WEEI>On Demand>>CSNNE's Tom E Curran previews Texans @ Patriots with the Big Show

CSNNE's Tom E Curran previews Texans @ Patriots with the Big Show

Dec 7, 2012|

We talk Patriots with Quick Slants own Tom E Curran.

Related Audio:

  1. Pete Sheppard and Matt Chatham look back at the Patriots active weekend in free agency

    Mon, 18 Mar 2013

    Pete and Matt react to the signings and re-signings the Patriots agreed to over the weekend. Matt gives his perspective on the fractured relationship between the Patriots and Wes Welker.

  2. Comings and goings at Foxboro, how the Patriots core is changing.

    Fri, 15 Mar 2013

    Tom E Curran, Pete Sheppard and Jack Edwards break down all the comings and goings from Gilette Stadium on a day when the changing of players really heats up for the Patriots.

  3. With Wes Welker gone, can Danny Amendola fill his shoes?

    Thu, 14 Mar 2013

    We discuss the only topic of the day... the departure of Wes Welker and the signing of Danny Amendola.

  4. The Big Show's 4 at Four - 03/14/13

    Thu, 14 Mar 2013

    Four topics we haven't touched upon... although today we kind of did... four Wes Welker topics are tackled.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

-- back here at the back shelf or why and how it's done for our weekly get together with some -- car at -- all brought you by Tom at west Walker's here doctor. Doctor Robert clinical want he's under it yet here. -- or Saturday. -- You -- doing well today. Yeah great Friday or or well just you know I just wanna make sure you feel good today that's. Or. What's your take a Monday night well how are you looking at this game. I think that it a couple of different areas that are absolutely key in the first one is essential -- -- -- split. -- Patriots defense. Coming up stretch you don't blocking you have to have probably the best game of Brandon Spikes played all year. Has to be Monday night he has to be extremely disappointed in the -- flows fiesta it'll be careful when he attacks. Different gaps and to -- the -- in the middle against Chris Myers talked to Ted Johnson last I had a quick flexible system. He's always talked about this whether it was with the Denver Broncos when he was playing or -- Everything is predicated on stopping. The so the kind of an offense once stretched way. And that starts rumblings about it with the middle of the defense to line in the middle of the offense on defense can win. Which I would presuppose that he can. Then you're gonna come out -- You know I'd say it's -- very bitter very few people talk about their lines I mean -- I want the defensive line but they really just talking by JJ watt. And don't talk like anybody else in an offensive line doesn't get a lot of attention. From what you seen what would your analysis of this Houston offensive line. Well it be left Apple's excellent plain brown Belichick has. Talk about animal we keep seeing deaths -- seven degrees here -- the global last year -- Chris Myers is this second best outside deployment and -- just two Myers right. He's probably a little more susceptible. Than anybody else maligned so its it's going to be title of and Vince Wilfork -- to to make plays in the -- to -- all. But that's a really good -- applied -- mobile will you remember I'll get for used to do it they would have app that -- that the climate we get out. And field remove and block is struck mail was saying earlier that we are talking about that basically -- grass. If -- -- -- first game prairie -- cut it -- we can't afford to the machine. You have to string it out from the sidelines want to cancel the other aspect comes in its campaign. And with -- which don't likely back in the lineup if you have Rob Ninkovich -- Are those to be good game to Jermaine Cunningham to be in the mix -- a bigger guys in Ninkovich more -- To be on that but but it -- be so it's gonna happen so. There right at this may be the evolution of sports training working out -- the resources that are available now but. You mentioned Denver the Denver connection with the Texans and it's clear is there with the head coach and the effort to coordinator. But it's amazing to meet Tom as you look at these guys they're offered to live in Denver used to have these small guys who can get out and do -- -- -- 2752 -- maybe. This -- at 300 it's the big this Texans up at the line is big and mobile. So I think they aren't there a bit to -- it really. That's the thing like at the great point because you don't take the field Chris -- and not. Bill was -- Foxboro they want it although that's smaller and more -- he's got a 300 commendable. So you're right the evolution of the game that's what. Grew -- couldn't. Aussie -- Jolie's. Daughter even start wow it's really look at the -- Russell coming got me but then you start attacking Oscar Robertson in and Julie's serve I really does hurt me so. Think the worst in the could ever happen to those guys were hardwood classics. NBA television. If she thought Robertson just back and people that was right in adult April built into the market okay -- got a lot starting at. Anyway. Their greatest players in the history let me ask you about the -- I thought -- -- -- -- Let me -- let me ask -- about the offense obviously -- is going to be really. Not like you don't miss him every week when he's not playing by -- in the game like this not only for is catching ability but it's blocking ability as well. Hope picks up the slack and let's get right to