their fourth round pick. Fourth round pick from this year's draft I know whatever I can scoff and what a bust Ras I doubt and -- -- a -- -- recent -- ramped patriots. But do raiders from this year's stripped you hardly see that usually automatically. You know you get to the fourth round maybe some -- easier -- the fifth round but. First four rounds uses their -- team no matter what your ward I went around and meet them mystic Tim Tebow. Or if they do make mistakes I think L I'm -- about the same season ago -- and they are strapped him in April and let them go and it. First is sept and I think Al Davis discount you know running that he from the grave I do. Yeah it's pretty bad and what we're happy we got the patriots are not a raiders there in deep trouble -- Everything else. Yeah I know the the instill the AFC's team maybe the dolphins as some improvement ever all. Miami this season reminds me of buffalo Blassie's number rose to buffalo with -- all the moves that they -- now I do think they have a more stable. Quarterback situation much more so would right and nail down there in Miami and buffalo had. But to -- would you say more question marks a beginning season for the pats than them and some time. Yes I would -- I would it and and some recent years yes and we know what it made. Where to begin witness helter skelter offseason had landed headlined by Aaron Hernandez in in terms about if you're wondering. What the moves work. There the patriots cut Leon Washington more -- coal. The get down to their roster to 53. And they added third year linebacker Chris White off waivers from Detroit and three rookies. Offensive -- center Braxton key you've picked up from Cleveland guard Chris barker. They've they've pulled him from Miami defensive tackle AJ Francis also from the dolphins as well. So that's and it also super Roland is right -- does anyone I've I know any of those names. I do. And the practice squad guys. Are they they re signed a Jeff TARP Indians back markets forced in the price can Doris Davis who they is god and Justin Green defensive baggage you're -- Gary Davis a linebacker might be some of the lasted times -- -- -- a couple of those names and please. All right 6177797937. Via text has had 3790 -- -- we're just -- that the break when he. About what a baseball season it's been. And of course we're provincial here we -- trailer it Sikes who's. Perfect finished the last season as well because he had Baltimore and Oakland has surprises but. Would never everything that was going around here and no one paid too much attention to a animals was bit jealous I remember being on after -- is so terrific the baseball season. But just because the Red -- so terrible but this year has been another exciting season. Always has been you know a great some surprise teams. You know -- dodges. On the verge of maybe rent 24 -- to 6000 firing Don Mattingly. And then turn it around like to have and you know and individual performs as some surprises this Paul Goldschmidt from a Arizona you know I mean it's leading the league garden home runs and he's a hundred be over a hundred RBIs in about a 300 out. You know it's a mean if if people are wondering and I still think that'd -- -- it's going on in baseball but I think it's diminished a bit. You look at this letting you mentioned Paul Goldschmidt with 31 home runs men and Pedro Alvarez now is the lead by 132. 32 home runs leads the National League I'm not. And knowing it's about 240 you don't need to 45 tablet it's weird looking at the leaders here Chris I bet if you asked anyone out there. Who was leading the National League in batting average -- -- could ask a hundred people that ended probably maybe ten would get it right. I reminded us now -- -- -- -- Good guess but no ideas in the top five Chris Johnson of the Braves really at 331. Now. I'm -- -- the death. And on the outlook are Scott and I don't look about it I don't know why I asked her to qualify a grown man with -- I know it's and the Braves themselves. You know or somewhat a surprise team to win this many at this point you know I thought of them as it is definitely a potential playoff team but -- Lead the majors in wins at this point right with the Red Sox were in other deals that. In terms -- we know the biggest the angels what a mess they are in the I'd say the two biggest disappointments this year I think of the the two biggest surprises I think the Red Sox have to be involved there's as well yes authorized -- -- a -- question about a I would say that the two biggest surprise of the Red Sox in the pirate signal without some some talent they -- the pirates but not to go this late in the season and -- it get it. These -- storm Francisco Liriano and AJ Burnett -- -- in liriano especially. Those -- the two biggest the two biggest this points as to be the nationals in the in the in angels. And just -- sure giants but they have pitching problems. You know what Kim's not their guy