WEEI>On Demand>>Butch Stearns Previews the Upcoming Season for the Red Sox and the Rest of the AL East

Butch Stearns Previews the Upcoming Season for the Red Sox and the Rest of the AL East

Mar 31, 2013|

Butch talks baseball and he's ready for an exciting, unpredictable year. He discusses his thoughts on how the AL East will shake out this season and how it really is any team's division.

Related Audio:

  1. @Bradfo Show: Sundays with Torey

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Red Sox Bench Coach Torey Luvollo joins the program to talk about Red Sox injuries and the MLB Replay process

  2. The Chris Villani Show: The Failure of MLB Replay System

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Our number two Chris aligning with sports Sunday Sports Radio WEEI 6177797937. Then not all Red Sox some pretty much all Jon Lester threw the first hour lie detectors weighing in on the AT&T tax line on that will get to that just a moment. Out final round of the masters is going on a maturity people. Into getting into what is much science tiger. And without Phil as well he Mickelson showed up I think late Thursday night she flew in and Friday after energy is flied out. With Phil Mickelson. I he had a tough weekend are tough early going Richardson first round in a local guy Keegan Bradley struggled missed But there are some big games of the top the leaderboard some exciting. I young names of the Jordan's BT's twenty years old he's cash to win the masters I he'd be the youngest winner since 1979. LEB younger. Then the tiger was the first time you want it. And one of the things that really stood out to me is speaking with some people were down there this week to cover the toward talks and these young guys and it get back to tiger. The complete and water. Lack of off. Around around Tiger Woods to these guys are too young you think about twenty years old 21 years old with somebody like camera some would like walker. In somebody like Blix the Swedish guys and second right now and he's. He's like 28. You know some of these guys too young to really remember or at least have played with tiger against tiger. When he was hitting level like we never seen before the PGA tour earlier received since Jack. And they look at him now a Zagat shoot 77 on the weekends. Is that cats really contention anymore where is I mean Aaron I'm not old and your and all of you remember when. Final round tigers in the lead it was done forget about it I mean one year in the PGA YE Yang those big shots out late and ended up beating and yet that epic battle with Bob May. I nearly beat him in the PGA but it would for the most part just wasn't close he would get a lead and he was one of the best closers in the we'd seen in the sport. But it's just it's different now that's a different vibe. Around Tiger Woods and it's gone from seemingly a foregone conclusion that he would get to nineteen majors is seemingly foregone conclusion that he won't eat next year. Does play majors this year. Is give forty years old Jack won three. After he needs five Jack won three after forty to two of those were when he was forty and the masters in 986. Was kind of an out Larry's 46 years old. Tiger would be a hall of fame career from here on out five major championship all career to get in nineteen. I think it's interesting not only his fall from grace just as a player. In terms of winning majors the was in my opinion at least the best player on were last year he had five or six wins a torch to win major. But the bigger thing to me is just how some of these younger players perceive him do tiger as a contention it used to be regarded. The average stroke. The average round rather up a stroke in. In in the in the final round on Sundays when tiger was in contention real just kind of melted aged just. Folded around with a few exceptions mentioned Bob revealed in Nickels and it's good battles but. For the most part it was just tiger's world everybody else's playing for second they were on him Ernie Els just not Now is young guys just young enough to cocky enough and don't really remember that at least they didn't play through it. And they're saying how statute 75 on the weekends with what's not ID in the turn now but. I should be upon Sunday Bubba Watson very very likable guy. And I Jordan who were finding out a lot about trying to become the youngest masters winner a long time quick birds update we'll get back to the calls against 617779. 7937. Cordially NC DM IA's doing great to get the good news on him that was definitely a concern that you know DM IAA was. Out I got hit looked like in the that it from I thought it was illegal but not dirty if that makes sense I don't think there was intent to injure there. It was just one of those times you're trying to make a hockey play get the principal point contact up higher and you won it. So I thought it was an illegal hit not a dirty hit but by a help not the that you concussion translated to on the ice Thursday that part we don't know just yet. But Patrice Bergeron it sound like is fine I he missed the third period yesterday that would would have been a huge concern. I outside to go. There's not too many guys you point to and say this more important to the bees and Bergeron two way player in hockey this year. Obvious he's good according to coach Julianne and Chris Kelly looks like still day to day with that back injury so some. Relatively speaking. Minor bumps and Bruce is going into the Stanley Cup Playoffs but you know these guys especially Alec Bergeron if he could be on the ice on Thursday against the red he's going to be there. I HTT tech slide is 37937. It's like grab a few of these real quick a one Dexter says eight times over David Price let Lester walked. While you make Casey price a better pitcher at this stage of his career early younger I can cost more money. And now your bidding against everybody else you've got the cost control guy. Housing cost control we get the guided the under your control rather. The of the exclusive negotiating window with wants to stay here to guide it. As more in depth track record in the post season to sign him. And that point it's not a knock on price and gives