WEEI>On Demand>>Red Sox Review with John Ryder and Lenny Megliola

Red Sox Review with John Ryder and Lenny Megliola

Sep 1, 2013|

Ryder and Lenny Megs discuss the Red Sox victory over the Chicago White Sox tonight at Fenway Park. Boston beat Chicago 7-6 as the Red Sox keep on winning. John and Lenny discuss the hitting of David Ortiz and Jacoby Ellsbury to name a few.

Related Audio:

  1. @Bradfo Show: Sundays with Torey

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Red Sox Bench Coach Torey Luvollo joins the program to talk about Red Sox injuries and the MLB Replay process

  2. The Chris Villani Show: The Failure of MLB Replay System

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Our number two Chris aligning with sports Sunday Sports Radio WEEI 6177797937. Then not all Red Sox some pretty much all Jon Lester threw the first hour lie detectors weighing in on the AT&T tax line on that will get to that just a moment. Out final round of the masters is going on a maturity people. Into getting into what is much science tiger. And without Phil as well he Mickelson showed up I think late Thursday night she flew in and Friday after energy is flied out. With Phil Mickelson. I he had a tough weekend are tough early going Richardson first round in a local guy Keegan Bradley struggled missed But there are some big games of the top the leaderboard some exciting. I young names of the Jordan's BT's twenty years old he's cash to win the masters I he'd be the youngest winner since 1979. LEB younger. Then the tiger was the first time you want it. And one of the things that really stood out to me is speaking with some people were down there this week to cover the toward talks and these young guys and it get back to tiger. The complete and water. Lack of off. Around around Tiger Woods to these guys are too young you think about twenty years old 21 years old with somebody like camera some would like walker. In somebody like Blix the Swedish guys and second right now and he's. He's like 28. You know some of these guys too young to really remember or at least have played with tiger against tiger. When he was hitting level like we never seen before the PGA tour earlier received since Jack. And they look at him now a Zagat shoot 77 on the weekends. Is that cats really contention anymore where is I mean Aaron I'm not old and your and all of you remember when. Final round tigers in the lead it was done forget about it I mean one year in the PGA YE Yang those big shots out late and ended up beating and yet that epic battle with Bob May. I nearly beat him in the PGA but it would for the most part just wasn't close he would get a lead and he was one of the best closers in the we'd seen in the sport. But it's just it's different now that's a different vibe. Around Tiger Woods and it's gone from seemingly a foregone conclusion that he would get to nineteen majors is seemingly foregone conclusion that he won't eat next year. Does play majors this year. Is give forty years old Jack won three. After he needs five Jack won three after forty to two of those were when he was forty and the masters in 986. Was kind of an out Larry's 46 years old. Tiger would be a hall of fame career from here on out five major championship all career to get in nineteen. I think it's interesting not only his fall from grace just as a player. In terms of winning majors the was in my opinion at least the best player on were last year he had five or six wins a torch to win major. But the bigger thing to me is just how some of these younger players perceive him do tiger as a contention it used to be regarded. The average stroke. The average round rather up a stroke in. In in the in the final round on Sundays when tiger was in contention real just kind of melted aged just. Folded around with a few exceptions mentioned Bob revealed in Nickels and it's good battles but. For the most part it was just tiger's world everybody else's playing for second they were on him Ernie Els just not Now is young guys just young enough to cocky enough and don't really remember that at least they didn't play through it. And they're saying how statute 75 on the weekends with what's not ID in the turn now but. I should be upon Sunday Bubba Watson very very likable guy. And I Jordan who were finding out a lot about trying to become the youngest masters winner a long time quick birds update we'll get back to the calls against 617779. 7937. Cordially NC DM IA's doing great to get the good news on him that was definitely a concern that you know DM IAA was. Out I got hit looked like in the that it from I thought it was illegal but not dirty if that makes sense I don't think there was intent to injure there. It was just one of those times you're trying to make a hockey play get the principal point contact up higher and you won it. So I thought it was an illegal hit not a dirty hit but by a help not the that you concussion translated to on the ice Thursday that part we don't know just yet. But Patrice Bergeron it sound like is fine I he missed the third period yesterday that would would have been a huge concern. I outside to go. There's not too many guys you point to and say this more important to the bees and Bergeron two way player in hockey this year. Obvious he's good according to coach Julianne and Chris Kelly looks like still day to day with that back injury so some. Relatively speaking. Minor bumps and Bruce is going into the Stanley Cup Playoffs but you know these guys especially Alec Bergeron if he could be on the ice on Thursday against the red he's going to be there. I HTT tech slide is 37937. It's like grab a few of these real quick a one Dexter says eight times over David Price let Lester walked. While you make Casey price a better pitcher at this stage of his career early younger I can cost more money. And now your bidding against everybody else you've got the cost control guy. Housing cost control we get the guided the under your control rather. The of the exclusive negotiating window with wants to stay here to guide it. As more in depth track record in the post season to sign him. And that point it's not a knock on price and gives great pitcher. But if you're looking at what you can do it even easier than that that will save you some money relative to what price can get on the open market signed last. I know detector can you imagine having Stanton in Boston did it forty plus homers easy architecture from western mass. Two words about prospects Daniel yep they can go hard the other way. I another one here says agree with you order percent top of the rotation guys talk about Lester innings a year post seasons died. Given the cash over five years five for one and should get it done. And out finally is Lester stats are comparable to average career he walked away from 244 million Lester has been better than Homer Bailey and look at the contract. That he just signed a few textures telling me the gets four clocked at. Well evening parade for a UConn for the championships I assume the men and women together out both of them winning the national title. Yes as tougher as Turkey's but happy for Kevin Ollie who now is the next. Hot coaching named to go from college to the end beauty after eight seasons. But undefeated in the NCAA tournament ally guys can say that are at six or 77797937. is in New Jersey he's up next When then. Just try to not cute bit Ali thank you and I can't believe that a low ball. Jon Lester like they don't agree that you like a side impact by one and whatever argument sake. We have been out of my. But you see a lot of contracts for your team that have gone got into the contract stratosphere and some of them have really worked out so well. But for a number like dapper Lester what he's so willing to stay. I agree I was surprised. When I saw what the number was at the end of spring training where the Red Sox know Lester broke off toxin seems like a a low ball contract terms of dollars in a low ball contract thirty years. definitely. god I G I mean lucky probably let out a little bit like that way radio reluctant I had. Yeah I mean yeah I'm with you thanks to the fall being a former yankees fans perspective. They're never shy about spending dollars. That Lester contract is makes sense and I've said this a few times. Because just getting back to this point I do think my gut still tells me they get a Don. Gut feeling they still get this contract done because I hate candidate it player just wants too much just wants to be a Boston too much. You back going to be here at the expense of taking deal it's foolish and a four year seventy to eighty million dollar contract before which. At ball way below market terms years below market terms the average annual There's no upside here it sounded like a Red Sox blown away with a give you four years but here's point six million a year. Which is probably more than you gonna get I guarantee each and every year on the open market that it could at least. I still think Lester would walk away from crystal he'd say no. But I could look at that is saying the Red Sox in good faith effort to try to. Do with last year what they've done with other guys which is over pay an average annual dollars but try to take that discounted terms of the number years seventy. I can't say that. I can't see it as they came under years came under dollars 6177797937. Bill isn't busted up next they've built. They would subject. who visual. You know what about. You guys keep in the world. Could together okay. guys they look at the guys renewed deal if everybody involved. Make him have the option to. Who boarded deals rivals ordered to the guys will. Make it work. So real simple. So three years of his make sure Israelis and three years seventy million. And then assuming he stays healthy another two years at how much. Ordered me at all. That would come out to volley at 5110. About then you know what would actions. YouTube. 