WEEI>On Demand>>Doc Rivers and Sean Grande preview Celtics vs Bucks and talk trade deadline rumors

Doc Rivers and Sean Grande preview Celtics vs Bucks and talk trade deadline rumors

Feb 29, 2012|

Doc Rivers spoke to Sean Grande during tonight's pregame show about all things Celtics, including recent trade rumors.

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

The Celtics are presented by -- continues from TD garden that's right from way. From TD garden the first time in two weeks on the back of our home floor over a conversation with their coach remains the same brought to you by our -- -- health care. Making health care work better I don't know what to do when -- beginning by talking about the injury there's some I know this is really the first time man. I'm trying to -- at the same injury suspension news you know dislocated fingers that would ever missing the fonts. The first time I can remember you've had the same lineup going in that you need you're gonna have. There it is. Got to practice what they can play again and -- play another -- it's a trend for the second half I can go. Really it's optimism we have a lot that's. That's why I like being -- with these diluted optimism is who is out. Well there was optimism the first quarter last night and you've got to practice he said on Monday in Cleveland. Was some of the things that you he can practice on Monday is that what we saw him. There was great ball movement was was was fantastic the floor space. We had guys cutting and then we went back into our turn over vote and that changed the game -- -- the spirit of the game because. One of the things we talked about that smaller guys doing pretty good job in -- middle of a sudden it changed and I thought guys really got dispirited because they. You know it that the tow do one thing that's good they wanna do well and when -- when it wasn't going well for them in effect. You mean as opposed to teams that will check out what things are going good practice yes -- points in the -- last night that was something that solves Kevin Garnett is one example make you concerted effort to get. To get in deeper to catch and we haven't seen a lot of nights where does that particular category you Dominique. Yeah it was a a point of emphasis as well and Procter and for that game especially -- -- sleeping tonight I mean we have. Do what we did tonight offensively. Avery is even given what he did Jameer Nelson that night was that his best game laughed like yeah I thought it was his best total -- I think when leveraged. Before last night was he says some glory -- and legendary. At this position. Last Friday that -- you know -- -- -- and around the -- Mercury extremely well. He's pretty good. But what we did was he made it more difficult for curry to score and more difficult for the immediate answers that off. And more importantly he knock down open shots and he cut. When -- both the cut -- boy that was used. That's what I was gonna wanna get too because it seemed were starting to see the things. When the game slows down a little bit they slowed down defensively was always gonna do with what he can do when he found it figured out that -- -- skills but last -- there were couple moments. You can -- the team offensively just going a little slow for him and we talked but that's what second make all the difference in the world really. And he's comfortable he knows where guys are going to be there and so he's very comfortable. Tracy's in the NBA -- -- -- talking about it basically begins at midnight essentially the way this season is enough when you're playing with their times at the trade deadline is your name was sort prominently mentioned whether it's gonna vote. When you get a so no -- Obviously the only time that I -- I can remember every being in the -- The year before mystery. Right reported that line there's rumors that all of them. Break of the team and I mean nominee that you guys. You know had value and I was Smart and know what it means. -- -- and then I got that but it didn't really affect me. If there ever a time as a coach is there ever a time where it is something you dress with Hitler it's 12% on the world -- -- yeah there's time to me when you get so heated talks. I mean when. You hear about not only talks with injuries and how close they are. That affects -- in some weird you leave alone some players to auction rate last year. You know we really never had a big talk about it you know some guys we will. Is there a if they're -- -- is it different now because. Everything. Between Twitter and FaceBook and MySpace and every other possible social media outlet. There were -- there now and agents and or you know obviously heavily involved is it. Harder now or is it easier to say things register rumor because literally -- percentage of things that are made up is much greater. Well I don't know what it's it's harder. Now because some of the rumors are just silly. You know -- get into what the rumor was there was a rumor. 34 weeks ago that I can tell you it was never talked about in all our Sony's PU and I heard people talk him out of -- questions about those that while. It's amazing. I can guarantee you. It had been approached no one talked about it and our organization yet. It's new rules now. That it's a treat we're considering and I thought that that was completely under our real quick. On the books that obviously you know which again -- what Scott's house team on the other side by that one player that nobody they're gonna know the -- they don't know Ersan Ilyasova before tonight cancel singer Conan Nolan because he has not only has no. Have. That what optimism is pouring -- and he is the kind of player the year the is happening that is giving you. Well -- energy player athletic. Relentless. He relentlessly attacks that every room had a big chip in last right that's just who you isn't. He's -- he's still young I think people forget about him -- think this guy has been probably buy 427. Married at night and -- I thought when it recently for. Mean he's still very young basketball -- between people there I don't remember. 26 years ago. That's the head coach it's the Celtics if the Milwaukee Bucks and it's next WEEI Celtics radio network.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Lo…

It Is What It Is Cast: Logan Mankins, the offensive line, and Brandon Spikes' guarantee

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Christopher Price discuss Logan Mankins' breakdown of the offensive line and how it will look without Dante Scarnecchia. They also discussed Mankins' rebuttal to Brandon Spikes.

It Is What It Is Cast: Bill Parcells and Patriots Hall of Fame

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Bill Parcells' Patriots Hall of Fame candidacy.

