WEEI>On Demand>>Mustard and Johnson Break Down the Sox Hot Stove and Preview Pats-Texans

Mustard and Johnson Break Down the Sox Hot Stove and Preview Pats-Texans

Dec 8, 2012|

Sports Saturday begins with Craig and Larry questioning the Mike Napoli and Shane Victorino signings and wondering where the Sox will turn for pitching help. They then discuss the Houston Texans, J.J. Watt and the challenges that the Pats will face on Monday night.

Related Audio:

  1. @Bradfo Show: Sundays with Torey

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Red Sox Bench Coach Torey Luvollo joins the program to talk about Red Sox injuries and the MLB Replay process

  2. The Chris Villani Show: The Failure of MLB Replay System

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Our number two Chris aligning with sports Sunday Sports Radio WEEI 6177797937. Then not all Red Sox some pretty much all Jon Lester threw the first hour lie detectors weighing in on the AT&T tax line on that will get to that just a moment. Out final round of the masters is going on a maturity people. Into getting into what is much science tiger. And without Phil as well he Mickelson showed up I think late Thursday night she flew in and Friday after energy is flied out. With Phil Mickelson. I he had a tough weekend are tough early going Richardson first round in a local guy Keegan Bradley struggled missed But there are some big games of the top the leaderboard some exciting. I young names of the Jordan's BT's twenty years old he's cash to win the masters I he'd be the youngest winner since 1979. LEB younger. Then the tiger was the first time you want it. And one of the things that really stood out to me is speaking with some people were down there this week to cover the toward talks and these young guys and it get back to tiger. The complete and water. Lack of off. Around around Tiger Woods to these guys are too young you think about twenty years old 21 years old with somebody like camera some would like walker. In somebody like Blix the Swedish guys and second right now and he's. He's like 28. You know some of these guys too young to really remember or at least have played with tiger against tiger. When he was hitting level like we never seen before the PGA tour earlier received since Jack. And they look at him now a Zagat shoot 77 on the weekends. Is that cats really contention anymore where is I mean Aaron I'm not old and your and all of you remember when. Final round tigers in the lead it was done forget about it I mean one year in the PGA YE Yang those big shots out late and ended up beating and yet that epic battle with Bob May. I nearly beat him in the PGA but it would for the most part just wasn't close he would get a lead and he was one of the best closers in the we'd seen in the sport. But it's just it's different now that's a different vibe. Around Tiger Woods and it's gone from seemingly a foregone conclusion that he would get to nineteen majors is seemingly foregone conclusion that he won't eat next year. Does play majors this year. Is give forty years old Jack won three. After he needs five Jack won three after forty to two of those were when he was forty and the masters in 986. Was kind of an out Larry's 46 years old. Tiger would be a hall of fame career from here on out five major championship all career to get in nineteen. I think it's interesting not only his fall from grace just as a player. In terms of winning majors the was in my opinion at least the best player on were last year he had five or six wins a torch to win major. But the bigger thing to me is just how some of these younger players perceive him do tiger as a contention it used to be regarded. The average stroke. The average round rather up a stroke in. In in the in the final round on Sundays when tiger was in contention real just kind of melted aged just. Folded around with a few exceptions mentioned Bob revealed in Nickels and it's good battles but. For the most part it was just tiger's world everybody else's playing for second they were on him Ernie Els just not Now is young guys just young enough to cocky enough and don't really remember that at least they didn't play through it. And they're saying how statute 75 on the weekends with what's not ID in the turn now but. I should be upon Sunday Bubba Watson very very likable guy. And I Jordan who were finding out a lot about trying to become the youngest masters winner a long time quick birds update we'll get back to the calls against 617779. 