120. It was cute guys so. Yeah It it it any guaranteed dollars sport. That that's just not gonna work for the players work for last. Well hope what works right now what made two big guy a two year deal seven million. With a guarantee. Appeared to remain nimble. The two more years of targeted what are enviable. Well let's get. That that that the five year 120 million dollar contract. Where. OK I guess that that's reasonable but I mean you if you're guaranteeing the money that it's not three years in the two years to five years. And yet we could what three years didn't work out three years it will be created numerous believe that you develop very animated. You know. Yeah I mean I like well. I guess I can't get what you in there you know again trial period so to speak at three year seventy million dollar. You know test blown the CP states LP and see if he still producing. The news saying guaranteed fifty million after that which is five for once money. Why would John again you'd think about it okay hometown discount know we heard the operator gets excited about it. to get past the idea of a hometown discount meeting complete insanity. Seventy million dollars even over a three years average dollars a lot of money. But it still. 50% of what can get out in the open market. You know why would I take seventy million guaranteed even for three years when I could just double that six years guaranteed at 140 million. You know six I can get that extra seventy million dollars over three more seasons just to go out in the open market. That would be a great team friendly kind of idea but Lester were being eyed Joseph and Wakefield once the way HL. What they've done so much for the in the you know 78 years. That burning up I don't know are already up at. I agree with UN and the injury concern for me is that they're now we are talking about Clay Buchholz we'd be having added I merely different conversation. But with Lester even a year it was bad in 2012. Still pitch to plus innings. Yeah I mean you don't get a picture wondering about that party and you don't hate you guys brought there get a going to be offered. And I are I think I really like the attitude that you just want the behavior I don't understand why the Internet situation black. We're not talking about giving the guy a 140. I'm not all that with the amount of money more book like the object audit. Well he had I think the Red Sox kind of Hewitt in the regard as well that's why I wasn't completely floored when he said OK if we here opera was the most that they had. I'll put out there by the time they broke off negotiations. But I'd be and neighbor of 400. Yell now and a and a big. Average annual value a Ford seventy for is an opera that you know the players get a that's an opera that it's designed to be turned out. Yeah independent though they looked like but based on the yacht I don't know it. All the the PR stunt getting negative PR because I think I had tickets ridiculous they have any Lester did lie to me if he blocks away at the end of the day. And and the Red Sox look back and in the end flick back and say. And they could of they could negotiate they could out of spring training but the only opera percent beat the teams the only one's gonna look bad that's an. Aerial my opinion darker integrated you know integrated I'm sorry you know it made it. It's the same age and it did Dustin Pedroia has I can't think of his name off my head to similar Pedroia as we negotiated down discounts the This situation it is thought here we cannot I mean update completely done park are now completely. It sounds like till the end of the season got to do have an exclusive negotiating window. Went thanks for the college and they've exclusive negotiating window with Lester. After the season is over and that it's free agency. But you know in my mind even if the Red Sox were come back with a big number in the fall. But it even gets to. Reagents even gets to the point were other teams are our ticketing contracts are offers a Lester you're probably spending more than what you have spent. It just get the deal done now. You just avoid any possibility any any chance did you rate in the another team another suitor and unlike David Ortiz we can't you know we had a debate about Ortiz is going to be even a market that is. And I thought maybe lot of people but absolutely now. That's fine with Lester there's no debate right. I mean when I can debate the fact that it thirty year old going on 31 year old lefty it's starting pitcher with a great post season track records that market. We know that that's the case there's going to be money thrown at this. So you have the opportunity. To not only negotiate exclusively with him up or you even touch or even Free agency. It to get an offer on the table to sign this guy if they're not able losing the player beat. I signing into a deal that maybe goes outside their comfort zone because now they worry about free agency not to worry about other offers them. You could have made a better fate in my mind decide than these reported figures in at these numbers are right you know he's not taking. It's an it's designed to be refused to keep brought out their deceit it's a hit proper. I don't think organ necessarily buy that I think that this mark baseball banner that. That they and as long as you're in line with keeping Lester some cables don't want that at any high price and that's fine that's your opinion I disagree by. It any band that wants Jon Lester back is valued at his team. It and understand just what the market is looking for the seventy's at It's an insult. Text messages committed 37937. AT&T like. Texas is Red Sox have too many pitches in the system they had the upper hand. Now that it's does its thing is too many pitchers in this is have a lot of starting pitching depth they have a lot of potential. As allowed by hope and is better than Jon Lester obese Kerr shot why not. But you know what you have in Jon Lester. You don't know what you have yet Henry and that goes to my point of if you're gonna have some of these cost control pre arbitration arbitration guys up. Lester got the money to do. He could have a a lot of money coming off the books over the next read of where years. Yet a pitcher John Lackey threw for 500000 dollars on next season. In NA and it not a salary cap sport but it sport I care about a 189 million dollar luxury tax threshold for the at least they're from last. I that to take three years the market's already at five to six. years as Lester won't get 140 on the open market I disagree I think he will. I the Texas is give Lester one of these two deals. Or for a hundred or seven and 12611. if the offer candidate for for a hundred then I would say you know the Sox made an effort. They made shots try to sign him and take battled down discounted terms of the year when it for par seventy it. and a few text is going back to a couple calls as a wide world Lester take three year deal and a trial period. We can get five years guaranteed and I completely agree this is an interesting text here get this one before the break. I you know I'm not entirely sure why everyone has the phrase 110 for five I should get it done because he had no idea. What will get it done in theory. Yet that would be a hometown discount. 111 for five years an option six and eight I have no way of knowing. Whether that would get it done so he's looking at 5110. I just keep coming back that number because I look at. What the market would probably and keep going back to guys like Cole Hamels you know reasonable comparable to last year's regular season numbers I see six. In 144. EC 23 and change per year so take roughly that average annual value. 43 in his case it's going to take a year back it five years old hometown discount. But he's not leaving and and the billions of dollars That's why I come back to that number I'll get it done I have no idea what I'd be willing to go to say. 150 over 520 million a year probably. Start pushing diablo or we'll talk. You see what the number but a number I have in mind. And a lot of people have in mind they think 22 million a year twenty to 22 million a year years and college day. Five years a 10210 million dollars 6177797937. The point though I had no idea we don't know. What gets I can tell you this though. Ward seven he doesn't get it on told you that before knowing. That that was the for the Jon Lester turned out we get back to your calls coming up next we'll talk war. A Red Sox get to the Bruins as well and what touch and the Celtics before the end of the show as well get to 4 o'clock Chris Blondie with Sports Radio. WE yeah.

