WEEI>On Demand>>Rob Ninkovich recaps Texans, previews Niners and evaluates the improving Pats defense

Rob Ninkovich recaps Texans, previews Niners and evaluates the improving Pats defense

Dec 14, 2012|

D&C chat with the Patriots defensive end/outside linebacker about what a blowout of an elite AFC team does for a team's confidence and the team's attitude going in and coming out of that game. He also helps the boys break down the 49ers by evaluating the differences between San Francisco quarterbacks Alex Smith and Colin Kaepernick.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Rob Ninkovich joins us now our conversation with rob is brought to buy lunch dates and buy more bar make -- Jewelers. Rob has always joins us on the AT&T hotline AT&T forgy LT good morning Mr. Big of a child aria. -- -- -- -- I don't bill -- look check. -- just kind of level headed you know flat line in response to everything doesn't want to get too high with the wind certainly not too low with the loss but I got to ask you. What does a convincing win like Monday night over a quality team like Houston do for the collective psyche of a football team rob. Are -- I think that. You know last week governor if you lose your degree -- -- -- -- you know you're root everybody who watches -- it was going to be a big gains so. I just I think you know we're pretty confident that are we prepared well for that we can and no the wanting that we really have to do is just move on -- is. Greens are helping now so are Mueller pro and obviously -- -- we know that. If we you know work hard all weekend. -- trichet who worked together you know review preach something so I think that -- -- our children. That knowing that if we can play like every -- -- -- very -- retreat so. -- -- Doc Rivers on yesterday he was talking about that he said he said because he was speaking with -- on the -- before and -- that he looked very relaxed Belichick did prior to the game. Is it yeah it was almost like you knew you would studied so much you knew the answers to the test before you took the test that you were confident that you're going to get right is that about right is that is that about how felt going into that game. You know I think the real -- forget about it called Gloria lecture a lecture couple days of mr. prepare them. Never Ramos. With a greater role so not think that we did learn your lesson there that -- You know we prefer -- world. We prefer like that every week. We're going to be pretty units so. Again such as well those things where. Yeah you know you have registers let's not do a better so -- we're pretty pretty excited about that game on the other you sort of put -- into. Tom Brady said after the Thanksgiving game we had a little time mini review the the niners film and gotta look at them early because of the short week when did you start looking at the niners and what do you think. Are you are approaching them but few games throughout the year obviously that has some them into achieving your notebook that'll walk him -- Or after last week at. Watch what -- -- couple games -- force your quarterback is such units and they changed since. He's been there and -- In other surrogate team obviously arm. That is one of the best. A short while so are. No murder rate -- we don't make sure. This little -- organ. Do you look at both Alex Smith and snapper -- still in the eventuality that. Either one gets in there yet you know I mean you watch the game meant just you know he can't offer. Who's better. What there. We're both quarterbacks I mean obviously all other. There also are so -- -- starter so a little bit what's the difference. On film what do you see that's different obviously you know. Number seven is a little bit more mobile. -- get out of trouble. -- this -- Yeah astute secure rather rent so. We definitely have you feel where you know. On the ball and use that just the -- also. It must do your heart good to to know and see and feel the results of this defense improving week by week undermine rob what's been the catalyst. This hasn't had this defense. Rise up in it and get better and and play better in in the last 45 weeks. Nothing -- everyone coming together. Opt out and saying it since week to week three report that every week we're going to better improve. Our -- -- a little aren't cute little -- -- and so -- together particularly burger double. Arm. You know just. Tore through a year. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- Early years. Not a -- -- we are fighting or have -- it not been there they've heard the million turnover ratio are slow -- for personal -- Our rob good luck -- and I talked this week. Rob Ninkovich for Dennis and Callahan a conversation with rob is brought to buy lunch dates and by Bart making Jewelers who joins us on the AT&T hotline.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Lo…

It Is What It Is Cast: Logan Mankins, the offensive line, and Brandon Spikes' guarantee

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Christopher Price discuss Logan Mankins' breakdown of the offensive line and how it will look without Dante Scarnecchia. They also discussed Mankins' rebuttal to Brandon Spikes.

It Is What It Is Cast: Bill Parcells and Patriots Hall of Fame

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Bill Parcells' Patriots Hall of Fame candidacy.

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Celtics President Danny A…

Celtics President Danny Ainge with Dale and Holley 4-17-14

We wrap up the Celtics season by speaking with Celtics president Danny Ainge about this past season and the team's future.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

John Lackey with Joe and …

John Lackey with Joe and Dave after he pitches a great game to beat the Yankees

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox pitcher John Lackey after he goes 8 solid innings in a great performance, while giving the Red Sox bullpen a night off. Lackey talks a little about what he thinks about Michael Pineda's ejection for having pine tar on his neck.

Sox Manager John Farrell with Dale and Holley

We check in with John Farrell live from Fenway Park with Dale, Holley and Steve Lyons. We talk Boagearts, Buchholz, Pierzynski, Lester, the losing and much much more.

