WEEI>On Demand>>A Thanksgiving preview: of the Pats and your local townie bar

A Thanksgiving preview: of the Pats and your local townie bar

Nov 21, 2012|

Mut and Lou look at the biggest drinking day of the year as they delve into the Pats-Jets matchup on Thanksgiving. They break down the matchup, particularly on the defensive side of the ball, now with cornerback Aqib Talib in tow.

Related Audio:

  1. Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

    Tue, 15 Apr 2014

    Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

  2. Joe Andruzzi, Former Patriots OL: Reflecting on the Boston Marathon, 4-15-14

    Tue, 15 Apr 2014

    Joe Andruzzi witnessed the attacks first-hand and sprung into action to help others when the blasts went off on Boylston Street. The former Patriots OL joined the show to discuss and reflect on that day.

  3. Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing one year later 4-15-14

    Tue, 15 Apr 2014

    Mut, Merloni and Christian Fauria reflect on the tragic events on April 15th 2013 at the Boston Marathon and discuss how the city has changed.

  4. Barry Melrose, ESPN: On Bruins RedWings and the Playoffs 4-15-14

    Tue, 15 Apr 2014

    Barry Melrose joins the show to discuss the Bruins upcoming series against the Red Wings, the possible return of Dennis Seidenberg, and the NHL playoffs.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