  3. Chris Villani on the Lester Contract Situation

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Villani doesn't understand the Red Sox' approach to the negotiations with Jon Lester for an extension. Sure, you have to start somewhere, but their offer was so off base, it was almost insulting. He wonders if the Red Sox truly want Lester in the future and if they don't, WHY!?!

  4. Butch and Buck on Sports Sunday: "It's a nice problem to have", but what will the Sox do in the outfield when Victorino Returns

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    The Red Sox will have the proverbial log jam in the outfield when Shane Victorino returns - what should they do? Send Jackie Bradley back down, make a trade or something else...Butch and Buck discuss.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Basis Red Sox review on the WTI. Sports Radio network. It's a recap of the Red Sox and White Sox. Swing and -- -- pulled in right field line drive base hit down the line one runners in Ellsbury scores here comes victory you know. Ortiz sitting in the second slides in with a double but was stopping -- third two more runs in their third season back on the beam. He has done it again in the Red Sox have just doubled their lead it is now Ford and I think Boston. Red Sox revue with John Ryder. He is the 12 home. Swing and a high fly ball well hit right center but there is Quentin buried underneath he makes -- catch the ball game is over. The Red Sox have won again and today they sweet. The Chicago White Sox 76 the final. And another save her Koji we are who is now put together 24 consecutive scoreless innings. Now John right there and Red Sox are you on the -- you guys sport's -- network. Grinder today. John Ryder -- and I am happy you know this is one of those firsts. Because I'm usually solo on these red sex abuse in fact -- have been all season and most times but. -- to have the great -- Magglio. In studio would mean of course Lenny. Longtime writer for the metro -- daily news and also you can check out his work in the Boston Globe into in the baseball journal -- Finally together back on -- weekend it is a giant like two ships passing in ninety yes he's here yes absolutely crazy schedules and today was it's. The somewhat similar to Friday where you're just expecting you know -- -- scored early -- all right they're gonna. Not only at three in the fourth on Friday and donated for the second he kinda just expect -- they use in labs would blow away -- team and is a -- bad -- To close as they just give passed this quite sexting which scores six runs guerrilla doesn't have much of an attack. Not a good and I am not a great pitch for Iran to Bryant to stay in rotation buckles -- the future. LLC I think it's between him and -- I still think two bronze had a better season in Dempster yeah I agree and -- Bryant in his previous two starts. Has been it was terrific you know especially San Cisco which was one of the worst attacks and in baseball bud. You know it's it's it's never tell me think that and I was saying the -- in the game actually every time you think that he's made that step in matured. All of a sudden you know takes a step back in in at times seems disinterested not only from. Game -- game but sometimes from ending the inning that was two steps back and I think you know forward for an author of four -- true and I -- -- not only get three and two thirds four runs and seven and it's just the one walked. Were strikeouts but. Still I think that it's you know when it when it comes to his policies roster of courses is still going to be all mapped out an iron out it looks like anyway Lanny. Though the way things are going and they're gonna avoid this one game playoff and I know that there's still. Just about a full month baseball to go here. But right now of -- is complete that -- that being that would mean the Red Sox would be five and a half up on the race. And that -- and kind of suddenly with the race had closed the gap to. True and there and westerners or what job they're going out west and it's proven not fatal but not agree it's not for them out there and got two more stops today can look at this a couple of different ways the red sex and tomorrow they play. That's their final Monday they have deployed at every single Monday -- for the rest of the season while Tampa Bay. But playing. A bunch of games so you look at that a couple of different ways well -- could pick up ground where they could lose ground but the other part of this is. The stamp is on the road for the Balkan rest of the season including this West Coast trip while the Red Sox. Still play pretty good portion of their schedule at home. And do have some time off to get some rest as well I'll have a lot I mean what do we its schedule really. I mean even. The on the road trip two games Colorado on this kind of weird but you know what. No complaints about anything acoustic now -- -- -- believe that we all have immunity to a 56 I had him at 83 wins that they get that tomorrow. That's that's an accomplishment yet you don't get any awards for that reaching eighty wins before the month of August is out. Up from 69 yeah -- see a turnaround so I I'm sorry but you have to be. Anyone that tells me are and his team paid for ninety wins now well I know Mikey did but me he get he hasn't had 92. Every so I met them you -- probably will win 92 I know exactly or maybe even more than that there will -- -- in Atlanta and now it's it's -- bin. You know a fine team to watch. And the talk I know and nick -- have a couple of pieces about the attendants. Telling half John brought a new way I look at it. That doesn't in Kate lack of interest I don't know you you hang around a lot of people we -- after the show and it talks fourth inning like that and I mean at this that created a buzz I mean is that if it's not indicative by. 37000. Every night look we don't know the -- you were -- and this year. So there at 3334. On most nights and I think they will be the rest of September you with the kids in school. I mean that tells you you know people have caught on to this team in -- of light that I -- never Rego. I see them watching and listening to the games and and talking about it right so. If they haven't jumped on yet I think that -- as -- if it hasn't happened yet you might think well it's not ever gonna happen but it will especially if they're not forced. All eyes would be appealed no matter what on a one game playoff but if they avoid that. Is there any you know clear cut Detroit people probably look at Detroit they're the clear cut favorite but. Red Sox might have. They have a better bullpen I think Boston does the Detroit and yeah in Detroit has to be concerning this lingering abdominal issue as Miguel Cabrera missing a game again. A Verlander was good today. But he has been the same country has been in the pressures -- has been erased that get mr. gonna market said the Red -- About that publicly and they -- Salem a series they missed a Greinke encouraged her out of a missing a lot of the better pitchers show. Unless they're both senator thinks so that that's fine maybe that's kind of a kiss -- of the whole season right but you know they got to get good pitching once again in the postseason and you know moved four -- -- -- -- and he made three pitches to talk about I I just mentioned at the top provoked him to do Bryant. You know if you -- you -- rotation. Com. Don't know I think in playoff seasonable and. Yeah and probably Dempster and it is as well -- out there where it ended and so much changes now on buckles but you would if all goes well. You know be some combination of buckles PV Lester and Lackey Donald -- will be the LB rotation show. And you know it and -- filed buckles can go and you know it's been awhile and you know as if they -- 45 innings out of him you know in a game that. You know when -- five games up and he's got it throws he's ready to go -- and put Amanda LA San. So they say September 10 -- for those of you wondering as well. The report on -- Jacoby Ellsbury left the game there after after the eighth inning it was replaced by Quintin Berry the -- out on the outfield. And I jammed his thumb on that swing in the eighth inning there's some swelling to John Ferrell says he expects. Ellsbury to play tomorrow and victory you know you thought -- -- -- -- at least added as you always think it's that that lingering hamstring it was damp from his hip but he he also expects victory -- -- that's a concerned. The with the victory -- -- -- forty plays so hard and he's been playing heard but it did. They can't they can't have him I'm sure he'll be he'll be one of her awhile to be part of the post season but. -- yours worried about those guys and in lingering injuries -- victory and has been incredible mission you know I I was talking you know. -- a lot somewhere along the way by. -- that may have army kept the average are up and you know clutch player and terrific -- -- right field last year. He's he's got and to me is gonna make the case for a player of the month for this one for the month of August up extra points on news right. I should mention his name too he says Ryder Annabel Sanchez has been as good insurers -- Norman has give but it does lead the American League and ERA yeah how many he's been he's been if not. Equal I think scherzer right now is is the Cy Young award winner -- I don't crush. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- Avoid on every team wants divorce that one day issued output as a fast you know today. This -- program is just way they're playing now again if it's one of the best streaks and yet still no long losing speech on and not what they're the only team it's incredible the only team in Major League Baseball has had not has not had a longer than a three game losing jobs and and that's that's incredible look at the Braves -- even have more wins than you know -- have a little funk -- period but that was like two months ago. -- played well now it's been. Been a great season and and again. -- the attendance although they have not a full house today. Weekends are always going to be good front on the war but -- -- I you know in terms of concern that this. And this -- caught on with with good nation yeah I think it has I think it has. Yeah I still think there that portion of non believers they just think oldest teams to it would mirrors now you get to this point -- easier for real if if you're 82 and 56 at this point don't have been doing it would Mary's they should be applauded even more -- aren't noticed it's that's been far and the started pitching depth you look I -- to Bryant struggled today about heading into this. TV Lester all these guys have been been. Automatic sure I don't think anyone's complain about the peavy deal right now -- might be it trade it works out for all three teams yeah absolutely but no previous benighted terrific you know last night and I mean you. Thereafter they're the two runs he said that's it -- shut him down and he'd -- he's terrific. Let's get to the calls here's Phillip and -- -- Philip. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- It looks good I mean not you look at the schedule. Now the meat and potatoes I think got. I might be seeing. Preview the jail yet with Detroit and bought this probably -- -- the labor with the club. Yeah well I mean they hour and -- and it's pretty good both teams I don't think I mean if one team sweeps the other. A big deal is going to be men and all of the Red Sox if they lose three in a row to the tiniest -- you know maybe this is the you know of the habit you have Q following. I don't look at it that way in. I think if -- with two out of three not to make any rash conclusions -- and that I mean they're so close onto a post season we've got them both in the postseason things can change as a whole different season as we now pay to return the return of Jose Iglesias to -- more on. Be great -- the other thing aged got to you know -- -- All -- street sweepers on that end game what. Okay they might asserted her -- of them in imagine if you -- Baltimore. In New York fighting -- that sec I'm still not a believer the Yankees the Baltimore three and a half in back of Tampa Bay for the second wildcard with Tampa Bay misses out altogether. But anyway getting back -- point. You know somewhat frustration for camper I mean they won't the first two games ward three we want. I think most would wanted to send it wouldn't create again. -- looking at the scoreboard you know analyst Colson since I'm a bit if I mean you know this is unbelievable. Added as the red sex keep winning close games they keep losing close games they have Alex Cobb the other night -- distance but they lose to one contests they've David Price pitch well in the opener but lose -- need more. -- -- -- In the its support in the sweet -- Seattle. You know what not but that -- my -- -- one month old days ago in that thing is ideal bullet -- swing as we know the it's a great they -- the image. The situation which we are all will be five and eased up a people -- You know and I -- when you get that one game playoff with federal opted out winning the division but again after he -- we go to New York that we all the war. So it. -- -- well you know like they still they still do have three left against Tampa -- the red sex them in Tampa. Saint -- you know and I am really sick tomorrow -- ball -- -- Baltimore will play a role as they always do with the Red Sox to determine some sort of -- -- don't get there that'll actually got data to all the more random -- -- -- To gamer against Colorado where they have two days off -- is sandwiched in between it. It's going to be interest in in but the thing is -- been -- now this last month that it can be almost like playoff it was like in children sang it. While cut Baltimore and New York -- quite a child or where it can be -- it sort of Beatrice. -- -- -- it's terrific it's going to be terrific and even to pay attention as well. In his Detroit Boston series. -- out of these two teams are badly you look at how look how close it is in terms of the standings. With these teams red sex at 82 and 56 the tigers and eighty in 57 and even text that 79 and 57. Where it ends of that Bay's best record ends up with a home field advantage that's going to be huge for the Red Sox home field management posts nice gift from my my can realists and they thank you very much trying to the Grand Slam him in the night and day out there I want. Ben what was the -- yet. They can't they get prompt effective through -- bit of back into the bullpen thanks -- I thought Detroit ever -- the Red Sox are gonna make a move. To add another -- MPs at that Detroit even though it's tougher and it when you when you're you know. Top two respective teams make in those waiver moves is that sometimes can be a little top I'm a news. It mildly surprised that the Dodgers who were able to get Michael Young through waivers I thought it was Stockton where it was by apparently not like -- by his own. And wanting to it and he wanted to beast -- here in deal in place to go to was. -- the Red Sox have reportedly I think that might have started to wane after middle Brooks and now to Brian being called up I think that interest in the and Napoli had a little bit better that that interest started to wane a little bit on I'm Michael Young. By and I think the Yankees were interested. The Dodgers end up grabbing -- -- can play both quarter infield spots and not not a great defender buddies in -- for workers -- some interest in waiver was the pirates made a bunch -- -- you know. Including Justin Morneau room for the pirates held here in the central. Yes -- not we are mad for so for so long but I. I think everyone and allies keep it if you can pick a World Series. And component and teams facing -- I know everyone around here would mean terrorists thought Saturday unanimously picked the reds Red Sox Dodgers out of our fun would that would be great. They were great. Very possible very possible I don't know why but in an ever and a lot of people reportedly in and there I think it's going to be another one of these seasons where Atlanta will finish with the best record in baseball one of these seasons. And and our candidate going back some ways that -- and so many times would it ever and said all right visit you know though do. Gonna be the World Series champion and end up falling short with a one exception in 95 but. Where I think you're gonna end up with the best record but deal bill and up fallen out post season. I'm Dakota news. Which Upton had a lousy season and a post on these -- cause he's just another it was a house of fire. To begin the season but they also have Craig Heyward -- -- broke -- got they strike out they do they do bet they -- after all available cramped. No they're Baltic Kimbrel and best best in baseball was evident and baseball and usually you look at those teams that win championships for the most bored I saved. 90% of the timers so you have that solid bullpen and speaking of that public Koji or are and this is amazing it. This stretch that he's -- -- I was can joke would you watch it indeed today as the hapless Whiteside squeeze it well at some point but. I just think about it. You had -- out of sight out of mind and Hanrahan goes down. Bailey goes down on any thoughts of Daniel board of reclaiming a -- -- and spot and that's the sad story it's another note from today designated for Simon but. Who are now 24 straight scoreless innings. And tie this all together lady that's the longest streak since Daniel Bard back in 2011 at 26 and that there were. And -- with unbelievable let you know. Off an incredible you know you can and you can't touch the guy a streaky assignment and -- -- on the same and talking animal -- -- Friday night through an interpreter I receive my Japanese as low life but. You know these are the keys this is both strikes he says are only 27 outs and game the other throw strikes and he even -- Nothing complicates his spanking it in there. Pretty much work fast throw strikes throw strike one and and it's worked. I meant -- says -- Craig Heyward iron had plays for the Braves this takes to -- Jason. That happens. -- all these different sports names jumbled up and yes yes. I was getting my running backs confused and Atlanta well it's got together and iron head reference content I was still around the -- The you're Japanese they speak perfect Japanese -- all wake me to well I -- I give prime in my current Japanese with I usually wearing a kimono and it's -- annual Labor Day tradition for you and I mentioned to senator turnarounds -- organic and army. Take your -- out before entering the studio. Here's a -- in the curry