Tim Wakefield on the Red Sox tough start 4-23-14

Tim Wakefield discussed the Sox tough start to the season. He is optimistic that the guys can turn it around.

Andy Brickley, NESN: Reca…

Andy Brickley, NESN: Recaps Bruins vs Red Wings, Game 3

Andy Brickley, NESN; Joins Mut and Merloni to recap the Bruins win against the Red Wings in game 3

Shawn Thornton on the game 3 win in Detroit 4-23-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to discuss the Bruins win last night over the Red Wings. Shawn talked about Marchand's agitator status within the league.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, Bruins- Red Wings 4-22-14

Pierre McGuire of NBC Sports joins the program to talk about Game 3 between the Bruins and the Red Wings. He also discusses the issue of targeting player and weighs in on Matt Cooke's vicious knee hit to Tyson Barrie.

Shawn Thornton on the gam…

Shawn Thornton on the game 3 win in Detroit 4-23-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to discuss the Bruins win last night over the Red Wings. Shawn talked about Marchand's agitator status within the league.

Tim Wakefield on the Red Sox tough start

Tim Wakefield discussed the Sox tough start to the season. He is optimistic that the guys can turn it around.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Colbert introduced on Letterman

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. The guys talked about Colbert joining Dave Letterman last night.

Aaron Boone, ESPN: Sox ha…

Aaron Boone, ESPN: Sox haven't been able to replace Ellsbury, 4-23-14

Aaron Boone joins Mut and Merloni to talk about the early season troubles the Red Sox have had and the defensive struggles.

Andy Brickley, NESN: Recaps Bruins vs Red Wings Game 3

Andy Brickley, NESN: Joins Mut and Merloni to recap the Bruins win against the Red Wings in game 3.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, Bruins- Red Wings 4-22-14

Pierre McGuire of NBC Sports joins the program to talk about Game 3 between the Bruins and the Red Wings. He also discusses the issue of targeting player and weighs in on Matt Cooke's vicious knee hit to Tyson Barrie.

Dale and Holley's Four at…

Dale and Holley's Four at Four Milestone Editon - 4/23/14

We tackle four topics all revolving around big time milestones in sports.

John Farrell with Dale and Holley: Pierzynski just needs more familiarity with this pitching staff 4-23-14

We check in with John Farrell live from Fenway Park with Dale, Holley and Steve Lyons. We talk Boagearts, Buchholz, Pierzynski, Lester, the losing and much much more.

Holy Diver? Bruins win but focus switches to Brad Marchand's instigating tactics 4-23-14

We discuss the Bruins win to take a 2-1 lead in Detroit, and how Brad Marchand is once again (for better or worse) making his presence felt in a series. Hey, he may be a rat, but he's OUR rat.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Fantasy Football Off-Seas…

Fantasy Football Off-Season Podcast 4

The 4th addition of WEEI’s Fantasy Football Offseason Podcast is loaded and ready. In this week’s conversation Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson of Rotobahn.com dig into the sinking draft stock of Teddy Bridgewater (much too their chagrin), while refocusing and emphasizing the immense scouting work done by Pete on players like Bridgewater, Zach Mettenberger, Blake Bortles, Bishop Sankey & Lache Seastrunk. Also, Jim & Pete touch on news from around the league regarding new Jet, Chris Johnson, Montee Ball in Denver and help you tune out all of the negative noise some in the media are trying to push. We’re not buying! Lots of Football love in this podcast for the Football lover. Enjoy!

Pod Man Rush: DJ Bean and Greg Wyshynski on Bruins-Red Wings

Greg Wyshynski of Yahoo! Sports joins DJ to break down the first-round matchup between the Bruins and Red Wings. Also discussed is Zdeno Chara's Norris candidacy, transparency with voting for the NHL awards and whether the Canadiens will get out of the first round.

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

Boston Marathon director …

Boston Marathon director Dave McGillivray 4-22-14

Dave called in to discuss the epic Boston Marathon.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: David Gregory is tanking 4-22-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed David Gregory's tanking Meet The Press ratings.

More from this show

A great Marathon Monday 4…

A great Marathon Monday 4-22-14

The guys opened the show by discussing yesterday's Boston Marathon and Kirk's run.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Colbert introduced on Letterman

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. The guys talked about Colbert joining Dave Letterman last night.

More from this show

Patrice Bergeron with Dal…

Patrice Bergeron with Dale & Holley: Expect it to be tight-fought, back and forth all series with the Red Wings

Dale and Michael speak with Patrice Bergeron on the phone from Detroit on Marathon Monday fresh off a Bruins optional skate. Patrice talks about the B's slow start in game one, putting it all together for the team in game two, how the rest of this series might play out, and what this anniversary of the Boston Marathon means to him.

More from this show

Weei Writers