7937. Cordially NC DM IA's doing great to get the good news on him that was definitely a concern that you know DM IAA was. Out I got hit looked like in the that it from I thought it was illegal but not dirty if that makes sense I don't think there was intent to injure there. It was just one of those times you're trying to make a hockey play get the principal point contact up higher and you won it. So I thought it was an illegal hit not a dirty hit but by a help not the that you concussion translated to on the ice Thursday that part we don't know just yet. But Patrice Bergeron it sound like is fine I he missed the third period yesterday that would would have been a huge concern. I outside to go. There's not too many guys you point to and say this more important to the bees and Bergeron two way player in hockey this year. Obvious he's good according to coach Julianne and Chris Kelly looks like still day to day with that back injury so some. Relatively speaking. Minor bumps and Bruce is going into the Stanley Cup Playoffs but you know these guys especially Alec Bergeron if he could be on the ice on Thursday against the red he's going to be there. I HTT tech slide is 37937. It's like grab a few of these real quick a one Dexter says eight times over David Price let Lester walked. While you make Casey price a better pitcher at this stage of his career early younger I can cost more money. And now your bidding against everybody else you've got the cost control guy. Housing cost control we get the guided the under your control rather. The of the exclusive negotiating window with wants to stay here to guide it. As more in depth track record in the post season to sign him. And that point it's not a knock on price and gives great pitcher. But if you're looking at what you can do it even easier than that that will save you some money relative to what price can get on the open market signed last. I know detector can you imagine having Stanton in Boston did it forty plus homers easy architecture from western mass. Two words about prospects Daniel yep they can go hard the other way. I another one here says agree with you order percent top of the rotation guys talk about Lester innings a year post seasons died. Given the cash over five years five for one and should get it done. And out finally is Lester stats are comparable to average career he walked away from 244 million Lester has been better than Homer Bailey and look at the contract. That he just signed a few textures telling me the gets four clocked at. Well evening parade for a UConn for the championships I assume the men and women together out both of them winning the national title. Yes as tougher as Turkey's but happy for Kevin Ollie who now is the next. Hot coaching named to go from college to the end beauty after eight seasons. But undefeated in the NCAA tournament ally guys can say that are at six or 77797937. is in New Jersey he's up next When then. Just try to not cute bit Ali thank you and I can't believe that a low ball. Jon Lester like they don't agree that you like a side impact by one and whatever argument sake. We have been out of my. But you see a lot of contracts for your team that have gone got into the contract stratosphere and some of them have really worked out so well. But for a number like dapper Lester what he's so willing to stay. I agree I was surprised. When I saw what the number was at the end of spring training where the Red Sox know Lester broke off toxin seems like a a low ball contract terms of dollars in a low ball contract thirty years. definitely. god I G I mean lucky probably let out a little bit like that way radio reluctant I had. Yeah I mean yeah I'm with you thanks to the fall being a former yankees fans perspective. They're never shy about spending dollars. That Lester contract is makes sense and I've said this a few times. Because just getting back to this point I do think my gut still tells me they get a Don. Gut feeling they still get this contract done because I hate candidate it player just wants too much just wants to be a Boston too much. You back going to be here at the expense of taking deal it's foolish and a four year seventy to eighty million dollar contract before which. At ball way below market terms years below market terms the average annual There's no upside here it sounded like a Red Sox blown away with a give you four years but here's point six million a year. Which is probably more than you gonna get I guarantee each and every year on the open market that it could at least. I still think Lester would walk away from crystal he'd say no. But I could look at that is saying the Red Sox in good faith effort to try to. Do with last year what they've done with other guys which is over pay an average annual dollars but try to take that discounted terms of the number years seventy. I can't say that. I can't see it as they came under years came under dollars 6177797937. Bill isn't busted up next they've built. They would subject. who visual. You know what about. You guys keep in the world. Could together okay. guys they look at the guys renewed deal if everybody involved. Make him have the option to. Who boarded deals rivals ordered to the guys will. Make it work. So real simple. So three years of his make sure Israelis and three years seventy million. And then assuming he stays healthy another two years at how much. Ordered me at all. That would come out to volley at 5110. About then you know what would actions. YouTube. 