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Celtics President Danny A…

Celtics President Danny Ainge with Dale and Holley 4-17-14

We wrap up the Celtics season by speaking with Celtics president Danny Ainge about this past season and the team's future.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

John Lackey with Joe and …

John Lackey with Joe and Dave after he pitches a great game to beat the Yankees

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox pitcher John Lackey after he goes 8 solid innings in a great performance, while giving the Red Sox bullpen a night off. Lackey talks a little about what he thinks about Michael Pineda's ejection for having pine tar on his neck.

Sox Manager John Farrell with Dale and Holley

We check in with John Farrell live from Fenway Park with Dale, Holley and Steve Lyons. We talk Boagearts, Buchholz, Pierzynski, Lester, the losing and much much more.

Tim Wakefield on the Red Sox tough start 4-23-14

Tim Wakefield discussed the Sox tough start to the season. He is optimistic that the guys can turn it around.

Andy Brickley, NESN: Reca…

Andy Brickley, NESN: Recaps Bruins vs Red Wings, Game 3

Andy Brickley, NESN; Joins Mut and Merloni to recap the Bruins win against the Red Wings in game 3

Shawn Thornton on the game 3 win in Detroit 4-23-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to discuss the Bruins win last night over the Red Wings. Shawn talked about Marchand's agitator status within the league.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, Bruins- Red Wings 4-22-14

Pierre McGuire of NBC Sports joins the program to talk about Game 3 between the Bruins and the Red Wings. He also discusses the issue of targeting player and weighs in on Matt Cooke's vicious knee hit to Tyson Barrie.

Shawn Thornton on the gam…

Shawn Thornton on the game 3 win in Detroit 4-23-14

Shawn Thornton joined the show to discuss the Bruins win last night over the Red Wings. Shawn talked about Marchand's agitator status within the league.

Tim Wakefield on the Red Sox tough start

Tim Wakefield discussed the Sox tough start to the season. He is optimistic that the guys can turn it around.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Colbert introduced on Letterman

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. The guys talked about Colbert joining Dave Letterman last night.

Aaron Boone, ESPN: Sox ha…

Aaron Boone, ESPN: Sox haven't been able to replace Ellsbury, 4-23-14

Aaron Boone joins Mut and Merloni to talk about the early season troubles the Red Sox have had and the defensive struggles.

Andy Brickley, NESN: Recaps Bruins vs Red Wings Game 3

Andy Brickley, NESN: Joins Mut and Merloni to recap the Bruins win against the Red Wings in game 3.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, Bruins- Red Wings 4-22-14

Pierre McGuire of NBC Sports joins the program to talk about Game 3 between the Bruins and the Red Wings. He also discusses the issue of targeting player and weighs in on Matt Cooke's vicious knee hit to Tyson Barrie.

Dale and Holley's Four at…

Dale and Holley's Four at Four Milestone Editon - 4/23/14

We tackle four topics all revolving around big time milestones in sports.

John Farrell with Dale and Holley: Pierzynski just needs more familiarity with this pitching staff 4-23-14

We check in with John Farrell live from Fenway Park with Dale, Holley and Steve Lyons. We talk Boagearts, Buchholz, Pierzynski, Lester, the losing and much much more.

Holy Diver? Bruins win but focus switches to Brad Marchand's instigating tactics 4-23-14

We discuss the Bruins win to take a 2-1 lead in Detroit, and how Brad Marchand is once again (for better or worse) making his presence felt in a series. Hey, he may be a rat, but he's OUR rat.

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Fantasy Football Off-Seas…

Fantasy Football Off-Season Podcast 4

The 4th addition of WEEI’s Fantasy Football Offseason Podcast is loaded and ready. In this week’s conversation Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson of Rotobahn.com dig into the sinking draft stock of Teddy Bridgewater (much too their chagrin), while refocusing and emphasizing the immense scouting work done by Pete on players like Bridgewater, Zach Mettenberger, Blake Bortles, Bishop Sankey & Lache Seastrunk. Also, Jim & Pete touch on news from around the league regarding new Jet, Chris Johnson, Montee Ball in Denver and help you tune out all of the negative noise some in the media are trying to push. We’re not buying! Lots of Football love in this podcast for the Football lover. Enjoy!

Pod Man Rush: DJ Bean and Greg Wyshynski on Bruins-Red Wings

Greg Wyshynski of Yahoo! Sports joins DJ to break down the first-round matchup between the Bruins and Red Wings. Also discussed is Zdeno Chara's Norris candidacy, transparency with voting for the NHL awards and whether the Canadiens will get out of the first round.

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

Boston Marathon director …

Boston Marathon director Dave McGillivray 4-22-14

Dave called in to discuss the epic Boston Marathon.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: David Gregory is tanking 4-22-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed David Gregory's tanking Meet The Press ratings.

More from this show

A great Marathon Monday 4…

A great Marathon Monday 4-22-14

The guys opened the show by discussing yesterday's Boston Marathon and Kirk's run.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: Colbert introduced on Letterman

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. The guys talked about Colbert joining Dave Letterman last night.

More from this show

Patrice Bergeron with Dal…

Patrice Bergeron with Dale & Holley: Expect it to be tight-fought, back and forth all series with the Red Wings

Dale and Michael speak with Patrice Bergeron on the phone from Detroit on Marathon Monday fresh off a Bruins optional skate. Patrice talks about the B's slow start in game one, putting it all together for the team in game two, how the rest of this series might play out, and what this anniversary of the Boston Marathon means to him.

More from this show

Weei Writers