great pitcher. But if you're looking at what you can do it even easier than that that will save you some money relative to what price can get on the open market signed last. I know detector can you imagine having Stanton in Boston did it forty plus homers easy architecture from western mass. Two words about prospects Daniel yep they can go hard the other way. I another one here says agree with you order percent top of the rotation guys talk about Lester innings a year post seasons died. Given the cash over five years five for one and should get it done. And out finally is Lester stats are comparable to average career he walked away from 244 million Lester has been better than Homer Bailey and look at the contract. That he just signed a few textures telling me the gets four clocked at. Well evening parade for a UConn for the championships I assume the men and women together out both of them winning the national title. Yes as tougher as Turkey's but happy for Kevin Ollie who now is the next. Hot coaching named to go from college to the end beauty after eight seasons. But undefeated in the NCAA tournament ally guys can say that are at six or 77797937. is in New Jersey he's up next When then. Just try to not cute bit Ali thank you and I can't believe that a low ball. Jon Lester like they don't agree that you like a side impact by one and whatever argument sake. We have been out of my. But you see a lot of contracts for your team that have gone got into the contract stratosphere and some of them have really worked out so well. But for a number like dapper Lester what he's so willing to stay. I agree I was surprised. When I saw what the number was at the end of spring training where the Red Sox know Lester broke off toxin seems like a a low ball contract terms of dollars in a low ball contract thirty years. definitely. god I G I mean lucky probably let out a little bit like that way radio reluctant I had. Yeah I mean yeah I'm with you thanks to the fall being a former yankees fans perspective. They're never shy about spending dollars. That Lester contract is makes sense and I've said this a few times. Because just getting back to this point I do think my gut still tells me they get a Don. Gut feeling they still get this contract done because I hate candidate it player just wants too much just wants to be a Boston too much. You back going to be here at the expense of taking deal it's foolish and a four year seventy to eighty million dollar contract before which. At ball way below market terms years below market terms the average annual There's no upside here it sounded like a Red Sox blown away with a give you four years but here's point six million a year. Which is probably more than you gonna get I guarantee each and every year on the open market that it could at least. I still think Lester would walk away from crystal he'd say no. But I could look at that is saying the Red Sox in good faith effort to try to. Do with last year what they've done with other guys which is over pay an average annual dollars but try to take that discounted terms of the number years seventy. I can't say that. I can't see it as they came under years came under dollars 6177797937. Bill isn't busted up next they've built. They would subject. who visual. You know what about. You guys keep in the world. Could together okay. guys they look at the guys renewed deal if everybody involved. Make him have the option to. Who boarded deals rivals ordered to the guys will. Make it work. So real simple. So three years of his make sure Israelis and three years seventy million. And then assuming he stays healthy another two years at how much. Ordered me at all. That would come out to volley at 5110. About then you know what would actions. YouTube. 120. It was cute guys so. Yeah It it it any guaranteed dollars sport. That that's just not gonna work for the players work for last. Well hope what works right now what made two big guy a two year deal seven million. With a guarantee. Appeared to remain nimble. The two more years of targeted what are enviable. Well let's get. That that that the five year 120 million dollar contract. Where. OK I guess that that's reasonable but I mean you if you're guaranteeing the money that it's not three years in the two years to five years. And yet we could what three years didn't work out three years it will be created numerous believe that you develop very animated. You know. Yeah I mean I like well. I guess I can't get what you in there you know again trial period so to speak at three year seventy million dollar. You know test blown the CP states LP and see if he still producing. The news saying guaranteed fifty million after that which is five for once money. Why would John again you'd think about it okay hometown discount know we heard the operator gets excited about it. to get past the idea of a hometown discount meeting complete insanity. Seventy million dollars even over a three years average dollars a lot of money. But it still. 50% of what can get out in the open market. You know why would I take seventy million guaranteed even for three years when I could just double that six years guaranteed at 140 million. You know six I can get that extra seventy million dollars over three more seasons just to go out in the open market. That would be a great team friendly kind of idea but Lester were being eyed Joseph and Wakefield once the way HL. What they've done so much for the in the you know 78 years. That burning up I don't know are already up at. I agree with UN and the injury concern for me is that they're now we are talking about Clay Buchholz we'd be having added I merely different conversation. But with Lester even a year it was bad in 2012. Still pitch to plus innings. Yeah I mean you don't get a picture wondering about that party and you don't hate you guys brought there get a going to be offered. And I are I think I really like the attitude that you just want the behavior I don't understand why the Internet situation black. We're not talking about giving the guy a 140. I'm not all that with the amount of money more book like the object audit. Well he had I think the Red Sox kind of Hewitt in the regard