120. It was cute guys so. Yeah It it it any guaranteed dollars sport. That that's just not gonna work for the players work for last. Well hope what works right now what made two big guy a two year deal seven million. With a guarantee. Appeared to remain nimble. The two more years of targeted what are enviable. Well let's get. That that that the five year 120 million dollar contract. Where. OK I guess that that's reasonable but I mean you if you're guaranteeing the money that it's not three years in the two years to five years. And yet we could what three years didn't work out three years it will be created numerous believe that you develop very animated. You know. Yeah I mean I like well. I guess I can't get what you in there you know again trial period so to speak at three year seventy million dollar. You know test blown the CP states LP and see if he still producing. The news saying guaranteed fifty million after that which is five for once money. Why would John again you'd think about it okay hometown discount know we heard the operator gets excited about it. to get past the idea of a hometown discount meeting complete insanity. Seventy million dollars even over a three years average dollars a lot of money. But it still. 50% of what can get out in the open market. You know why would I take seventy million guaranteed even for three years when I could just double that six years guaranteed at 140 million. You know six I can get that extra seventy million dollars over three more seasons just to go out in the open market. That would be a great team friendly kind of idea but Lester were being eyed Joseph and Wakefield once the way HL. What they've done so much for the in the you know 78 years. That burning up I don't know are already up at. I agree with UN and the injury concern for me is that they're now we are talking about Clay Buchholz we'd be having added I merely different conversation. But with Lester even a year it was bad in 2012. Still pitch to plus innings. Yeah I mean you don't get a picture wondering about that party and you don't hate you guys brought there get a going to be offered. And I are I think I really like the attitude that you just want the behavior I don't understand why the Internet situation black. We're not talking about giving the guy a 140. I'm not all that with the amount of money more book like the object audit. Well he had I think the Red Sox kind of Hewitt in the regard as well that's why I wasn't completely floored when he said OK if we here opera was the most that they had. I'll put out there by the time they broke off negotiations. But I'd be and neighbor of 400. Yell now and a and a big. Average annual value a Ford seventy for is an opera that you know the players get a that's an opera that it's designed to be turned out. Yeah independent though they looked like but based on the yacht I don't know it. All the the PR stunt getting negative PR because I think I had tickets ridiculous they have any Lester did lie to me if he blocks away at the end of the day. And and the Red Sox look back and in the end flick back and say. And they could of they could negotiate they could out of spring training but the only opera percent beat the teams the only one's gonna look bad that's an. Aerial my opinion darker integrated you know integrated I'm sorry you know it made it. It's the same age and it did Dustin Pedroia has I can't think of his name off my head to similar Pedroia as we negotiated down discounts the This situation it is thought here we cannot I mean update completely done park are now completely. It sounds like till the end of the season got to do have an exclusive negotiating window. Went thanks for the college and they've exclusive negotiating window with Lester. After the season is over and that it's free agency. But you know in my mind even if the Red Sox were come back with a big number in the fall. But it even gets to. Reagents even gets to the point were other teams are our