Karl. -- I think there. Hey John thinks all the work you've done out here and you're very consistent than your great job. They -- with the exception of mixing up Jason Heyward and Craig Heyward but that's that's not my first mistake or will be my last. Now you're second particular particular this cult you brought up Bogart. There a deal that. Well you know the giants. Use the Iron Man so he had time. I'm head on his -- yes what's already got. They have not let but the bottom overnight gains and has to go in Q perhaps some you know as of October baseball. -- -- -- -- important victory you know and apple -- -- you looked down and may you live longer you know we we -- out there app which Al Ortiz. And I don't those who take a lot of a longer Mickey ought to one through 56. Either -- -- -- it's gonna send at him now. He -- -- -- guys that are seeing that you got that going off days. You know acting a little bit harder for the public and pictures and I mean we're -- Italy and articles she's in close to each well equipped. Didn't really feel like until recently but no he's got to get their act like except. It's a little bit longer it goes out. Yet does except for the guys that really throw strikes we saw that with Tillman they've got to. They almost have that they've done it a couple of times where they flip the switch they did against -- correlated against review of the Dodgers guys that throw strikes where they ended up. Swinging early in counts as opposed to and trying to wait these guys out that's gonna be. That one factor with this office thanks for the call -- in the compliment as well. That that's to me is really going to be intriguing in the post season it's always tough and runs typically you're at a premium but we've seen that this season -- -- first off it's tough be the best like David Price and some of the top guys. And it and of course there might be a chance the reds I don't -- faced Tampa Bay in the -- -- still gonna go up against stellar pitching. Say it's you know Detroit insurers or whoever might be. That that's going to be -- you see what their attack is is like but the other part is is in. Let's -- referenced in this Liddy it is amazing I mean just about everything. But like Midas for bench Harrington this out season just about all these pickups and his scrappy pickups. It's somewhat similar although hopefully it is it's better result. Remember in 95. On all people go protect it for Dan -- all those scrappy players -- unexpectedly ended up winning the America pleased that Mike Carp. Daniel -- playing a huge role on this team you look at the depth they can -- -- different lineups against lefties or right eighties. And pretty much work and -- pretty good. GM and he has been searching for as possible it was a year yeah. And -- you are just kind of completes it to you know. If they well geez you know we don't have all of went on got -- -- reunion having -- -- and you know it maybe a seventh inning -- -- anything guy right. But to lose two closest. And to have him. You know I'm not an afterthought when -- turn -- when I'm -- John what we say well good -- he has some you know where we Needham and. You know he states today and save a lot of days it feels like he should have more than sixteen saves just because. He's been so effective actor and others that's flawed situation is just incredible one point 17 year rate. That this is what's mind numbing because CDs guided only players this deal is two pitches sweaters. Dynamic. But nine walks in 83 strikeouts. I -- that off the charts that he got it in any language that's off the charts and it is it is I don't know what. And translate that Japanese but we know it's. Whatever it is I will will roll on here were all the way up until 8 o'clock its job router along with. Lenny meg they Lola stepping away from Giacomo is -- ponds on this evening to join me in the studio. And will be rolling on up until 8 o'clock and 6177797937. He -- text this AT&T -- landed 37. 937. Also as soon as we get it -- were waiting up post game audio for by John Ferrell. And smothers who placed on an app before -- make our way out of here at 8 o'clock Baltic brigade is sports landscape cut up on that. Raising his game some some news there in Oakland in the bottom of the seventh. Now we'll get that update right now. I'd like walking every deep left center fairway -- backed by the flood wall at it. Not a home. He hit the camera well out there off home run review those pounds back on the field in the Red Sox now lead at five -- me. Like the Pearl Jam -- tickets to go see Pearl Jam on October 15 when he I wonder that will end up being a dilemma. The reds side so I know what you have to do return yes there could sell those tickets are pretty good price and then come here and work about it. The drew take I'm sure Stephen Drew listens to a lot of -- -- seems like that type. That your country you know last I don't know what this song is when he gets up I really haven't -- and so. Gonna pay attention yeah -- put that on your list of things to do any. I -- S drew with a home run his eleventh of the season. He won one reportedly. Five on base but the reds I just knew I felt like -- at this diarrhea and so they're gonna promise. They even go on into that -- -- over some of the Stanley -- and crushed his guys and they ended up doing that. The problem was that too broad struggle. Well Houston pounded a -- troops on the fourth and continue get beat by the Astros yes that is. -- -- What do hodgepodge is -- six team yeah it's it's it's very sad -- or flight the White Sox you know I like Chicago with city and I like teams sort of Barack Obama although we can't name any players on. Nokia world he has more and more important things to the -- dividends and memorize and die in this he would host name. He put it -- David Diana honesty in the Gloria. I only have. All right 6177797937. You can text this is well at 3793. Civil be hearing from John -- here momentarily. The a's have a 31 lead on -- race the top of the eighth inning. He -- it. The company Coco Crisp has been terrorizing Tampa Bay in this series is sixteenth home run and Brandon Moss what -- season he's had -- power policies and out and just one further note and we -- missile bit. Dale bar that's sad he just I mean it's all mental. I was the boss just can't get over the plate and to think. This is why sports you just never -- to think just a couple years back I mentioned a scoreless streak. That he would be designated for assignment in order to make room for what is a pinch runner and -- Berrian on the forty man roster yeah. You know I tried the same thing as a history guy that was one of the most valuable players on the team when he was at its peak. And it comes down to bring you guys who -- knocked it in that at all years someone to pinch run. For Ortiz and by itself out of the picture. How would you Trace that back to you and this is gonna happen anyway it would buy it. All you Trace it back to trying to make you know insulting to -- a style he had an estimate and that's wages became completely unglued yeah harder than going back to the bullpen. The industry's impacted that at bat just touch on that. You know he didn't have a long run is -- stop their necessarily. Marrying. The debt to credit work and so many other pitches and in daily news trying different mechanics it. And it APEC at a mall screwed up I -- so I think there is something to that but again you witness not to follow fallout would have been well history you know the one. -- with a guy like that is interesting announces the play psychologist which reduce sometimes it's Sports Radio but sometimes it. Late in China it Daniel Bard and I'm guessing did much better on his SAT is that Jonathan Papelbon and a couple bodies had some struggles this is about. Sometimes the don't you find this sometimes guys import -- diseases by all accounts and reverence has great guy and -- he's very Smart but sometimes. We see this in sports a lot. Yeah we're apart or guys just completely over think things it'd just that it gets -- -- messed up mentally instead of just evident. You know short term memory. Well have a bond never have a thought in his brain ever so I mean I vet yeah and I think closes kind of have to be that way I mean you kind of closed everything Audi a mine and and you know thank you know you got good stuff you know you can throw at 9596. And you know you don't have to get three outs so what is the -- taking command. Now you know problem hasn't you know it act did Eric had its troubles you know -- to stop there. With the congress and then becomes a hall of Famer as a reliever felt I don't think there's any rhyme -- reason. But bottom line as you said the topic of conversation and I mean this is really set what's happened to I -- -- -- -- you know still young. Maybe someone will give mudslides are no note I have completely dead arm at eleven the Bellagio know happened and in helped by India's. Good guys in the clubhouse nice quiet guy. And it's a shame that -- he blasted -- to this degree and he's gonna get a new stats somewhere well. He could still be here with this organization -- -- still and I guess -- a -- yet the waivers knowing -- know my question no question but I don't think -- team out there would take that the chance on him thinking. All right we'll get him straighten out all he needs a change