he used to be in. -- resident attempts rights and as he goes old band yeah yeah so. A they want to have the last three good program but that's a big drop far from from them this year. I react in diabetes start to wonder how -- they get it done -- -- with that lineup included the emergence of Marcos school Motorola is here -- -- -- -- But how about Toronto we -- less than Toronto has to be this job forgot about them no question there in the conversation they definitely are our flopped. -- And there were a lot of people I was I I thought they might -- -- be a wildcard team certainly that's happening now and it. A lot of people were right on them though a lot of people said is she still -- -- well. Doesn't look well but a lot of people had them. Some people have an -- when Nadal and he knows it started pitch a little bit better lately is a burly and RA Dickey. Doubt them out now that the Katsav about Tinto but no -- is when I'm all right foreign erroneous it's in good games not you know winning -- SYD -- on seven -- that ignorant. -- and it says -- pointed that out right now blew up his biggest disappointment. As as the angels are there angels and sensitive questions with the age of the patient debating get a -- The way that that contract that pool -- an -- Hamilton as well brutal I'll -- your little you know. And yeah I know they're there they're there have been huge disappointment snowing in all the money Toronto -- and -- You know no return at all you know -- was -- the our -- -- there and let's get to the banks of phones here's rich in Boston a rich. And -- I don't good originally I blow my bullets -- -- it would -- -- produce. And he told me that I'm gonna have to suffer the same thing all over again would you I would. Now -- you ready for this. All things that I wanted to know. Is on the yes network with the Yankees who expect it yet that brought -- the game on on on TV not trying to stir when he. Operating yellow live Michael K they have the former. Ball memorial Ken Singleton Ken Singleton at right now portal one that I've been brought back in the game. Well Linda is if it's Michael -- and none. Michael that you want to look at this morning that yet -- and now another blast some people they don't they don't really can't let. That's what led the Yankees are playing. A ten game home. And it got one Peralta like that. And I looked at my schedule but the minute the reds. It's going to Yankee Stadium so listening to him that means the all powerful Red Sox are gonna look for an overall that ain't gonna. And I put out a lot Bobby Kennedy right now he -- Jimmy Hoffa if you're not guilty I'll allow I'll jump from the capital don't. I don't know if you're old enough to remember that. Now I saw that you said the capital grille is only to influence the -- -- people apparently think. I Baltimore is that playing not. You know not so why -- and have been a bit rattling at camp and I can't -- because it can't but they are they what is going on Longoria struck out three. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- Red sex to have seven or -- with the Yankees and I don't think that the Yankees and went for strained right. I keeps score of the game when you travel and there I can't keep throwing so many strikes. I don't even get a chance to my name down this quick. -- -- -- I mean that's a different anyways I'll tell -- -- respond I should give you an award for keeping score I don't know winning in 94 anymore. -- -- -- TV award. -- opponents they all are and how much to be honest with me because I didn't -- relied -- -- or not I don't -- look at how did you sample. OK and people say. That immediately evident if you could copied from the computer and I don't know but can be deductible on my own. Right you have a score yet to score cut. Why do you insist. -- can't I get what they call a universal -- Not taken any we're all over the country. And I go it's all booked from may June July August. They were eighteen an -- in April. They -- fifteen and fifteen in May have been what seventeen Lebanon. Fifteen. And and on and on sixteen and twelve and August right now -- ten China came out. And that they weren't running it probably jumped up. You looked at a Red Sox went down from 79. 8386. And that's why then now at 820. So you're telling me they don't have up profile or maybe 99. I picked it. Well they did did get a win over an idea since this interesting. Research. Rich issue you raised may be working for the government they -- not. But yet keeping score. While we don't see -- are a lot of star -- endured in the stands anymore I don't know what does that yeah. But I fellows scorecard outside and a five bucks. Often it would use and that are right up against. A break here is 6177797937. You can text as a TT tech signed 37. 