ticketing contracts are offers a Lester you're probably spending more than what you have spent. It just get the deal done now. You just avoid any possibility any any chance did you rate in the another team another suitor and unlike David Ortiz we can't you know we had a debate about Ortiz is going to be even a market that is. And I thought maybe lot of people but absolutely now. That's fine with Lester there's no debate right. I mean when I can debate the fact that it thirty year old going on 31 year old lefty it's starting pitcher with a great post season track records that market. We know that that's the case there's going to be money thrown at this. So you have the opportunity. To not only negotiate exclusively with him up or you even touch or even Free agency. It to get an offer on the table to sign this guy if they're not able losing the player beat. I signing into a deal that maybe goes outside their comfort zone because now they worry about free agency not to worry about other offers them. You could have made a better fate in my mind decide than these reported figures in at these numbers are right you know he's not taking. It's an it's designed to be refused to keep brought out their deceit it's a hit proper. I don't think organ necessarily buy that I think that this mark baseball banner that. That they and as long as you're in line with keeping Lester some cables don't want that at any high price and that's fine that's your opinion I disagree by. It any band that wants Jon Lester back is valued at his team. It and understand just what the market is looking for the seventy's at It's an insult. Text messages committed 37937. AT&T like. Texas is Red Sox have too many pitches in the system they had the upper hand. Now that it's does its thing is too many pitchers in this is have a lot of starting pitching depth they have a lot of potential. As allowed by hope and is better than Jon Lester obese Kerr shot why not. But you know what you have in Jon Lester. You don't know what you have yet Henry and that goes to my point of if you're gonna have some of these cost control pre arbitration arbitration guys up. Lester got the money to do. He could have a a lot of money coming off the books over the next read of where years. Yet a pitcher John Lackey threw for 500000 dollars on next season. In NA and it not a salary cap sport but it sport I care about a 189 million dollar luxury tax threshold for the at least they're from last. I that to take three years the market's already at five to six. years as Lester won't get 140 on the open market I disagree I think he will. I the Texas is give Lester one of these two deals. Or for a hundred or seven and 12611. if the offer candidate for for a hundred then I would say you know the Sox made an effort. They made shots try to sign him and take battled down discounted terms of the year when it for par seventy it. and a few text is going back to a couple calls as a wide world Lester take three year deal and a trial period. We can get five years guaranteed and I completely agree this is an interesting text here get this one before the break. I you know I'm not entirely sure why everyone has the phrase 110 for five I should get it done because he had no idea. What will get it done in theory. Yet that would be a hometown discount. 111 for five years an option six and eight I have no way of knowing. Whether that would get it done so he's looking at 5110. I just keep coming back that number because I look at. What the market would probably and keep going back to guys like Cole Hamels you know reasonable comparable to last year's regular season numbers I see six. In 144. EC 23 and change per year so take roughly that average annual value. 43 in his case it's going to take a year back it five years old hometown discount. But he's not leaving and and the billions of dollars That's why I come back to that number I'll get it done I have no idea what I'd be willing to go to say. 150 over 520 million a year probably. Start pushing diablo or we'll talk. You see what the number but a number I have in mind. And a lot of people have in mind they think 22 million a year twenty to 22 million a year years and college day. Five years a 10210 million dollars 6177797937. The point though I had no idea we don't know. What gets I can tell you this though. Ward seven he doesn't get it on told you that before knowing. That that was the for the Jon Lester turned out we get back to your calls coming up next we'll talk war. A Red Sox get to the Bruins as well and what touch and the Celtics before the end of the show as well get to 4 o'clock Chris Blondie with Sports Radio. WE yeah.