of scenery you'll be all right okay who takes root a -- first on Danny about her Tim Tebow. -- Yeah yeah I think about down until -- hey you know what about this on the same I don't know what this means. I don't think it means anything but. Fab Melo and Tim Tebow clear waivers on the -- -- -- Hard to stay down on account. Eight and -- -- -- we still have delayed o'clock we get into that a little bit if you want to have a -- now. I had -- to hit Tim Tebow you know one thing I was sick and it and I'm happy he's -- I mean I I I just didn't feel like putting up with this season. All right he's not sitting there on the sidelines if there's a goal line situation. And after. After games whenever. Talking about -- Tebow should have been in the game minute situation or maybe they can use Tim Tebow at fullback maybe they can use him. At tight end where you what do they get to do -- Tim Tebow we don't have to deal of that throughout an entire season. Yeah I agree I mean I just for his own peace remind all he takes everything well -- -- yeah yeah -- he's just he's just that way nothing's gonna face him. My you know I wish to BA and NFL starting quarterback is -- It's a pipe dream made a really is now because -- look at it right. I mean the the Florida system that he worked on that was built around him and and made him success strong Heisman Trophy now -- right. But you know it's different now in I thought all things are possible and they said we -- all shocked when they brought him aboard tonight. And I thought well OK maybe the balanced. They'll just got to -- Favre might. And was charged -- -- you might not even be here I think we we can conclude that it might have been a favor ballot -- well I. I think accommodation -- I think Belichick who has been a fan of -- of Tim Tebow NCs. You know he loves those guys with the with great work ethic in in good character guys so yeah there are a combination of factors see what I can do with this guy and -- and you know kind of this off the rest of the NFL all right you know maybe like the deuce on the new year -- let me give T Tivo -- -- -- -- the game the shot and and it failed. It is and we'll see if he moves on -- keep sane world Jacksonville is going to be that team but the GM ever since. He arrived -- well pretty stock agents and I know ownership would have final say -- -- -- completely empty stands that are struggling maybe they -- bring about -- -- -- Tebow should start singing oh Canada. Yeah I don't even know about that because that's. I was possibility. Or you don't -- for wanting but I mean if if it more of a passing league there right exactly and and maybe could you know I mean obviously it worked for Doug -- by the army that that the whole different types of what I hear these comparisons actually yesterday it was a I heard this. And Sports Radio in if Flutie is that you can't even compare Doug Flutie in terms of is passing and his style as a quarterback gathered both used their feet -- -- us much more fluid passer and much better mechanics and Tebow. Yeah but -- and turn -- are where they came -- Flutie went through three teens through. And then went to camp there and you know and just knocked everybody -- I understand -- you know and and then you know who bears -- you know teams stricter flies on them and patriots a couple of yeah exactly so. I think it would benefit him right -- the -- is depressingly. But the fact that. He counts Tebow comes to New England with mcdaniels and and Belichick John and and they can't straighten them out -- -- league and everything went -- if they can't do it you know the genius and and a guy who drafted him in Denver and it's still didn't work in New England. You know unless some team yeah I Jacksonville something like that you know it may happen -- nice to be here down to Florida for a few more. Seats. You Mora finance in this stance so I mean they could look at it that way but I don't look to see him. The NFL any time -- -- pacers have some interest in cuts sizzle than -- go after those in my situation my money situation. Today they like go Leon Washington -- Will probably be scooped up by someone though he will you hand they they've added some players that I have. No clue -- some guys have been Braxton cave Zander I hope he makes adjust and name alone like that Randy Braxton cave and princess there's amateur and it asked the perfect. Right before the break and we will play John -- come up and get to the rest -- calls here's Keith in bed pretty -- -- guys I wanted to talk baseball Saturday in -- no no that's what we're we're -- will perform. Hey -- Lenny can we -- Comodo it to the that shows museum with those terrorist fans. That the it was a battle okay don't don't worry about it and I hit it out I know that's their own planet Mikey I'll tell our place in Texas I -- -- I knew something about -- I didn't. I think that. It's gonna -- at the better and better Ellsbury plays. -- -- -- more likely use is to be signed -- didn't honestly say he would. Shave his head that he was signed. I don't know I think -- dead. I mean image in my head -- knots and I I really think he's delegates on. Well who besides somewhere. Might not be here I think they'll be interest but he's he's making. -- assumed he just wants money. But he may want something more than that like happiness and he certainly have a good time. He said -- multiple opportunities sign on -- -- that city he -- await this line. That is Scott Boras in Ellsbury both planes came to winning this lying in order that would take a hometown discount it and it out like you. Are right I mean there's there's no way that he's taken this line so he could all of a sudden just. Cash in on a hometown discount to play for the Red Sox and maybe they maybe they do open the checkbook if they don't feel lake. Jackie Bradley is going to be that well let's hope that's you right there -- Seen is seventeen or eighteen there's there's there's no question about it and dumb and he may have a deferred so he doesn't make -- Pedroia looked bad you know what I mean. Well yeah all things yeah. What -- I don't think -- dedicated to it Ellsbury advice and other bodies but what -- what does that have to you know I think -- -- you know Red Sox gave -- ten years then not to all right I want an area close to that you know show. Yeah I had no he's -- he had second -- ten years right you know I think the uses overriding factor is not a lot of teams that in contention and and -- top like the Red Sox. Where that you know Ellsbury having the kind of year. Minus that power base and by the house is now whenever seven stolen bases. How they get Jackie Bradley not a lot of teams ever prospect like that. To step in now who knows Bradley may take couple years Brett you know they still high on him obviously. As they are on both rats and I think Mel Brooks gets rated this year and happier packets go straight after somebody now it probably gonna work he's just. Heidi struggling to end Jeremy came back. Hitting fairly well. And but -- I'm just not sure about them I don't think he's refined and atlas that offers -- swing oh yes coalition within Bogart's. Libya exactly the problem morbid third baseman but I think it's 6040 now in my mind that -- racecar on. But you know again it wouldn't shock me if you know he's points you know made some sense when it comes to dolls. Yeah I is that there's so many teams out there and and we know there's a week we see this in the he's going to be making ninety plus somewhere -- -- I've said this a number of times several it'll automatically -- the Yankees but they've got. Somebody's somebody's situations deal with the A-Rod contract mask knows of freeagent but they'll Phillies. Might have the pension -- of the they've done the past that they might be shying away from that is well. The Mets they can always get involved Seattle by you know Brian Cashman doesn't and that -- Jack Burke what do you want -- -- saying you know you know there actually congress and a little more value luxury -- the if they get out and get somehow the which they're dying to do understandably get up. On Wednesday Rudd yeah yeah I will roll on here IC. Joseph and Mike and Tom I'll get to your phone calls along with the the John Ferrell. Press conference coming up after the break. Rob bought -- -- -- -- a base hit to right center fairly aircraft for strike that started seventh let's. Whether I appreciate that most teams food insurance. -- development behind second base -- -- more to the right side that he was the war but still not enough. But -- for 23 all of a sudden seems like a distant memory even though is just snapped recently by David Ortiz but the last couple games wouldn't together. To its nineteenth -- And they'll be facing much better pitching coming up in the next few days Doug Fister in Max Scherzer and the tigers this techsters John Ryder -- Magglio India. Up until 8 o'clock minute Sunday night baseball a big Mets nationals tool. The nationals on the biggest disappointments in the in the baseball season and the reds has been one of the bigger surprises as we know but. Texas is this Detroit series is big tool show was a better pitching defense who the better team is do we think Clooney and John now. I know I don't think -- determines. Who's gonna be crowned the the elites chant or right AL championship. We know what they both bring to the table. And three games that isn't gonna change my mind again you know 411 of the teams sweeps. Obviously a lot of people are gonna read into that. But no I don't think that means that this team is both teams have proven maritime is supposed to be good from the -- This Red Sox team wasn't the only advantage it was the favorite the American League before the season right and you know you rewarded by September. -- -- -- tigers are worried about September. I think the Red Sox -- from recent past history at least in the minds of France you know man might be a little itchy about this. The last thirty days -- so but. So far so good. -- tigers are worried about a couple of things I think they're two key things they're worried about -- one. Miguel Cabrera in this abdominal issue and to their bullpen including Joaquin Benoit now as they're closer where the Red Sox -- their concerns are well what type of Clay Buchholz or -- again. It is starting pitching continue to do this job Lackey and in Leicester and and really looking -- Pedestal especially like you -- peavy knows the trip because they can just committed Ed Ed if buckles is fine they just move to broaden danced around it. Benefactor. Cabrera misses to these three games -- I mean that's going to be less indication about you know size and southeastern. 