937. Also will hear from David Ortiz insurance health -- I -- Talking to reporters after the game Pete in the car you're up next of that -- -- the phone lines -- this break play. Hard shot to -- grabbed Mike Gillespie -- gets his body throws to first for the out victory no fighter -- up coming out of the box he slams the helmet. Really wanted to continue here and guys Avery had. Hamstring and it appears. That are out of the box event. Hello -- he's walking out toward right field with John Farrell a trainer Rick Jamison right behind him sort of waved them off but there's. Converging on him it wouldn't make sure. And victory note did end up leaving the game but John Farrell said afterwards is still expects completed well I thought the same as GO in Hampshire sure everyone did that the same -- jokes ago that was the hamstring and ambient. What they say anyways hip and Ellsbury left. With a jammed thumb. Which might be swelled up a little bit but they still expect him to play tomorrow I they both play I think my BC one -- item me losses today game. Well -- of thumb you know victory in I was at tiger's Renault Obama and he -- he wants to play how to get him out of the lineup. I would think you that -- I know barrels are down right to Dallas. They're right after the game -- and how many swells up but -- -- a panel that enables Obama handling the bad and so I thought those -- presumptuous as it is Friday Mel -- very primary said you know. I'm fine yeah yeah always Switzerland next day. Yeah on something like that hopefully it's -- long term and we knew we don't base. Ball. And it seems miners sometimes. You can end up being something long term and it may be in the top four been so good Ellsbury. Victorino Pedroia and Ortiz has been the glue right there -- after John Ryder Lenny Magglio Lola great to be working -- here and you can read him. In the Boston Globe -- -- daily news and doing the baseball journal the job until like 8 o'clock it's funny the text boards and yeah declaration that says -- still keep score with had a couple texts on that. Techsters says what he sits in his says season ticket seats heavily Bob Ryan -- scored as does he does it does I can verify that myself. Yeah Bob Bob loves the game that's a throw flabby you know we're all loose best row like Q in the commission and an MBA with your column for years -- from baseball's at the root of his. His love of sports I wonder if that's the case I would say that. Not anymore but I would still say at least around here if you grow up around here at least in the northeast I would think. If you're 35. And over which I am that baseball is your first love that that baseball typically. As for I would think I mean that that was -- me as well I -- a huge NBA and I love the NBA and it kind of neck and neck. Major League Baseball in the NBA for me but I would think would most people anyway. A lot of that if you know option football you would agree is that you and has taken over Elian has a question -- like amateur right if you're a certain age and after a certain image I mean you might find a twelve year old kid who thinks that Pedroia -- the best thing you know -- going and dissident -- based on because of that that kid's favorite sport. But you -- on that I do think. And and the sleeper and that would be hockey because there's a hockey town in a lot of ways. Well there's a lot of sub people that's their first -- you think about -- of your kidney eighties which I was the Bruins had great teams in the alien Bork Celtics of course and in -- I get a huge I love I love playing basketball -- I think a lot of it has to sports that's true by. And we basketball as we know John we comply anytime. You don't need to get any guys you just get a ball -- Dennis Hooper and you just coach you can do that bunea that we had a multiple takes to say meant. Still. And still keep score but I think that's when you are let's get back to phones before you would David Ortiz had to say after the game present Peter in the curry Peter. Eight guys -- and John just on papers -- guys the bad enjoyed listening to you. Thank you let me you're -- and and -- we go shortcut for the transport it on account of professional. We can't live up to our -- like that that banks and countries that. The book and I'm looking for were. -- and Bogart played a key to it so far and go back to the ball tortures that you don't get the shot away or go to. School well at night it's like -- book he had no I I think out of that just won't elaborate more. One thing about both of them. When they fill out. You know especially -- cattle because authority hidden home run threatened with a doubles yeah fundamentals are what's -- up to now they're both doubles going to be homers you know when he talked about fifty -- On they'll do everything in their power -- your -- millions they bill a break the bank for him and he'd be one that it looks the image surely -- it is always going to be at all. Let's oh -- All the approve this -- and. That ended at its interest in what they're gonna do them because. This is kind of almost -- oh -- where. Both of