Not only is today in real life get away day for a lot of people not only is today one of the busiest traffic. And supermarket days of the entire year. It's also the biggest drink united a year lose misses. This amateur night now say average night like new year receive but. This is what you get together you -- -- college player people listening right now our whole for college break on a life and tonight is I haven't seen. Judy Simmons since last summer I went -- -- a college haven't seen us here for the first time I haven't seen it. Girl acts for five years five year reunion ten year reunion at local bars and restaurants across Massachusetts. And it's got to get ugly a lot of cases because that's what tonight is to bed miss her very soft. Are those days and see -- people you haven't see and faking that he still care about them like there are a lot about them ever -- -- 51059. Not not a pretty sight -- more of like brutal college thing right silica or school reunion or some -- first few years out and get together everybody. Hours of extended Thanksgiving kind of starts off with it Thanksgiving breakfast at the salute tiny club in -- it -- Saul -- in eagle there in the morning. Every one year that that Thanksgiving eve is just it never ended and never slept in pretty much went right to have breakfast. Without sleeping at all if you can believe it irony here is -- involved that we get a poker ball late night it just never seems to and you lose track of time. And it made for a tough day committee go to the game your outside you kind of wake up the right around dinnertime so taken at 5 o'clock -- you want to go to bed at noon. -- hung over you feel bad you never slept in a real final GR. But. I've made for adjusting Thanksgiving Day you how many years ago -- -- how many years out of college you when that was first couple are still in college was still in college ago days. The all night poker game if you years after -- it's it to but don't speak. That we are to get the text guys -- runs a bar worst ever united the year by far I've for people who run bars and restaurants is actually worse than a year easy because lot of cases. There's a New Year's Eve party to go to or you might stable for New Year's -- this what do you do -- go out the local bar in what order Slattery in Pittsburgh. We used to go on this when we go it's a brand new casket flag -- feel that all I don't know call me crazy. Which may happen. That's OKC -- and opium action and beam would be year old and -- some people for some people Libya which nine nick O'Malley is producing today. Not an outs off the -- is gonna he's already drinking and other. It's amazing I -- see that he was sizable laughs I Villa takes our bottles got the day opera nick is already booze it up get ready for tonight let's go to one producer drink stands up to the producer director mr. -- that continuity year. But he announced everybody back there in the office on official five year college reunion and I warned -- you're gonna -- -- to be -- in the again do you reunion last night we can roll it just like Jimmy has it ever end for you nick -- whatever and a cactus Jack. Dexter is right the big thing if your guy from -- -- every guy but it was how much weight as she gained. Since we brought colleges are tough first couple -- and one way to issue put on the first semester that freshman fifteen it was out of should look at the different -- -- FaceBook the picture looks pretty got all real life. The difference an area that's tonight to be ready for that -- you syndicates paupers you get older because tomorrow becomes about family and food. End if you go real hard tonight is there -- fear -- by 8 o'clock tomorrow patriots and jets the tank might be run -- empty you might miss what is the the double families get together the cousins who hate each other patriots jets tomorrow at 8 o'clock in NBC. And it's a question as you go to -- the one. Always lose those that middle game because there aren't there and an app game that's that game isn't it a -- little big elect Daniel lake public -- -- -- fourth quarter. -- -- Cindy have and national Turkey did there in your relaxing game is on and kind of -- and now you watch the game. -- -- done to get home and its second quarter first quarter maybe you're Albany just you sort of lose that little game that's why it's nice to have the -- -- -- -- -- before -- I guess -- -- but it is -- apartment the night before sometimes an app in the afternoon that he's forget you know. This is pats jets on -- and YouTube problem how many people drink like Q. You know I mean so you've been stopped at. We've all been their nickel be there tomorrow -- of a fear Nick's gonna sleep through most of Thanksgiving. And this game hobbled we're talking but the jets and their out of it and their -- that for both these teams. This is a legitimate important game for it to the Beijing Games the role -- -- but think about the way these things can ego on it's a short week to. Patriots win this game they dispose of the jets in the division sweep them right. They basically it in my opinion lock up the AFC east. I keep themselves the contention for one or two seed in the AF -- that stays alive with a win over the jets a loss. And while you're resigned to a 34 seed in some way shape perform if Houston San Francisco doesn't go your way maybe. You keep the door open when the divisions not a lock at this point. I think this game hinges for the patriots on sort of putting the steam behind him -- keep the divisional play for the jets. There's a story today defending Rex Ryan like he's assured they get fired. If they don't make the playoffs. They they lose this game Ryan said on the chopping block he ball they replaced by Sanchez with a ten day break between games they win. All of a sudden your five and six PS3 121 -- -- I think this is a huge. Sort of swing game in terms of trying to decide the future as a -- these games. What I don't I don't think I don't think anything would happen during the year I mean if they haven't replaced Mark Sanchez by now are they going through. Mean he's had some of that but the worst games of his career he's come Beckham and the quarterback the next we don't have a they macros McIlroy is not the guy apparently. It Diebold they don't believe is the guy that David use him for God's sakes. As far as Rex Ryan goes you talk about the defense is already there now now get -- a bomb in this roster what the head coach. If something into that hole I mean -- -- base -- right north and it would save his job. Days if Woody Johnson was the guy you know that -- it Tebow. I think it's already a step further Eric -- -- put this roster together extranet nothing no way report. I think he's safe this year I don't I'm not so sure be the head coach next year. But yeah you're right I mean this is the dagger in the skies -- Brady knows you heard earlier in week. There's opportunity to have a four and seven and given the rear view mirror -- is gonna have put the bills in the end dolphins this week but. Again. You'll remember this is an all time wind right in July 2926. This very well could have been 55 or six and four. Gay so are they taken his team too lightly I don't fix all that they showed. -- this teams take anybody too lightly when you look at the short week. If I'm the better team which I think the patriots are watchers normal right almost -- want normal weather I wanna normal schedule. And to school blissful blockers on the better team a normal day. Every get a team and I'm not sure even snow affects this team like zero outstanding in the snow. But if -- get a day where it's windy you don't affects the ball game to be affected that hurts the better team. And a short week I think especially this team doing a pitcher with a situated I think it hurts them more. -- because -- one it's just a short we did a better team you want a full week to prepare the opportunity it is like for the grown its gain one life without gronkowski. You know -- get your offensive line still nicked up still banged up. I would rather -- along we -- of this game I still think they win this game. Normally I would say the patriots absolutely. Aren't a spot where they benefit but you you're number two was rock house that's -- noble -- an -- without life. With out there past reds -- -- Maybe arguably that the best start to a tight -- career in history the NFL that's Rob Gronkowski and they're trying to figure route. In the span of what 4872. Hours terrible in the planning goes this game -- coaching staff and as a team. We're place maybe our best non offensive lineman blocker. And our our our reds all weapon of all reds on weapons it's a huge. Benefit to the jets. -- -- short week in the patriots -- the without light without Rob Gronkowski with the additional -- -- like a lock Aaron Hernandez was going to play. Reports now from got a prayer -- Johnson elements in this of the earlier today. All Sutton went from -- Hernandez has been pointing to this game and he's going to play two if there -- setbacks who played a limited role. That's changing the equation your that we talked immediately Monday I was the Patriots offense -- without gronkowski and it cushions the blow to. If Fernandez plays in this game. Well if he's limited and -- play a certain role. Then that cushion is out the window and I deal with limited Hernandez potentially and no gronkowski. It absolutely benefits the jets absolutely short week benefits the jets because the patriots are trying to. I don't Odyssey re do their offense to Josh McDaniels -- Dallas tight ends before. But he's by far the best weapon and doing the red zone like I -- the patriots and they get inside the candidates first -- -- you're thinking okayed the first or second and the third. Is it over the shoulder is all picked play. Is it you'll flair right he's able to get one on one coverage -- beat him as he has last couple weeks. Rock. Are able what do you do here there's no Hernandez. In Bogota palpable greatly well you know big events on page and go. Ever -- what hurts to be a different what do you do rightly Hernandez has been out this lineup be legal or more three wide receiver set with Rob Gronkowski. Is -- okay you'll grant is out -- -- more with three wide set actually -- more to too tight ends. -- wide receivers maybe a three like she -- up there are times and it's only because. Aaron Hernandez will be lined up outside in most Oklahoma tight end. You know so I think Aaron will be out there are a lot go with weather -- -- who win or Shiancoe. So technically he will have to -- that's who we call him. In order means so well I don't know just go right back the three watchers -- they would grant see that's the whole thing is what we call Aaron Hernandez right. He's not Rob Gronkowski that your time is not he's not not even close and wide and when -- call right so how does it affect them will will see how they. Now they have this master plan right coming into the year it was every single reporter. Edit the patriots. Obviously were talking to these guys that it was a -- and his breakout year. I asked him before the season -- -- -- how would you would you call this offense is a diverse. You know we were booted too many did we do a lot of different things. We never really got to see that you know we saw that for a week you know we just didn't really see what was. When the season thinking negative split screen pass to the Josh -- does Iowa ten weeks into it not really don't really do it. What was the player -- who will we see that. Without a Gallic McCaskey -- is going to be more involved. But I still technically. When we come in here and on and on Friday or Monday about time that -- it down as far as packages they use you gonna see more two tight ends. Just because nick Knight does benefit the jets this week I agree with and the question becomes anti patriots and do you agree to the short week. Up next the patriots war affects the jets more.