as well that's why I wasn't completely floored when he said OK if we here opera was the most that they had. I'll put out there by the time they broke off negotiations. But I'd be and neighbor of 400. Yell now and a and a big. Average annual value a Ford seventy for is an opera that you know the players get a that's an opera that it's designed to be turned out. Yeah independent though they looked like but based on the yacht I don't know it. All the the PR stunt getting negative PR because I think I had tickets ridiculous they have any Lester did lie to me if he blocks away at the end of the day. And and the Red Sox look back and in the end flick back and say. And they could of they could negotiate they could out of spring training but the only opera percent beat the teams the only one's gonna look bad that's an. Aerial my opinion darker integrated you know integrated I'm sorry you know it made it. It's the same age and it did Dustin Pedroia has I can't think of his name off my head to similar Pedroia as we negotiated down discounts the This situation it is thought here we cannot I mean update completely done park are now completely. It sounds like till the end of the season got to do have an exclusive negotiating window. Went thanks for the college and they've exclusive negotiating window with Lester. After the season is over and that it's free agency. But you know in my mind even if the Red Sox were come back with a big number in the fall. But it even gets to. Reagents even gets to the point were other teams are our ticketing contracts are offers a Lester you're probably spending more than what you have spent. It just get the deal done now. You just avoid any possibility any any chance did you rate in the another team another suitor and unlike David Ortiz we can't you know we had a debate about Ortiz is going to be even a market that is. And I thought maybe lot of people but absolutely now. That's fine with Lester there's no debate right. I mean when I can debate the fact that it thirty year old going on 31 year old lefty it's starting pitcher with a great post season track records that market. We know that that's the case there's going to be money thrown at this. So you have the opportunity. To not only negotiate exclusively with him up or you even touch or even Free agency. It to get an offer on the table to sign this guy if they're not able losing the player beat. I signing into a deal that maybe goes outside their comfort zone because now they worry about free agency not to worry about other offers them. You could have made a better fate in my mind decide than these reported figures in at these numbers are right you know he's not taking. It's an it's designed to be refused to keep brought out their deceit it's a hit proper. I don't think organ necessarily buy that I think that this mark baseball banner that. That they and as long as you're in line with keeping Lester some cables don't want that at any high price and that's fine that's your opinion I disagree by. It any band that wants Jon Lester back is valued at his team. It and understand just what the market is looking for the seventy's at It's an insult. Text messages committed 37937. AT&T like. Texas is Red Sox have too many pitches in the system they had the upper hand. Now that it's does its thing is too many pitchers in this is have a lot of starting pitching depth they have a lot of potential. As allowed by hope and is better than Jon Lester obese Kerr shot why not. But you know what you have in Jon Lester. You don't know what you have yet Henry and that goes to my point of if you're gonna have some of these cost control pre arbitration arbitration guys up. Lester got the money to do. He could have a a lot of money coming off the books over the next read of where years. Yet a pitcher John Lackey threw for 500000 dollars on next season. In NA and it not a salary cap sport but it sport I care about a 189 million dollar luxury tax threshold for the at least they're from last. I that to take three years the market's already at five to six. years as Lester won't get 140 on the open market I disagree I think he will. I the Texas is give Lester one of these two deals. Or for a hundred or seven and 12611. if the offer candidate for for a hundred then I would say you know the Sox made an effort. They made shots try to sign him and take battled down discounted terms of the year when it for par seventy it. and a few text is going back to a couple calls as a wide world Lester take three year deal and a trial period. We can get five years guaranteed and I completely agree this is an interesting text here get this one before the break. I you know I'm not entirely sure why everyone has the phrase 110 for five I should get it done because he had no idea. What will get it done in theory. Yet that would be a hometown discount. 111 for five years an option six and eight I have no way of knowing. Whether that would get it done so he's looking at 5110. I just keep coming back that number because I look at. What the market would probably and keep going back to guys like Cole Hamels you know reasonable comparable to last year's regular season numbers I see six. In 144. EC 23 and change per year so take roughly that average annual value. 43 in his case it's going to take a year back it five years old hometown discount. But he's not leaving and and the billions of dollars That's why I come back to that number I'll get it done I have no idea what I'd be willing to go to say. 150 over 520 million a year probably. Start pushing diablo or we'll talk. You see what the number but a number I have in mind. And a lot of people have in mind they think 22 million a year twenty to 22 million a year years and college day. Five years a 10210 million dollars 6177797937. The point though I had no idea we don't know. What gets I can tell you this though. Ward seven he doesn't get it on told you that before knowing. That that was the for the Jon Lester turned out we get back to your calls coming up next we'll talk war. A Red Sox get to the Bruins as well and what touch and the Celtics before the end of the show as well get to 4 o'clock Chris Blondie with Sports Radio. WE yeah.