'cause they -- such force -- -- our current baseball yeah. I'm no I don't think that's debatable guarded about -- -- sense -- -- -- -- Drexler wants to know yet they probably Dayton. And he's -- second straight game today. You would think that Detroit and others old pursuit of the Triple Crown but they have bigger things than that and they wanna win a World Series Mike -- woods wants to go for Raleigh metro if it feels like it's been sooner but the tigers have won since 1984 they've been and it. Never won it since 1984 and right out over four home runs behind Chris Davis still has the opportunity catch him specially coach -- and Ed -- But. You wonder if he'll play at all. Probably it who knows you know easy easy as -- got -- plays -- But whether they'll just say all right and is in their best interest our world will disseminated -- by -- seven and a half up on leave him. I mean he got hurt during that Yankee series in a -- did stay in the lineup member that when he fouled a ball off from the news -- -- -- station Rivera. And he just moments on the field and try to gain and then he had enough to the next night and it took them and how to get around the bases in the US and what's important is he just. Couldn't couldn't move any state in the lab to your appointment it's a tough tough guy so I would think you would love to play friendly. He could catch Chris Davis in one night play in a friend with Danica -- -- Tom in Salem a Tom. I don't. Worry you home and not. And a couple points well. The other thing they knew it -- I don't know -- -- token liabilities. Sought to Ottawa -- predict. As well or that it is we're so happy if that. So as as an armed camp and you I am going to -- -- literally. Screens lit him on new Rangel because I and it could help. Well Bradford to feel -- type of person Tom we've all known that. A lot of Khalil even though we try not to. -- trying anything but -- given us mixed messages via a built in until the right. Oh and in theaters opening. Like saying it. I don't value he heard he'd a couple of weeks ago I think about. -- -- -- the art insulation protecting. Fueled a big flop. I heard -- say something about that I think it would be a part of my infielders and let him making okay. -- I don't remember it but refresh my memory. Oh I you know I literally died and abuse and I'm I have to read thanks so much because you thought about. In -- was making more than they normally did. -- -- They all make more an anomaly did I that's an outlet by Robinson and all idyllic setting I it personally. He had that we look at future oil is -- and I don't remember it but how many I know you're loyalist -- Tom so. I don't. Think cracked and yeah I'm not her -- amazing and ending -- I had a look at. -- don't need to collect. I'm not sure if you're praising him and knocking him here went through it where you where you don't witness. But the point -- -- so they aren't going to and his appointed him. At that point and then there in the -- court and the certificate let you know -- -- on the point didn't demise lay at the banking. Yeah probably Jackie Bradley junior and truck while the -- field -- the -- okay. It's gonna cut it frequently monologue he can be -- they'll pay annual cap -- a plane. And him. 6 AME could look at I decided this you can look at it this way time to remember -- mean there's still another side we will our budget. How many different times did they go with the approach or either of replacing Jonathan Papelbon will that be the same story in the outfield the sudden -- Ellsbury. Over the next few years now been an analogy yeah. And I'll buy you -- we're really well apple board has declined a little bit Cuba how lucky. Well we define who we you know on the bank. Yeah I like deciding when it happened and ever expected amount of that bullpen and I was I was wrong and and thanks for the call Tom. I think the you can use it the good column but had nice but the it does how up I thought he was -- -- -- -- -- close role he looks like he's -- in a whole band might need some rest and some guy asked yeah guys aren't real. Big guy or not you know. He doesn't -- sir -- what Clayton throw you know where he's been from -- about it he still life just a bit. Is that harbinger of you know the -- September or is that just a little tweak we don't know. Well he's important part to get open quietly slipped them with Breslow yet they have -- -- counted on more important gave a pass first run wild it wouldn't moment. All right let's because I promised of this segment and or up against radical play a few minutes of the John Farrell audience after the win. -- velocity this series here we take away from the past three games. That we go out and execute whatever game situation calls -- we've had good starting pitching in the first two games this year's. Today when when Felix -- and throw along fourth inning our bullpen picked him up and picked us up. And wearable piece this game together but. I think in the end. We take each game. Individually and respond inside. That the game situation calls for and today more than any in this year's. Above and beyond what we've talked about you know -- Consistency is strikes are. I've come away from a lot of games in which is closed out almost the but he has a six cents on the mound which -- to throw on which location. Almost a feel for what. The hitter at the time is looking for. You know premier strikeout was it was evident of that today. And he's very calm he use. Regardless of the role that we've had him in this year we've we've seen the the consistency start to finish and he is saved our. Our tail end audio. When he slid into first base he re aggravated he's got -- contusion that he's dealing with and it. Begins to affect some of the other areas that he's been managing for awhile we fully expect and be on -- field. Tomorrow. But when he when he aggravates it begins to kind of shut some things down on how many -- and feel the explosiveness so -- federal government there. Jacoby. A couple of bats -- got jammed and that that's kind of banging on that bone inside the thumb so. We are hopeful and expect him to be on the field as well tomorrow so we'll check them both are obviously in the morning. Voters are about but to that the two month -- haven't we don't see me because ever have. Iran that what that might just account. -- It's a a very common in. From our perspective. Hopefully government continues. But it's. Not only is he didn't efficient but. He's in and he's in complete control. In the inning that is out there inning and third inning whatever might be on back to back days it's. It's a very. Calming inning. -- Yet there's an inability to finish off some letters it's not that he created issues with. Base on balls. -- -- north of forty pitched an inning and to me that's when he got into some danger zone from a health standpoint and with a one run lead the way it was felt like we are gullible and preserve -- -- fourth inning and a -- forever so news that was the bulk of the game. Game was three hours and 39 minutes including a ninety minute delay but the bulk of it was a fourth inning and a -- Two -- and -- form and a fourth and everybody just -- on cruise after that. Well live import difference experiences they won 76 over the White -- -- three game sweep. You know you wanna be agreed hood stuff to sweep any team late years they get it right again and take advantage of light sexy little White Sox were playing well heading into this one. -- -- fourth in the tenth Nia. But they get the job done now it's on to the Detroit Tigers more fascinating series coming up -- starts tomorrow. I tell John -- let him make though they for another hour up until 8 o'clock -- will still makes in some other rash or David Ortiz at this major insult Mikey is wealth. For a make her way out of here -- -- the other four lines 61777979. B 37 via text has said 37. 93 symbol take a break in a flash Minnesota pretty good for Oakland right now. Against the rays will get you an update there on the flash as well do that up next.