  3. Chris Villani on the Lester Contract Situation

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    Villani doesn't understand the Red Sox' approach to the negotiations with Jon Lester for an extension. Sure, you have to start somewhere, but their offer was so off base, it was almost insulting. He wonders if the Red Sox truly want Lester in the future and if they don't, WHY!?!

  4. Butch and Buck on Sports Sunday: "It's a nice problem to have", but what will the Sox do in the outfield when Victorino Returns

    Sun, 13 Apr 2014

    The Red Sox will have the proverbial log jam in the outfield when Shane Victorino returns - what should they do? Send Jackie Bradley back down, make a trade or something else...Butch and Buck discuss.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

And it is sports Saturday mustard and Johnson addition here on Sports Radio WEEI. The numbers 61777979837. I say because I need to practices much as I can't forget that old number somewhere. In Scott's in my brain 617. 77979837. Tax lined up and running. Congratulations. And kudos compliments and all those other good things are always on the text line. 37. Nine. 37. And the Red Sox and the winter meetings in Nashville have concluded and Red Sox Larry -- pretty good. I would have to say that bench Harrington in the seven days since we last saw him. Did very well thank you as he prolonged a couple of key players that they're not exactly going to be favorites in the American League -- the division C I disagree models I personally I don't -- I think he I think he brat pack a lot of the players -- a money. That the players that he signed Napoli Ian Victor Reno in and they were brought I mean they had great years into eleven but not that the greatest years in. 212. I think they could've got him for cheaper. I think some of that money -- and he ended up overspending on some of these guys they -- went after Kuroda. And and really try to get him since the Yankees it's you're not satisfied. I'm okay. I traded troop I think Fiat was -- -- -- abort to this guy's name up by him. -- our about it -- them in the the Japanese pitcher they said I'll wait a minute becomes our substitute if you are where is it. Koji Le -- what power -- are easily our process Omaha are now -- great -- our and you -- and our partners our -- or one hour. Sushi well I'll I know is he's got a one point 75 earned run average he works quickly Jerry Kelly at all like that. He's a beast as far as I'm. You know throwing him in the bullpen he's thirty in I think it could be our. Very excited about that move idle mine the other ones in in I've found myself. You know you go all your Christmas shopping for your wife didn't have a budget mines. But -- with the item that you want to get her is is not there. So the only other item which she really wants but -- is the more expensive one. It in nicer wine and then you have to sit there and say do I wanna go higher at six inch flat screen as the television wasn't available or know things to say do I wanna go higher. And get something that I really know she's got a light or should I just come back and say adds to experts -- -- against that against. I I thought I got stationed -- -- are not really an advocate calls. I found myself that wayward -- Hamilton. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- But as time went on line and you saw what was going on line. Josh Hamilton 31. Certainly -- in the lineup but Ortiz boy that would bring him back to the me any day that that's -- if Ortiz is recovering he start recovering. This is the longest injury rate Lois is coming back in Ortiz is still limping around. But easily easy in wanna get back in the lineup after the big in fairness to the reds are two retried as bad map last week is that. Did you have a plan in mind -- and you jettisoned. Gonzales and profit and Beckett out of here because I gotta give Auburn credit he said at them and you got it it's an -- contract now everything that. Everybody arrogant Christmas bonuses that you gonna do that. Every year like -- you know not every year when we were doing cartwheels around here about them clearing off the payroll that was the great -- But I remember a match or rate that round that is about our Roland go Brit. Oh UCL period that the going to be able to bring in and replace them and I think that I think that's a valid point. In in I think it's certainly something that I am not down on them. But it yet I don't data and come back with anything that really excites me. Agers seemed to be it. Cited about a excited I think that what they did was shaken up a little bit they didn't make their big. Splash. I'll lie Adrian Gonzales and Karl -- Crawford but. As we asked -- in last week at that event. At Fenway Park the Christmas at -- You know they claimed and I am not claiming that Carrington. Was disingenuous. Or misleading. But he said that they weren't going to make that big free agent splash and emptied the coffers where. Over the last say five or six days seven days since that event. Does appear the Red Sox would be willing. Two empty their pocketbooks. If the years were right for Josh Hamilton but they seem to be. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- Mel Brooks a hitting fifth you have Napoli. At first base hitting sixth. The immortal Jonny Gomes. In the seventh pole in left field Saltalamacchia Ross combination behind the plate eight. And Jose Iglesias. And in the ninth -- second lead on when he or not. And that -- you know what that is not so bad now what Hamilton. Making an awesome line you say it's not so bad you got to go first tomorrow. What happened to two years ago when the mantra around here was defense. Defense. Speaking for ultimate zone rate down -- put Ellsbury left that -- out the window -- -- really Jonny Gomes he's port defensively. He can't hit right handed and Cincinnati's other than that he's good he's an art club house guy rich guys the comedian is a Gomes like them a lot type. I guess I don't mind some of that by the way I think you need some of that. Levity and I really ago. This is certain chemistry that I think is more of an effect than a cause but you know he's it's certainly doesn't hurt a clubhouse. I would -- go by the report and certainly in a perfect world. We Jacoby Ellsbury is contract. Looming and the inability of the Red Sox in all probability. To re sign him to a lot of years and a 150 to 200 million dollars that's what his. Agent would like Hampshire Ellsberg like -- well -- -- -- if he came back with an incredible year. Not last year but the longer before and let's just stop the speculation what would happen. Of Phillies or earned Gerri is offered out I was married for at least straight up. What would have happened if that actually did go down would that be a good deal. But the Red Sox I think it would be very very good deal but the Red Sox Cliff Lee had a bad year last year 3434. Years old six and nine last -- remember. He was an older pitcher when he started coming to his old he's the classic left the lake Colfax. Didn't -- good -- really about 2627. Years old. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- This was still very productive Red Sox team it's really about the pitching we understand that it's always about the pitching Cliff -- for Jim Colby Ellsbury would. I I would regrets taxpayers would be. I hate giving up by the Ellsbury though I I idea because I let. Some of the play I've seen from him and sent a field these guys have not seen since for Atlanta these guys now yeah -- just incredible. Defensive sent a field just the range. He punishes his party which makes you a little nervous 'cause of the chances he takes by. And then when he had some pop in his bat and he was really delivering he was like he was an all around play you in the last ten -- oil was just right or -- -- -- all these people right the past tense particularly because last year what I'm just saying would you rather common with a collection of B play is a -- rather power -- so I don't -- these guys ten or eleven million. When added next to six million to play -- a -- -- road or something. All right you're telling me that well for these proposals say I was Berry is not traded between now opening day and you can tell me that Ellsbury is of the player and help no I don't I don't think Ellsbury to be playing healthy -- -- reasoning apply help the middle Brooks they all of the players about meadowbrook is a performance is gonna go down because he's got to get so distressed roaring about throwing the ball accurately to first place. This guy's got to -- -- Dick Stuart looked like these under strange glove yes Apollo prize. If he aka. Ready for that. So you hoping Mack Mike Napoli is exactly. Is not George Scotland -- not that way he's not gonna say Scott I'd rather sing play the friends that play that. I don't think he's available right now. So you -- throw. With what happened -- -- I'm not angry I think they did debate is Gladys -- would say they've made their best of a bad situation Ike Ike as it is your right to add to a question you can't throw out there we can hire somebody throw an hour yesterday which team would you rather have right now over the next four years the -- starts of the Yankees. In the Yankees have a boatload of problems in a that's another thing I think that hurt Hamilton the fact that A-Rod is down again with a hip injuries can have surgery and be out for six months. And there's still stuck with a 114 million dollar contract is that her Hamilton just another guy hurting people our fire out from -- I I do give. -- team credit for holding the line on this about the Q goes the other GM saying that. The days of these ridiculous long term contracts over our -- overpay a little bit. -- -- -- contract -- to be buried with a guy for like six or seven years I think that whole host it infielder contracts that terrible. Well Hamilton is 31 he's had -- both. Physical and other issues emotional well -- emotional -- psychological addictive issues. Tom. You know they're -- worst towns. Then boss that is -- -- four years on him. I certainly wouldn't go (%expletive) anything goes with this -- I don't care what they say about the duties of eyes and secure contracts are over every time they make these big pronouncements they go back on them. If Josh Hamilton were available for four years the Red Sox would take an hour. I Pink Floyd is a good as it. That to me as the -- for for four years is okay because there's a lot. Well II agent Gonzales something about when you get be on for years and if these guys bright and I'd like to have a rights contract now for the next five years. The Yankees are trying to get under the luxury tax by next year. So there paring payroll that aren't about trading granderson next year are you kidding me they're trying to get under the at the luxury tax. And out of the reason is because this out with a contract with a player who can't play. As we look at as we talk about Josh -- I'm looking up him. Looking at the MLB network and guess what they're discussing the viability the possibility that Josh Hamilton. You ready for this. Heading to New York how about that that's just that's not a rumor it's not a I well I tell yet. What it but just the possibility I understand I am oxidant pinstripes and I'm arguing against myself which I often do since I lose all arguments at home but. And here. You gotta say to yourself for what you just got through saying about Hamilton. Would New York all Boston be a place for him ago. You'd have to have a 24 hour body guy how much does anyway number I mean it is. Raj you would think that in and I think when all is said and Don we can speculate till the cows come home no offense where. And I don't think that. I really -- the mean average from a armada. -- know what I mean I have no idea what you mean. But we expect you all we want it looks his death it it would be stunning. If -- it doesn't stay with tax at this point I think is a very good -- this is entertainment