  3. Chris Villani on the Lester Contract Situation

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Villani doesn't understand the Red Sox' approach to the negotiations with Jon Lester for an extension. Sure, you have to start somewhere, but their offer was so off base, it was almost insulting. He wonders if the Red Sox truly want Lester in the future and if they don't, WHY!?!

  4. Butch and Buck on Sports Sunday: "It's a nice problem to have", but what will the Sox do in the outfield when Victorino Returns

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    The Red Sox will have the proverbial log jam in the outfield when Shane Victorino returns - what should they do? Send Jackie Bradley back down, make a trade or something else...Butch and Buck discuss.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

-- have -- Springsteen just finished in Australia. Did -- just come back for him for like a month. Raising Europe right now hanging out at six the forty -- 64 years old. -- be this September he 63. Crowns and around. Hang out playing rock general for eleven. Yeah. I'm six foot 777979837. Ralph happy Easter and thanks for hanging around. It's my pleasure to have piece of -- YouTube of you know keeping your victory acute heart the stream problem you have -- the old church -- -- -- -- particularly -- solar capabilities. Elevate their trump -- -- in this industry in our little porch. No pure right now in their conviction that really an elite -- you know hopefully we order a world apart but that they. -- the club that you'll see poetic guy who had ordered a guy who -- -- -- no -- Not gonna Patrick critical critical that the physical we're looking quickly -- pat and I. Shot but I carry -- full point six million dollars that will put in your reasons. Google pulled the same amount it Victor Reno and angle with her. I'll think about it you'll -- the angle of the collective club and I don't like now. Especially dismayed because that he'll now approach and really that's that's what what looks like it's gonna calm around the start. You. I mean I would say. I would say this Ralph when you say you don't like this club. What don't you like about it the most I mean for. -- -- Here's my point here we are the night the baseball's about the store moderates are to open the season tomorrow and Yankee Stadium. All the money and all the signings aside that for a fact whether victory was worth three is 39 million. In his -- the fact that if Napoli was -- that money despite the fact they got five forget all that. When they hit the field tomorrow. He -- -- like watching this club they strike out too much of that -- with a brand of baseball you don't want our lord don't July. Well here's the thing you know first of all it seems like we got it up with let's -- -- where accurate or not. Rallied at the right action at eight. Electoral plane left at an air PD beating third out of number -- you know. What should as an -- of any kind between Ortiz Victor Reno old and -- I create absolutely -- for those that for the money and make money. I'd love Napoli. I think in record BA coach -- conditions so you could look at what are you good -- it open would love. At a low -- first out or are you would hope -- -- -- But -- -- that that's an offseason argument I mean they're here now so so -- year. Because that would -- enemies you don't like this team because. -- could have done so much more in the offseason could have been smarter. It could spend it English not we're not going to be that good defensively I don't think anybody thinks that right now I do not think. Product did you feel I won't think Greg spoke real happy. Well Jackie Bradley if Jackie Bradley is an everyday player. And if Stephen Drew is helping your everyday shortstop and it even if he's not ethically -- or Syria -- was the backup right. I wouldn't say they're not gonna be good defenses that are going to be bad defensively. -- The -- is that it was a unit we can't. A lot of money to expand if you want to spend it open positions with -- that could wait -- which I love these. I love having a real would be that -- -- -- -- field under would. Be. Play that wall where -- your heart broke the law we all -- for -- Oh we also like eat at it would leave the garlic welcome good football. It'll it'll go with a well you know he's not it's -- market what the (%expletive) all that or problem. It's much it's -- and struck out everything that we really get a guy I think -- able to put it pretty. Good rule. -- future go to guy Whitney or sitting in the wind as he -- -- -- that you. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- I wills. I will save this Ralph thanks for the call from the one thing about signing Josh Hamilton would be a risk and it's now the angels dress. But there you know when they when they made the trade with the Dodgers the historic trade. And dumped the salaries and whatever. Else came along with -- beckoning Crawford and to a -- Munich Toronto. And aging Gonzales. De Los staging Gonzales back. And that's hard to replace. Had you sign Josh Hamilton. You would be looking at Josh Hamilton batting third. In your line or fourth. I mean Ellsbury victory a Pedroia Hamilton. This whole lot different than an apple. Or even a piece. Ortiz and Hamilton around there is a lot different than Ortiz without. So clearly that would have been a difference maker but again there's still some questions. With Hamilton going -- sold to -- what about not liking this team. I am clearly in a wait and see situation right. I don't like his team compared to some other Red Sox teams either. I am around them I don't know about the personality and his team. I am intrigued about barrel as the manager coming up for Bobby Valentine's. And one of the things he has going formed by arm and in addition to the fact he's been here before knows management. -- structure can deal with not going to be a surprise for him to deal with the you know and clients on the field and get ready for baseball game he lived through it here. He's just head guy announced -- the lieutenant. But I'm intrigued by Farrell and you know when do you know what hits the fan how he's gonna handle things like Francona did it or he's gonna put his stamp on his team I was gonna help them win. But but when it comes to the season all bets are off. All bets are off any five of these teams can win the division Tampa's got the best pitching the jays have the highest expectations and rightfully so. But what they've added. The Yankees are not the Yankees anymore the Red Sox are not the Red Sox anymore I would say the Red Sox to a lesser degree. Not the Red -- any more than the Yankees to be fair because the income coming up playoff season. But they don't have -- they don't have to share they don't have granderson. Start to -- a lineup is not this. Their pitching is better than the Red Sox to start the season but that could change quickly. On any Orioles come. Did he gets a body into -- I have great respect for I think Dan Duquette and the leadership team -- Buck Showalter. Did a phenomenal job like shooting Adam Jones is a budding superstar Robert can Jason and -- help last year. Is that an aberration a lot to prove in Baltimore. And then. Yankees Baltimore -- Toronto. You know so who knows what's gonna happen. On the season my question Q is he started to show is what are you looking forward to when baseball starts tomorrow. When you look at the lineup with Ellsbury. Victor Reno. Pedroia. Napoli. Middle -- Saltalamacchia. Gomes now that Iglesias that was the starting lineup yesterday. It might be the starting lineup tomorrow and we'll give you the latest on Jackie Bradley coming bit. When you look at David Ortiz not healthy to start this week anyway. Stephen Drew not healthy for this week Jackie Bradley in the air but not anointed every day yet. What are you excited about what this team. When you look at their depth chart. Arm I would debate and argue that top to bottom from Jon -- down to -- Hanrahan. Then it's a pretty solid group of starters and bullpen. Lester Buchholz. Lackey. Dempster -- brought a save this is a swing guy could be a starter and then in the minors. We had ruby de La Rosa Alan Webster and others. You got. You know seven starters you go deep. Mom and then the bullpen of -- even though we switching leagues. Easily as your setup guy who's been -- closer. To be healthy the addition of Koji Ouattara. And say this is our Andrew Miller and -- mortenson -- gonna start she's mean that's a good. At least on paper are good -- so. Who knows what's gonna happen.