Brandon Lloyd does he not have to give them more in a game like this down specially with the settlement out -- injury. Well in the book the slot senses. It's here who think the the Texans defense which is the Broncos defense the chargers defense and every defense the patriots have -- that. Included Wade Phillips. It attacks -- -- one gap I don't want to be mr. chalk talk here as well the patriots reform which is an accepting defense forces and attack and defense. So the premiere on the outside. They're gonna try to attack scenes and in the capsule -- so that it's operated and have to get rid of the ball quickly. Additionally with their -- more on that and that's why they're gonna get up they're gonna get their hands so it's important it's somebody wins on the perimeter. -- and it will it would be your perimeter -- What he struggled with some you know seven -- more. Targets. In six of the first seven games since then he's only been targeted seven times or more want. So he's clearly the patriots have moved on from him as being a core part of their profits. He doesn't win at the line of scrimmage. He doesn't in the -- slight. To shake up press coverage and not exactly quick enough to vote step which were brought Wes Welker kept. So that's what -- limitations are that can make that I think catch on the sidelines. -- could anybody in the NFL here. That what percentage stroke but -- -- and I need the key to Houston's job and you're -- He is all about importantly at this point if you can't wait and perhaps more opportunities. Picnic outside the liquid record to -- -- Sounds like sounds like they're trying to get him to play but you wonder whether he's a 100% -- then Danny -- had based on your description and I agree with everything you just said. Does Danny -- did not become a big part of that did that game. He would he would get does especially because I believe they're got a goal warp speed up that's that's the best power to JJ watt toreros met. It had thought and all the other guys who are so good on this. Houston's defense to get into the quarterback getting up field. -- -- -- -- -- It comes with it it comes written here comes during okay we're running an actual. That's what the patriots are gonna have to make. Those high percentage throws incompletion circular. So Brady's gonna have to listen to -- -- start of -- to go to winningest. They might have better game especially against that can be guy I totally agree. That there will be in a hurry up up -- type of offense and it's to their benefit. When did he would have to admit that I think he's been correct me from what which are -- I think it would -- it's been their best hurry up back. Yes. But not Tommy said Lloyd hasn't been winning at the line of scrimmage. Right Gerri you're -- Brandon Lloyd Wright yes. -- -- and I'm confused as to but I agree he hasn't. But why not mean he you look at his career. And I think we had this discussion before he signed with the patriots in the book that -- look at the look at some numbers this guy has put up you know down field. He's a threat what happened and an even in places where he wasn't. Great to get his yards per catch and it's impressive this year. It's not what happened. Bullet point 20 yeah it was the best statistically what it would have pro football focus. Or any of the break out stats we could find. Doubt he'll targets Hewitt the most pro receiver over the last three years down field I'm not. And I think what happened is. In the Patriots offense. -- -- -- -- But did he try. To make him an outside weapon by Josh McDaniels hasn't been forced. While we're -- the pretty low rate of return. On these sort of there. -- well Gregg I think that he really into an awful lot I don't know maybe tilt it up Marcos doubles you know. Check it down some of these guys that went. Brit awards numbers went up if it's Kyle Orton -- near Denver. It's it's Sam Bradford or apartments nerves and Louis. In a referendum was that your best options are you gonna -- on the ball a little bit more. But I think that you know in terms of Tom Brady not to spend a lot of time staring number in the lord. We're here as well for broke -- I think that apple what to do it. You know -- jets gave to me. Doesn't take a lot. For Tom Brady to decide okay party's over this is what I get over there a move off and we saw that 2000 emigrating -- -- In new York and that's that's kind of what happened with the New York Jets and bring them what they tried to feature -- and that surpasses sixty yards beyond him downfield because he was working so hard. Get off the line coming to a complete stop trying to restart it was the diminishing returns are -- wins Monday. I detector well I think you're out that's right now it -- it -- Turbo at eight guys and and the speed things up. And I think that. -- not quite sure. I mean -- this -- -- -- -- but I think the patriots still went 3120311. -- I think that you know Houston it's. Maybe not necessarily ready for the type of I. Impression they're encountering you know a bit so Andre Johnson that this is the game history reference I. I think it's huge hit 11 factor that could -- muddled Wade Phillips. He would always had success with his attacking defense against the patriot. The report or its Bill Belichick coached teams get -- they're gonna make a slated for the patriots -- cents. Regardless of Johnathan Joseph and there are -- I tell me we'll talk and coming up a good on. I got a originally -- how many regular debate --

