WEEI>On Demand>>Doc Rivers with Sean Grande previewing Celtics - Heat

Doc Rivers with Sean Grande previewing Celtics - Heat

Dec 27, 2011|

Head Coach Doc Rivers spoke with Sean Grande on our Celtics Radio Pregame show on Paul Pierce, Rajon Rondo and preview of game #2 vs the Miami Heat

Transcript - will not be 100% accurate

The Celtics tonight continues from the American Airlines Arena that again it is the Celtics and Miami Heat game to our conversation with the head coach. -- you know it by Harvard pilgrim healthcare more ways to better in these. Makes him look the same on the laptop and the person soft start strong middle orphanage. Yes it is. You know I just hope we didn't anticipate them to vote this one with there and promote the attackers being repeatedly toddlers so. You know would we expect him out to do in the so that I didn't like but I did like affected now. When you import and just -- it back into the game that you take command of the game and it's been like to finish. Noticed Gorton the last four positions. Which never happened. So you'd like. Turnovers. The tax which you know debate about that. What it's like you that. Easiest thing to do is to overreact to one game and that's our job we've three Rondo had days like that before. We talked about this for years everyone let's start but the free throws that he misses what is that the free throws that he attempts the most telling -- Absolutely and it's like rebounds -- -- you know it's clear indicator on on that he was an attack -- And what I liked about it for five of those guys when they're playing off -- that's one of the things. Two years ago it's if we're gonna play well fuse them but better to -- and -- runs -- And I thought he did -- so watch an affair of what you military where else run the -- total mr. This morning I don't know how many years of coach that that's the single best. Defense performance on the weak side that's an area where he floats and in the past. And he was absolutely real killer on on the weak side defensively he can do all those. Every day -- We're gonna have to -- What does that mean in terms of people hear you say that they what does does that mean effort is having him get him once on the court to the other night gambling revenues. Being active you know -- efforts they're summit unfortunately that means being active being alert. Reading situations but only when you can do that you have -- unbelievable weeks that focus. In a game were the news this poor roses I've seen. Beat. He stood out because it was only one. -- and so that was the good stuff. In a game in which are facing guys who are prolific and get to the free throw line you said after the game on Christmas Day. You weren't physical enough with no what does that mean and is that a slippery slope given how. Grow with us -- -- -- on the bar just you know where where does this morning covers -- as we go wild bill which hit the ball exactly where he won the -- well. Going into that game we all we talked about. You can make. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- It makes no longer position for him and we just -- you thought we play defense at report and you got your work early -- you know. And I think that we do there. Sasha starts again for Paul Pierce tonight in the interest of acquiescing to my partner who wants me to ask this question. Why Sasha it's so reticent to shoot and you drive and -- crazy and be part of this offense what we know we can't. Well telmex to when the line here. -- -- -- I don't know is the negative if market through or parking lot that she's. That's obviously what I'm trying to do with him. That we're gonna have a very good -- team and I'm not to assess when that we're gonna have what he's been. Com and that's just been directly. I think he has it and it. And you know. It's amazing when you watch -- practice does it. It's on the game you'll do. You root for history now more mental and physical absolutely youth. What kind of a sport world that we created -- this season that he had last year was some kind of failure. I don't mean. Listen. That's how we're -- to me let's just be honest media. I look at it look at it's me we won the one it's phenomenal. We went to the -- Lawson and in my mind that is that a successful season. Maybe this is how we're built. But that's how the combatants -- -- this you know the critics or do you notably -- -- I do and -- they they are scrutinized. LeBron individual or anybody in the history in the NBA team has been felt to go philosophical change in one game in the pre season but. Are they going more up tempo that reflective -- I think that's what they went through last year I think that their biggest changes they're going to the polls. I mean there's always Ron. If you allow him and listen we can track meet tonight with Burnett went to produce they receive there. We one athlete that probably compete. In the Olympics it's there. And that's Rondo. That they're there they're pretty athletic gifts here. But where others -- their picture pages LeBron and where you are posting more. And they're -- you make a choice you double which is pretty good move. And often which they can be Tucker's -- much of this is that -- of course -- -- going to be and if. -- selectivity aspects of WEEI Celtics radio network.

Audio On Demand

It Is What It Is Cast: Lo…

It Is What It Is Cast: Logan Mankins, the offensive line, and Brandon Spikes' guarantee

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Christopher Price discuss Logan Mankins' breakdown of the offensive line and how it will look without Dante Scarnecchia. They also discussed Mankins' rebuttal to Brandon Spikes.

It Is What It Is Cast: Bill Parcells and Patriots Hall of Fame

WEEI.com's Mike Petraglia and Chris Price discuss Bill Parcells' Patriots Hall of Fame candidacy.