their natural positions were shortstop and I. And eight days the Orioles have to figure JJ hardy's going to be a free agent whether they resigning him and he's had a good season and they movement shot -- back to shorter whether he stays at third and Fred -- something on the nod to the point where it is somewhat similar ours is -- it's going to be shortstop or third baseman meant about it. But the local. Mine that. Actually. It's funny. I was watching him today in the dugout few shots they had a problem com and I mean I I think every time -- gas goes out there. I think he takes it is a step back for him or step back in the guise of -- Farrell and management. That we've got to get their vote got things here and if both got it yet different pressures what do we think from so far. Just yeah -- very small sample. But just what I expect -- expect to come out and you know just that light it up and hit you know late in place he started the season we know that when -- -- last. So no surprises with with the Bogart's I do want to see more bomb. Our middle Brooks want to -- has -- So I don't know how that's gonna play out I would. And you also get Stephen Drew that's been hitting -- yeah hitting lefties -- will be better now that's. -- -- Or -- -- -- druze and he's like Brian. -- just -- it gonna collapse. Our. Well I personality I mean and it's a kid you know a year ago who -- you know -- had a job where you job security if nothing else and it hasn't turned out that way and he was no reason to attack at a lot longer than he thought he'd be. And I think that -- doubts and mr. -- who. At that point but in the wake up call that up. -- go Gary sir you are depressed or whoever her eyes well yeah yeah guy is united in a magazine decent and they are not done. He's he's great the -- he -- I congratulate. Ideas thanks for the call Peter yet Bogart's might take -- urges like you know aids and talking it. Jokester go on Dave O'Brien around the team every single day what strikes them and is that. Which it also pays very well spoken for twenty world -- mature beyond his years in and also seems to be a guy and I asked the guys on the pregame show this. Today our most guys a little room 20/20 1 -- evening if vitamin you mid twenties. You know upset about playing time or they're different roles he doesn't seem to. Be bothered by that. And Bradley -- did you both still young guys. -- you know it just seemed to have nice even even kill personalities. You wouldn't find -- such young players who have had you know. Tries you know try called up to the big leagues and an -- you know Bradley -- Bogota but those guys. That a personality and their approach and the way they addressed the media when this vote took. They they sound mature beyond their -- And what was interesting last now the star of the game -- after the game. When asked who he he gets most of his advice from on his approach. -- it's mentioned Daniel Nava. Which is just. To me it's fascinating because here you got a guy. That was cut every step of the way the red sex pick up for a dollar from independent league baseball and then you've got Bogart's has been his prized prospect can't miss guy. In that last caller asked about Manning the shot oh well yeah he's. These are I would expect him just do you keep getting better and better and -- some of those doubles historical and for home runs and goes out that Freeman Bogart's. He too weak Intel is a lot of filling out to know what he's X ray yeah man. Had just money animated. Another 45 years or even less committees should be you would think I mean look at always -- play out this way but. Thirty home run potential for him I it's real quick before the break it will play what David Ortiz had to say he seems to bit. Getting up the Schneider after the pass a couple of games he had to its 93 today Steve that can continue against better pitching in the tigers but. Where -- is a solid day today -- will -- what he had this. If you do the right thing -- Napa you know the way these things and ways and it left especially you know so. It was fine it was -- it was what it was in Afghanistan and nothing much you can do your perfect world would you not -- to list them. -- for -- and another ran it. Go more fingers. It isn't -- just. Some people against a lineup like this. Johnny. So burdensome to. Well. I won't say intimidate them where he wore them out. Because. Retaliate goal seven pitches. -- get one here. What I get that -- Then now very much to -- Trying to get appreciate it. That's David Ortiz after the Red Sox 76 win over the White Sox today at Fenway it's John -- let him make -- another segment left but. There in the segment will be talking what might try to one of the busiest guys. In the business of WEEI dot com he was at Gillette Stadium today and at Fenway Park today which is usually the case with drags. So will be targeting him up next about the Red Sox and the patriots coming up after the break.