Audio On Demand

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Rep…

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Heath Evans, NFL Network: The Impact of Revis and Browner on the Patriots Defense

Heath Evans of the NFL Network joins Mut and Lou to talk how Revis and Browner impact the Patriots defense, the Vince Wilfork Situation, and the arms race between Denver and New England

Former Patriot Ty Law with Dale, Holley and Fauria

We talk Revis with his friend and mentor, former Patriot Ty Law.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, discussing Rajon Rondo as a color commentator, the NBA draft, and the epic Pacers-Heat game

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston joins Mut, Lou, and Christian to talk about Rajon Rondo in the booth, the rest of the Celtics losing season, and the epic battle between the Pacers and Heat.

Joe and Dave Postgame wit…

Joe and Dave Postgame with Grady Sizemore 04-11-14

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox starting left fielder, Grady Sizemore. grady talks about what it was like to hit a home run off his old teammate, C.C. Sabathia, and his reaction to not seeing Koji on the mound in a save situation.

Dale and Holley: Steve Lyons 4-11-14

Steve Lyons joins Dale and Holley to talk about the Red Sox and Yankees series and Michael Pineda's sticky hand.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: On Pineda's par tar 4-11-14

Kevin Millar makes his weekly appearance to discuss Michael Pineda's apparent pine tar on his hand, the Red Sox loss to the Yankees, and the team's pitching.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the upcoming series against the Red Wings.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, brings us around the NHL 4-11-14

2 games left in the season and the Bruins are in the driver's seat for the President's Cup which is allowing them to coast and get healthy. Pierre McGuire updates Mut and Lou on the possibility of Seidenberg's return and talks about situations elsewhere in the NHL.

Dale and Holley: Jack Edwards 4-10-14

Jack Edwards talks about the Bruins stretch run to the playoffs and rants about the NCAA.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the Red Wings series and the one year anniversary of the Marathon Bombings.

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Joe Andruzzi, Former Patriots OL: Reflecting on the Boston Marathon, 4-15-14

Joe Andruzzi witnessed the attacks first-hand and sprung into action to help others when the blasts went off on Boylston Street. The former Patriots OL joined the show to discuss and reflect on that day.

Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing one year later 4-15-14

Mut, Merloni and Christian Fauria reflect on the tragic events on April 15th 2013 at the Boston Marathon and discuss how the city has changed.

Matt Chatham with Dale an…

Matt Chatham with Dale and Holley: Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

We speak with Matt Chatham, who re-tells his story from that fateful Monday and looks ahead to brighter things, including this year's marathon.

Reflecting on the One-Year Anniversary of the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

Dale, Michael and Steve Lyons reflect back on the event last year, and the good that has taken place since then as Boston came together.

David Abel of the Boston Globe : Remembering Martin Richard through the eyes of the Richard family 4-15-14

We speak with David Abel of the Boston Globe, who penned the incredible piece on the Richard Family in this past weekend's Boston Globe.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Minor Details Ep. 79: The…

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

WEEI WrestleCast: Wrestlemania 30 recap

Scott and Ben recap WrestleMania 30 and talk about the death of the Ultimate Warrior.

Fantasy Football Offseason Podcast #3

It’s been a busy week across the NFL & with the College Football Draft Hopefuls so Jim Hackett & Pete Davidson plowed through as much as you can handle, including news about The Jets & their interest in Chris Johnson, the LSU Pro Day, rumors and news surrounding free agents & recent signings like Santonio Holmes, DeSean Jackson & Nate Burleson. Then it’s all about the 2014 Rookie Wide Receiver class that just continues to grow and impress. There’s a lot here to keep you informed as the offseason heats up and the draft approaches. Get ready!

Boston Strong one year la…

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

More from this show

Brad Faxon gives his take…

Brad Faxon gives his take on Bubba Watson capturing his second Green Jacket 4-14-14

Friend of the show, Brad Faxon, checks in to examine all the Masters action and to evaluate Bubba Watson's performance.

More from this show

Bruins V. Red Wings in fi…

Bruins V. Red Wings in first round of NHL Playoffs 4-14-14

LB joins Mut and Merloni in studio to preview the Bruins first opponent in the playoffs, the Detroit Red Wings.

More from this show

Headlines Headlines Headl…

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

More from this show

Weei Writers