Audio On Demand

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Rep…

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Heath Evans, NFL Network: The Impact of Revis and Browner on the Patriots Defense

Heath Evans of the NFL Network joins Mut and Lou to talk how Revis and Browner impact the Patriots defense, the Vince Wilfork Situation, and the arms race between Denver and New England

Former Patriot Ty Law with Dale, Holley and Fauria

We talk Revis with his friend and mentor, former Patriot Ty Law.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, discussing Rajon Rondo as a color commentator, the NBA draft, and the epic Pacers-Heat game

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston joins Mut, Lou, and Christian to talk about Rajon Rondo in the booth, the rest of the Celtics losing season, and the epic battle between the Pacers and Heat.

Joe and Dave Postgame wit…

Joe and Dave Postgame with Grady Sizemore 04-11-14

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox starting left fielder, Grady Sizemore. grady talks about what it was like to hit a home run off his old teammate, C.C. Sabathia, and his reaction to not seeing Koji on the mound in a save situation.

Dale and Holley: Steve Lyons 4-11-14

Steve Lyons joins Dale and Holley to talk about the Red Sox and Yankees series and Michael Pineda's sticky hand.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: On Pineda's par tar 4-11-14

Kevin Millar makes his weekly appearance to discuss Michael Pineda's apparent pine tar on his hand, the Red Sox loss to the Yankees, and the team's pitching.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the upcoming series against the Red Wings.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, brings us around the NHL 4-11-14

2 games left in the season and the Bruins are in the driver's seat for the President's Cup which is allowing them to coast and get healthy. Pierre McGuire updates Mut and Lou on the possibility of Seidenberg's return and talks about situations elsewhere in the NHL.

Dale and Holley: Jack Edwards 4-10-14

Jack Edwards talks about the Bruins stretch run to the playoffs and rants about the NCAA.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the Red Wings series and the one year anniversary of the Marathon Bombings.

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Joe Andruzzi, Former Patriots OL: Reflecting on the Boston Marathon, 4-15-14

Joe Andruzzi witnessed the attacks first-hand and sprung into action to help others when the blasts went off on Boylston Street. The former Patriots OL joined the show to discuss and reflect on that day.

Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing one year later 4-15-14

Mut, Merloni and Christian Fauria reflect on the tragic events on April 15th 2013 at the Boston Marathon and discuss how the city has changed.

Matt Chatham with Dale an…

Matt Chatham with Dale and Holley: Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

We speak with Matt Chatham, who re-tells his story from that fateful Monday and looks ahead to brighter things, including this year's marathon.

Reflecting on the One-Year Anniversary of the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

Dale, Michael and Steve Lyons reflect back on the event last year, and the good that has taken place since then as Boston came together.

David Abel of the Boston Globe : Remembering Martin Richard through the eyes of the Richard family 4-15-14

We speak with David Abel of the Boston Globe, who penned the incredible piece on the Richard Family in this past weekend's Boston Globe.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Minor Details Ep. 79: The…

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

WEEI WrestleCast: Wrestlemania 30 recap

Scott and Ben recap WrestleMania 30 and talk about the death of the Ultimate Warrior.

Fantasy Football Offseason Podcast #3

It’s been a busy week across the NFL & with the College Football Draft Hopefuls so Jim Hackett & Pete Davidson plowed through as much as you can handle, including news about The Jets & their interest in Chris Johnson, the LSU Pro Day, rumors and news surrounding free agents & recent signings like Santonio Holmes, DeSean Jackson & Nate Burleson. Then it’s all about the 2014 Rookie Wide Receiver class that just continues to grow and impress. There’s a lot here to keep you informed as the offseason heats up and the draft approaches. Get ready!

Boston Strong one year la…

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

More from this show

Brad Faxon gives his take…

Brad Faxon gives his take on Bubba Watson capturing his second Green Jacket 4-14-14

Friend of the show, Brad Faxon, checks in to examine all the Masters action and to evaluate Bubba Watson's performance.

More from this show

Bruins V. Red Wings in fi…

Bruins V. Red Wings in first round of NHL Playoffs 4-14-14

LB joins Mut and Merloni in studio to preview the Bruins first opponent in the playoffs, the Detroit Red Wings.

More from this show

Headlines Headlines Headl…

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

More from this show

Weei Writers