every point out to where I blame the agents I really really do. -- it's their job and make as much money as possible the decline -- but it's also -- job to put their client in the best position on program at Jason Bay I mean it -- You gotta sit down with the guy is see in them that the problem but it agent is he gets a cut. Out of the more money he gets for his client but at some point if you really care about your client you also don't wanna put your client in a position where -- miserable. To defend Jason Bay's agent was name remember the Red Sox may offer and then hold the offer. After they have a medical report that indicated that Jason Bay not -- might not be the most healthy person over the next several years that turned out to be pretty accurate did. -- Jason -- that's a good point OK Jason Bay everything's Jason Bay bolt did Boston. And rejected a Red Sox offer where he would have been perfect to stay in left field and and hit that hit those home runs over the friendly green monster didn't quite work that. -- I just think there were some some. Thinking oh dear Joseph Blanton went to the angels two years fifteen million that that's -- a bargain. Did not done yet I understand that this or try to makes a move that's one of the subjects on the table. How do you feel about the win means we will get escrow robber on a little bit later he's it Ortiz is golf tournament and he won't Phyllis and on his opinion on some of the moves made about a Red Sox we get our. In my opinion somebody said the you know better than I do your greater remembering things that this is probably the most meaningful game. Outside of playoffs. Regular season gave the picture yes since they played against the colts. Well and I think the other topic that I'm interested in discussing and we're still 48 hours away from the game of more than 48 hours long weekend an awful lot day's sports in tech today president. But. The way the patriots are playing right now. You'd like to believe they're doing exactly what they did last year on their way two Super Bowl appearance the difference this time is. They faced much stiffer competition. In the post season and they may not have the luxury of playing. More than one game at home right now because. The colts is that was on the colts in the Broncos now it's the other worst team. That Peyton Manning's winning Portland but do you know if -- -- is under some major stories this year. Up Peyton Manning Tom -- IG three. -- this leak precious off off the -- compared to the others that is always bringing new stories to the table anyway -- Broncos won on Thursday night to their actually half -- did you at ever federal I didn't. -- always want to man. I mean can you did not please don't -- paid up are against Oakland would turn the -- -- you kidding me it's a Thursday night Larry if it's a Thursday night. The next morning I don't have to give up a run at 5 o'clock so it's like almost like it's Saturday night for me on Thursday night I enjoyed every last I like watching football you get the right players and it's a -- -- competition this goes back to what we're talking about with the spurs in Miami couple weeks ago. It's about the stars but I wanna watch one of the great players of all time operate you don't have to be a -- fan to enjoy what Tom Brady don't finally -- I would've preferred him playing against somebody who's -- drive away the Broncos were not particularly -- just looked at the the final score I don't think the Broncos were particularly efficient on offense and his numbers wise you look at -- years and he's at 3031. Touchdown passes tanned -- They are not as a efficient. Scoring touchdowns in the red zone -- say the patriots are. I'm not convinced right now I know they -- a row. Right now pages to me you're still a better team they won that earlier. Match up in Foxboro one in the middle of October sometime. I still think the patriots are better team but I do think as -- as as what you said earlier. The use the game is important as you think about it there are two games behind Houston for home field advantage in the AFC. They win the game on Monday night. They're one game behind. Okay they can pick up another game they end up with the same record who gets who gets the home field advantage -- patriots do because they win the tiebreaker head to head. So I think it is an important game it's more than just a preview. For a possible AFC championship game it is. War home field advantage. And I think it's important this year for the patriots to have. The home field they were -- re fortunate -- I think they need that they need eight -- did barely scrape by Baltimore thank you Lee Evans thank you ability kind of those were gaffes. That were unforced errors created by Baltimore patriots in away lucked out getting to the super ball and Isiah get ideas not going to be okay -- for -- and because that to -- on their last three games they play Indy in his -- -- I in India on the plate yeah it's yeah. I don't think I think Indy has and a soft schedule. Great game against the lines couple weeks ago you gotta love what locked in that final was just last week -- of that final play. Four down three seconds that the doubted he'd make a difference and one play and they throw underneath -- -- scored a touchdown. He is terrific RG three obviously be the giants on Monday night he's terrific. But I'm not sure the Texans are better I I thought they -- thing though you gonna look at some of the some of us Dodd. Top players in the league when used to come to town aryan prosper. -- Andre Johnson in that JJ watts not only does he have fifteen and perhaps that she's got fifteen knockdowns. And you love his nickname. The milkman. Does he always delivers and he's -- white is that we talk about with a -- before an hour and a act like about Big Brother there you go 61777. -- that have been an early -- like -- that no man I do like the milkman it just reminds me of a character in buckles on asylum by Toni -- I want I allies called the. --

