WEEI>On Demand>>Doc Rivers and Sean Grande preview Celtics vs Bucks and talk trade deadline rumors

Doc Rivers and Sean Grande preview Celtics vs Bucks and talk trade deadline rumors

Feb 29, 2012|

Doc Rivers spoke to Sean Grande during tonight's pregame show about all things Celtics, including recent trade rumors.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

The Celtics are presented by -- continues from TD garden that's right from way. From TD garden the first time in two weeks on the back of our home floor over a conversation with their coach remains the same brought to you by our -- -- health care. Making health care work better I don't know what to do when -- beginning by talking about the injury there's some I know this is really the first time man. I'm trying to -- at the same injury suspension news you know dislocated fingers that would ever missing the fonts. The first time I can remember you've had the same lineup going in that you need you're gonna have. There it is. Got to practice what they can play again and -- play another -- it's a trend for the second half I can go. Really it's optimism we have a lot that's. That's why I like being -- with these diluted optimism is who is out. Well there was optimism the first quarter last night and you've got to practice he said on Monday in Cleveland. Was some of the things that you he can practice on Monday is that what we saw him. There was great ball movement was was was fantastic the floor space. We had guys cutting and then we went back into our turn over vote and that changed the game -- -- the spirit of the game because. One of the things we talked about that smaller guys doing pretty good job in -- middle of a sudden it changed and I thought guys really got dispirited because they. You know it that the tow do one thing that's good they wanna do well and when -- when it wasn't going well for them in effect. You mean as opposed to teams that will check out what things are going good practice yes -- points in the -- last night that was something that solves Kevin Garnett is one example make you concerted effort to get. To get in deeper to catch and we haven't seen a lot of nights where does that particular category you Dominique. Yeah it was a a point of emphasis as well and Procter and for that game especially -- -- sleeping tonight I mean we have. Do what we did tonight offensively. Avery is even given what he did Jameer Nelson that night was that his best game laughed like yeah I thought it was his best total -- I think when leveraged. Before last night was he says some glory -- and legendary. At this position. Last Friday that -- you know -- -- -- and around the -- Mercury extremely well. He's pretty good. But what we did was he made it more difficult for curry to score and more difficult for the immediate answers that off. And more importantly he knock down open shots and he cut. When -- both the cut -- boy that was used. That's what I was gonna wanna get too because it seemed were starting to see the things. When the game slows down a little bit they slowed down defensively was always gonna do with what he can do when he found it figured out that -- -- skills but last -- there were couple moments. You can -- the team offensively just going a little slow for him and we talked but that's what second make all the difference in the world really. And he's comfortable he knows where guys are going to be there and so he's very comfortable. Tracy's in the NBA -- -- -- talking about it basically begins at midnight essentially the way this season is enough when you're playing with their times at the trade deadline is your name was sort prominently mentioned whether it's gonna vote. When you get a so no -- Obviously the only time that I -- I can remember every being in the -- The year before mystery. Right reported that line there's rumors that all of them. Break of the team and I mean nominee that you guys. You know had value and I was Smart and know what it means. -- -- and then I got that but it didn't really affect me. If there ever a time as a coach is there ever a time where it is something you dress with Hitler it's 12% on the world -- -- yeah there's time to me when you get so heated talks. I mean when. You hear about not only talks with injuries and how close they are. That affects -- in some weird you leave alone some players to auction rate last year. You know we really never had a big talk about it you know some guys we will. Is there a if they're -- -- is it different now because. Everything. Between Twitter and FaceBook and MySpace and every other possible social media outlet. There were -- there now and agents and or you know obviously heavily involved is it. Harder now or is it easier to say things register rumor because literally -- percentage of things that are made up is much greater. Well I don't know what it's it's harder. Now because some of the rumors are just silly. You know -- get into what the rumor was there was a rumor. 34 weeks ago that I can tell you it was never talked about in all our Sony's PU and I heard people talk him out of -- questions about those that while. It's amazing. I can guarantee you. It had been approached no one talked about it and our organization yet. It's new rules now. That it's a treat we're considering and I thought that that was completely under our real quick. On the books that obviously you know which again -- what Scott's house team on the other side by that one player that nobody they're gonna know the -- they don't know Ersan Ilyasova before tonight cancel singer Conan Nolan because he has not only has no. Have. That what optimism is pouring -- and he is the kind of player the year the is happening that is giving you. Well -- energy player athletic. Relentless. He relentlessly attacks that every room had a big chip in last right that's just who you isn't. He's -- he's still young I think people forget about him -- think this guy has been probably buy 427. Married at night and -- I thought when it recently for. Mean he's still very young basketball -- between people there I don't remember. 26 years ago. That's the head coach it's the Celtics if the Milwaukee Bucks and it's next WEEI Celtics radio network.