Audio On Demand

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Rep…

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Heath Evans, NFL Network: The Impact of Revis and Browner on the Patriots Defense

Heath Evans of the NFL Network joins Mut and Lou to talk how Revis and Browner impact the Patriots defense, the Vince Wilfork Situation, and the arms race between Denver and New England

Former Patriot Ty Law with Dale, Holley and Fauria

We talk Revis with his friend and mentor, former Patriot Ty Law.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, discussing Rajon Rondo as a color commentator, the NBA draft, and the epic Pacers-Heat game

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston joins Mut, Lou, and Christian to talk about Rajon Rondo in the booth, the rest of the Celtics losing season, and the epic battle between the Pacers and Heat.

Joe and Dave Postgame wit…

Joe and Dave Postgame with Grady Sizemore 04-11-14

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox starting left fielder, Grady Sizemore. grady talks about what it was like to hit a home run off his old teammate, C.C. Sabathia, and his reaction to not seeing Koji on the mound in a save situation.

Dale and Holley: Steve Lyons 4-11-14

Steve Lyons joins Dale and Holley to talk about the Red Sox and Yankees series and Michael Pineda's sticky hand.

Kevin Millar, MLB Network: On Pineda's par tar 4-11-14

Kevin Millar makes his weekly appearance to discuss Michael Pineda's apparent pine tar on his hand, the Red Sox loss to the Yankees, and the team's pitching.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the upcoming series against the Red Wings.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, brings us around the NHL 4-11-14

2 games left in the season and the Bruins are in the driver's seat for the President's Cup which is allowing them to coast and get healthy. Pierre McGuire updates Mut and Lou on the possibility of Seidenberg's return and talks about situations elsewhere in the NHL.

Dale and Holley: Jack Edwards 4-10-14

Jack Edwards talks about the Bruins stretch run to the playoffs and rants about the NCAA.

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the Red Wings series and the one year anniversary of the Marathon Bombings.

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Joe Andruzzi, Former Patriots OL: Reflecting on the Boston Marathon, 4-15-14

Joe Andruzzi witnessed the attacks first-hand and sprung into action to help others when the blasts went off on Boylston Street. The former Patriots OL joined the show to discuss and reflect on that day.

Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing one year later 4-15-14

Mut, Merloni and Christian Fauria reflect on the tragic events on April 15th 2013 at the Boston Marathon and discuss how the city has changed.

Matt Chatham with Dale an…

Matt Chatham with Dale and Holley: Remembering the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

We speak with Matt Chatham, who re-tells his story from that fateful Monday and looks ahead to brighter things, including this year's marathon.

Reflecting on the One-Year Anniversary of the Boston Marathon Bombing 4-15-14

Dale, Michael and Steve Lyons reflect back on the event last year, and the good that has taken place since then as Boston came together.

David Abel of the Boston Globe : Remembering Martin Richard through the eyes of the Richard family 4-15-14

We speak with David Abel of the Boston Globe, who penned the incredible piece on the Richard Family in this past weekend's Boston Globe.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Minor Details Ep. 79: The…

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

WEEI WrestleCast: Wrestlemania 30 recap

Scott and Ben recap WrestleMania 30 and talk about the death of the Ultimate Warrior.

Fantasy Football Offseason Podcast #3

It’s been a busy week across the NFL & with the College Football Draft Hopefuls so Jim Hackett & Pete Davidson plowed through as much as you can handle, including news about The Jets & their interest in Chris Johnson, the LSU Pro Day, rumors and news surrounding free agents & recent signings like Santonio Holmes, DeSean Jackson & Nate Burleson. Then it’s all about the 2014 Rookie Wide Receiver class that just continues to grow and impress. There’s a lot here to keep you informed as the offseason heats up and the draft approaches. Get ready!

Boston Strong one year la…

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

More from this show

Brad Faxon gives his take…

Brad Faxon gives his take on Bubba Watson capturing his second Green Jacket 4-14-14

Friend of the show, Brad Faxon, checks in to examine all the Masters action and to evaluate Bubba Watson's performance.

More from this show

Bruins V. Red Wings in fi…

Bruins V. Red Wings in first round of NHL Playoffs 4-14-14

LB joins Mut and Merloni in studio to preview the Bruins first opponent in the playoffs, the Detroit Red Wings.

More from this show

Headlines Headlines Headl…

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

More from this show

Weei Writers