Audio On Demand

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Rep…

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Heath Evans, NFL Network: The Impact of Revis and Browner on the Patriots Defense

Heath Evans of the NFL Network joins Mut and Lou to talk how Revis and Browner impact the Patriots defense, the Vince Wilfork Situation, and the arms race between Denver and New England

Former Patriot Ty Law with Dale, Holley and Fauria

We talk Revis with his friend and mentor, former Patriot Ty Law.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, discussing Rajon Rondo as a color commentator, the NBA draft, and the epic Pacers-Heat game

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston joins Mut, Lou, and Christian to talk about Rajon Rondo in the booth, the rest of the Celtics losing season, and the epic battle between the Pacers and Heat.

Joe and Dave Postgame wit…

Joe and Dave Postgame with Grady Sizemore 04-11-14

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox starting left fielder, Grady Sizemore. grady talks about what it was like to hit a home run off his old teammate, C.C. Sabathia, and his reaction to not seeing Koji on the mound in a save situation.

Dale and Holley: Steve Lyons 4-11-14

Steve Lyons joins Dale and Holley to talk about the Red Sox and Yankees series and Michael Pineda's sticky hand.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: On Pineda's par tar 4-11-14

Kevin Millar makes his weekly appearance to discuss Michael Pineda's apparent pine tar on his hand, the Red Sox loss to the Yankees, and the team's pitching.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the upcoming series against the Red Wings.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, brings us around the NHL 4-11-14

2 games left in the season and the Bruins are in the driver's seat for the President's Cup which is allowing them to coast and get healthy. Pierre McGuire updates Mut and Lou on the possibility of Seidenberg's return and talks about situations elsewhere in the NHL.

Dale and Holley: Jack Edwards 4-10-14

Jack Edwards talks about the Bruins stretch run to the playoffs and rants about the NCAA.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the Red Wings series and the one year anniversary of the Marathon Bombings.

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Joe Andruzzi, Former Patriots OL: Reflecting on the Boston Marathon, 4-15-14

Joe Andruzzi witnessed the attacks first-hand and sprung into action to help others when the blasts went off on Boylston Street. The former Patriots OL joined the show to discuss and reflect on that day.

Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing one year later 4-15-14

Mut, Merloni and Christian Fauria reflect on the tragic events on April 15th 2013 at the Boston Marathon and discuss how the city has changed.

Matt Chatham with Dale an…

Matt Chatham with Dale and Holley: Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

We speak with Matt Chatham, who re-tells his story from that fateful Monday and looks ahead to brighter things, including this year's marathon.

Reflecting on the One-Year Anniversary of the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

Dale, Michael and Steve Lyons reflect back on the event last year, and the good that has taken place since then as Boston came together.

David Abel of the Boston Globe : Remembering Martin Richard through the eyes of the Richard family 4-15-14

We speak with David Abel of the Boston Globe, who penned the incredible piece on the Richard Family in this past weekend's Boston Globe.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Minor Details Ep. 79: The…

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

WEEI WrestleCast: Wrestlemania 30 recap

Scott and Ben recap WrestleMania 30 and talk about the death of the Ultimate Warrior.

Fantasy Football Offseason Podcast #3

It’s been a busy week across the NFL & with the College Football Draft Hopefuls so Jim Hackett & Pete Davidson plowed through as much as you can handle, including news about The Jets & their interest in Chris Johnson, the LSU Pro Day, rumors and news surrounding free agents & recent signings like Santonio Holmes, DeSean Jackson & Nate Burleson. Then it’s all about the 2014 Rookie Wide Receiver class that just continues to grow and impress. There’s a lot here to keep you informed as the offseason heats up and the draft approaches. Get ready!

Boston Strong one year la…

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

More from this show

Brad Faxon gives his take…

Brad Faxon gives his take on Bubba Watson capturing his second Green Jacket 4-14-14

Friend of the show, Brad Faxon, checks in to examine all the Masters action and to evaluate Bubba Watson's performance.

More from this show

Bruins V. Red Wings in fi…

Bruins V. Red Wings in first round of NHL Playoffs 4-14-14

LB joins Mut and Merloni in studio to preview the Bruins first opponent in the playoffs, the Detroit Red Wings.

More from this show

Headlines Headlines Headl…

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

More from this show

Weei Writers