Audio On Demand

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Rep…

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Heath Evans, NFL Network: The Impact of Revis and Browner on the Patriots Defense

Heath Evans of the NFL Network joins Mut and Lou to talk how Revis and Browner impact the Patriots defense, the Vince Wilfork Situation, and the arms race between Denver and New England

Former Patriot Ty Law with Dale, Holley and Fauria

We talk Revis with his friend and mentor, former Patriot Ty Law.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, discussing Rajon Rondo as a color commentator, the NBA draft, and the epic Pacers-Heat game

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston joins Mut, Lou, and Christian to talk about Rajon Rondo in the booth, the rest of the Celtics losing season, and the epic battle between the Pacers and Heat.

Joe and Dave Postgame wit…

Joe and Dave Postgame with Grady Sizemore 04-11-14

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox starting left fielder, Grady Sizemore. grady talks about what it was like to hit a home run off his old teammate, C.C. Sabathia, and his reaction to not seeing Koji on the mound in a save situation.

Dale and Holley: Steve Lyons 4-11-14

Steve Lyons joins Dale and Holley to talk about the Red Sox and Yankees series and Michael Pineda's sticky hand.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: On Pineda's par tar 4-11-14

Kevin Millar makes his weekly appearance to discuss Michael Pineda's apparent pine tar on his hand, the Red Sox loss to the Yankees, and the team's pitching.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the upcoming series against the Red Wings.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, brings us around the NHL 4-11-14

2 games left in the season and the Bruins are in the driver's seat for the President's Cup which is allowing them to coast and get healthy. Pierre McGuire updates Mut and Lou on the possibility of Seidenberg's return and talks about situations elsewhere in the NHL.

Dale and Holley: Jack Edwards 4-10-14

Jack Edwards talks about the Bruins stretch run to the playoffs and rants about the NCAA.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the Red Wings series and the one year anniversary of the Marathon Bombings.

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Joe Andruzzi, Former Patriots OL: Reflecting on the Boston Marathon, 4-15-14

Joe Andruzzi witnessed the attacks first-hand and sprung into action to help others when the blasts went off on Boylston Street. The former Patriots OL joined the show to discuss and reflect on that day.

Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing one year later 4-15-14

Mut, Merloni and Christian Fauria reflect on the tragic events on April 15th 2013 at the Boston Marathon and discuss how the city has changed.

Matt Chatham with Dale an…

Matt Chatham with Dale and Holley: Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

We speak with Matt Chatham, who re-tells his story from that fateful Monday and looks ahead to brighter things, including this year's marathon.

Reflecting on the One-Year Anniversary of the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

Dale, Michael and Steve Lyons reflect back on the event last year, and the good that has taken place since then as Boston came together.

David Abel of the Boston Globe : Remembering Martin Richard through the eyes of the Richard family 4-15-14

We speak with David Abel of the Boston Globe, who penned the incredible piece on the Richard Family in this past weekend's Boston Globe.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Minor Details Ep. 79: The…

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

WEEI WrestleCast: Wrestlemania 30 recap

Scott and Ben recap WrestleMania 30 and talk about the death of the Ultimate Warrior.

Fantasy Football Offseason Podcast #3

It’s been a busy week across the NFL & with the College Football Draft Hopefuls so Jim Hackett & Pete Davidson plowed through as much as you can handle, including news about The Jets & their interest in Chris Johnson, the LSU Pro Day, rumors and news surrounding free agents & recent signings like Santonio Holmes, DeSean Jackson & Nate Burleson. Then it’s all about the 2014 Rookie Wide Receiver class that just continues to grow and impress. There’s a lot here to keep you informed as the offseason heats up and the draft approaches. Get ready!

Boston Strong one year la…

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

More from this show

Brad Faxon gives his take…

Brad Faxon gives his take on Bubba Watson capturing his second Green Jacket 4-14-14

Friend of the show, Brad Faxon, checks in to examine all the Masters action and to evaluate Bubba Watson's performance.

More from this show

Bruins V. Red Wings in fi…

Bruins V. Red Wings in first round of NHL Playoffs 4-14-14

LB joins Mut and Merloni in studio to preview the Bruins first opponent in the playoffs, the Detroit Red Wings.

More from this show

Headlines Headlines Headl…

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

More from this show

Weei Writers