Audio On Demand

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Rep…

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Heath Evans, NFL Network: The Impact of Revis and Browner on the Patriots Defense

Heath Evans of the NFL Network joins Mut and Lou to talk how Revis and Browner impact the Patriots defense, the Vince Wilfork Situation, and the arms race between Denver and New England

Former Patriot Ty Law with Dale, Holley and Fauria

We talk Revis with his friend and mentor, former Patriot Ty Law.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Ow…

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, discussing Rajon Rondo as a color commentator, the NBA draft, and the epic Pacers-Heat game

Jackie MacMullan of ESPN Boston joins Mut, Lou, and Christian to talk about Rajon Rondo in the booth, the rest of the Celtics losing season, and the epic battle between the Pacers and Heat.

Red Sox Manager John Farr…

Red Sox Manager John Farrell with Dale and Holley

We discuss the Red Sox early season woes with manager John Farrell, as well as his views and faith in MLB's new instant replay system, and the continuity in the Sox outfield.

Joe and Dave Postgame with Grady Sizemore 04-11-14

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox starting left fielder, Grady Sizemore. grady talks about what it was like to hit a home run off his old teammate, C.C. Sabathia, and his reaction to not seeing Koji on the mound in a save situation.

Dale and Holley: Steve Lyons 4-11-14

Steve Lyons joins Dale and Holley to talk about the Red Sox and Yankees series and Michael Pineda's sticky hand.

Pod Man Rush: DJ Bean and…

Pod Man Rush: DJ Bean and Greg Wyshynski on Bruins-Red Wings

Greg Wyshynski of Yahoo! Sports joins DJ to break down the first-round matchup between the Bruins and Red Wings. Also discussed is Zdeno Chara's Norris candidacy, transparency with voting for the NHL awards and whether the Canadiens will get out of the first round.

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the upcoming series against the Red Wings.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, brings us around the NHL 4-11-14

2 games left in the season and the Bruins are in the driver's seat for the President's Cup which is allowing them to coast and get healthy. Pierre McGuire updates Mut and Lou on the possibility of Seidenberg's return and talks about situations elsewhere in the NHL.

Crystel the Tsnarnaev def…

Crystel the Tsnarnaev defender 4=16=14

Crystel called in to defend the terrorists.

Michele McPhee on the nutjob at the finish line

Our friend Michele McPhee joined the show to discuss the latest with Kayvon.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Chelsea Handler

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane.

Buster Olney, ESPN: Sox c…

Buster Olney, ESPN: Sox clubhouse unhappy with Lester offer, 4-16-14

Buster Olney joined Mut and Merloni to discuss the Lester contract offer and the trickle-down effect in the clubhouse, the defense of Xander Bogaerts, and the slow start

Andy Brickley, NESN: Boston's depth is too much for Detroit, 4-16-14

Andy Brickley joins Mut and Merloni to discuss the Bruins Red Wings series, a possible Seidenberg return, and the power play.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

John Farrell joins Dale a…

John Farrell joins Dale and Holley

We discuss the Red Sox early season woes with manager John Farrell, as well as his views and faith in MLB's new instant replay system, and the continuity in the Sox outfield.

Red Sox batting order and outfield continues to lack continuity

We discuss the Red Sox after our interview with John Farrell, and Dustin Pedroia in the lead-off position has become a hot topic.

Should Bruins fans be wary of the Red Wings? And why?

We discuss the Bruins first round matchup vs the Red Wings, and why many national folks think this series could be the one to watch for an early round upset.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Pod Man Rush: DJ Bean and…

Pod Man Rush: DJ Bean and Greg Wyshynski on Bruins-Red Wings

Greg Wyshynski of Yahoo! Sports joins DJ to break down the first-round matchup between the Bruins and Red Wings. Also discussed is Zdeno Chara's Norris candidacy, transparency with voting for the NHL awards and whether the Canadiens will get out of the first round.

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

WEEI WrestleCast: Wrestlemania 30 recap

Scott and Ben recap WrestleMania 30 and talk about the death of the Ultimate Warrior.

Boston Strong one year la…

Boston Strong one year later 4-15-14

Our montage to honor all those impacted by the terrorist attacks one year ago.

More from this show

Crystel the Tsnarnaev def…

Crystel the Tsnarnaev defender 4=16=14

Crystel called in to defend the terrorists.

More from this show

Headlines Headlines Headl…

Headlines Headlines Headlines: Aaron Hernandez in more trouble 4-15-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed Aaron Hernandez getting in more jailhouse trouble.

More from this show

Brad Faxon gives his take…

Brad Faxon gives his take on Bubba Watson capturing his second Green Jacket 4-14-14

Friend of the show, Brad Faxon, checks in to examine all the Masters action and to evaluate Bubba Watson's performance.

More from this show

Shawn Thornton on the Red…

Shawn Thornton on the Red Wings 4-15-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to preview the Red Wings series and the one year anniversary of the Marathon Bombings.

More from this show

Weei Writers