Audio On Demand

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Rep…

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Heath Evans, NFL Network: The Impact of Revis and Browner on the Patriots Defense

Heath Evans of the NFL Network joins Mut and Lou to talk how Revis and Browner impact the Patriots defense, the Vince Wilfork Situation, and the arms race between Denver and New England

Former Patriot Ty Law with Dale, Holley and Fauria

We talk Revis with his friend and mentor, former Patriot Ty Law.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, discussing Rajon Rondo as a color commentator, the NBA draft, and the epic Pacers-Heat game

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston joins Mut, Lou, and Christian to talk about Rajon Rondo in the booth, the rest of the Celtics losing season, and the epic battle between the Pacers and Heat.

Joe and Dave Postgame wit…

Joe and Dave Postgame with Grady Sizemore 04-11-14

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox starting left fielder, Grady Sizemore. grady talks about what it was like to hit a home run off his old teammate, C.C. Sabathia, and his reaction to not seeing Koji on the mound in a save situation.

Dale and Holley: Steve Lyons 4-11-14

Steve Lyons joins Dale and Holley to talk about the Red Sox and Yankees series and Michael Pineda's sticky hand.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: On Pineda's par tar 4-11-14

Kevin Millar makes his weekly appearance to discuss Michael Pineda's apparent pine tar on his hand, the Red Sox loss to the Yankees, and the team's pitching.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the upcoming series against the Red Wings.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, brings us around the NHL 4-11-14

2 games left in the season and the Bruins are in the driver's seat for the President's Cup which is allowing them to coast and get healthy. Pierre McGuire updates Mut and Lou on the possibility of Seidenberg's return and talks about situations elsewhere in the NHL.

Dale and Holley: Jack Edwards 4-10-14

Jack Edwards talks about the Bruins stretch run to the playoffs and rants about the NCAA.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the Red Wings series and the one year anniversary of the Marathon Bombings.

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Joe Andruzzi, Former Patriots OL: Reflecting on the Boston Marathon, 4-15-14

Joe Andruzzi witnessed the attacks first-hand and sprung into action to help others when the blasts went off on Boylston Street. The former Patriots OL joined the show to discuss and reflect on that day.

Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing one year later 4-15-14

Mut, Merloni and Christian Fauria reflect on the tragic events on April 15th 2013 at the Boston Marathon and discuss how the city has changed.

Matt Chatham with Dale an…

Matt Chatham with Dale and Holley: Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

We speak with Matt Chatham, who re-tells his story from that fateful Monday and looks ahead to brighter things, including this year's marathon.

Reflecting on the One-Year Anniversary of the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

Dale, Michael and Steve Lyons reflect back on the event last year, and the good that has taken place since then as Boston came together.

David Abel of the Boston Globe : Remembering Martin Richard through the eyes of the Richard family 4-15-14

We speak with David Abel of the Boston Globe, who penned the incredible piece on the Richard Family in this past weekend's Boston Globe.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Minor Details Ep. 79: The…

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

WEEI WrestleCast: Wrestlemania 30 recap

Scott and Ben recap WrestleMania 30 and talk about the death of the Ultimate Warrior.

Fantasy Football Offseason Podcast #3

It’s been a busy week across the NFL & with the College Football Draft Hopefuls so Jim Hackett & Pete Davidson plowed through as much as you can handle, including news about The Jets & their interest in Chris Johnson, the LSU Pro Day, rumors and news surrounding free agents & recent signings like Santonio Holmes, DeSean Jackson & Nate Burleson. Then it’s all about the 2014 Rookie Wide Receiver class that just continues to grow and impress. There’s a lot here to keep you informed as the offseason heats up and the draft approaches. Get ready!

Boston Strong one year la…

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

More from this show

Brad Faxon gives his take…

Brad Faxon gives his take on Bubba Watson capturing his second Green Jacket 4-14-14

Friend of the show, Brad Faxon, checks in to examine all the Masters action and to evaluate Bubba Watson's performance.

More from this show

Bruins V. Red Wings in fi…

Bruins V. Red Wings in first round of NHL Playoffs 4-14-14

LB joins Mut and Merloni in studio to preview the Bruins first opponent in the playoffs, the Detroit Red Wings.

More from this show

Headlines Headlines Headl…

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

More from this show

Weei Writers