CSNNE's Tom E. Curran Reports From NFL Owners Meetings

Tom Curran calls the show to discuss the Vince Wilfork contract situation. After texting with Vince this morning, Curran says that Vince's camp is possibly trying to put the "genie back in the lamp" and that the possibility of the Pro Bowl DT returning to the team has improved.

Celtics President Danny A…

Celtics President Danny Ainge with Dale and Holley 4-17-14

We wrap up the Celtics season by speaking with Celtics president Danny Ainge about this past season and the team's future.

Wyc Grousbeck, Celtics Owner: Reflects on the Boston Marathon tragedy 4-15-4

Celtics owner Wyc Grousbeck joins Mut and Merloni to discuss and reflect on the Boston Marathon Bombings a year later.

Jackie MacMullan, ESPN Boston, on the Celtics, 4-10-14

Jackie MacMullan talks some Celtics with Mut and Merloni as the season is winding down and the team is positioned to have a high draft pick.

Shabazz Napier joins Joe …

Shabazz Napier joins Joe and Dave as the UConn Huskies are honored at Fenway Park

UConn Point Guard, Shabazz Napier joined the guys for a half inning and talked about his experiences in college, his reasoning behind completing his education, and growing up in Boston.

Jonny Gomes with Joe Castiglione & Rob Bradford after the crazy win at Fenway

Joe & Rob talked to Jonny Gomes after the dramatic run-off win at Fenway over the Orioles.

Joe and Dave postgame with David Ross 04-17-14

Dave O'Brien and Joe Castiglione talk with Red Sox catcher, David Ross, who had the go-ahead RBI tonight as the Red Sox beat the White Sox behind a brilliant pitching performance from Jon Lester.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sport…

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, Bruins- Red Wings 4-22-14

Pierre McGuire of NBC Sports joins the program to talk about Game 3 between the Bruins and the Red Wings. He also discusses the issue of targeting player and weighs in on Matt Cooke's vicious knee hit to Tyson Barrie.

Dale and Holley with Patrice Bergeron live from Detroit

Dale and Michael speak with Patrice Bergeron on the phone from Detroit on Marathon Monday fresh off a Bruins optional skate. Patrice talks about the B's slow start in game one, putting it all together for the team in game two, how the rest of this series might play out, and what this anniversary of the Boston Marathon means to him.

Bruins' Enforcer Shawn Thornton Talk with D&C After Game 2 4-21-14

Thornton joins Dino and Gerry to recap Games 1 and 2, discuss Brendan Smith challenging Chara, and preview Game 3 in Detroit.

Boston Marathon director …

Boston Marathon director Dave McGillivray 4-22-14

Dave called in to discuss the epic Boston Marathon.

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: David Gregory is tanking 4-22-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed David Gregory's tanking Meet The Press ratings.

A great Marathon Monday 4-22-14

The guys opened the show by discussing yesterday's Boston Marathon and Kirk's run.

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sport…

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, Bruins- Red Wings 4-22-14

Pierre McGuire of NBC Sports joins the program to talk about Game 3 between the Bruins and the Red Wings. He also discusses the issue of targeting player and weighs in on Matt Cooke's vicious knee hit to Tyson Barrie.

Daily Diamond: Pittsburgh and Milwaukee clear benches in big brawl, April 22, 2014

Mut and Merloni discuss the latest brawl between the Milwaukee Brewers and the Pittsburgh Pirates

Pierre McGuire, NBC Sports, Previews Bruins-Red Wings 4-18-14

Pierre McGuire of NBC Sports joins the program to talk about the creativity of Red Wings coach Mike Babcock as well as the potential for physical play in the series.

Does anyone really miss J…

Does anyone really miss Jacoby Ellsbury in a Red Sox uniform 4-22-14

We discuss the return of Jacoby Ellsbury to Fenway Park, including why he left Boston, and what the crowd reaction will be for him.

DJ Bean live from Detroit previews Round One Games 3 and 4. 4-22-14

We check in with Mr. Bean live from the D to preview two games of Bruins-Wings action.

What's wrong with the 2014 version of Clay Buchholz? 4-22-14

We discuss the harsh start by Clay Buchholz, and how the turnaround from last season's start has been disturbing to watch if you're a Sox fan/

Rick Middleton joins Plan…

Rick Middleton joins Planet Mikey

Nifty jumps on the Planet for an hour.

Red Sox lose to the Orioles 2-1 on Opening Day

Lou Merloni did play-by-play with Joe Castiglione today and then joined The Planet Mikey Show to talk about what went wrong, and a few things that went right as the Red Sox started their campaign to defend their World Series title.

Chris Price joins John Ryder to talk the Patriots' newest acquisition

WEEI.com's Chris Price joins John Ryder and Chris Villani on Planet Mikey to discuss the signing of Revis Island

Fantasy Football Off-Seas…

Fantasy Football Off-Season Podcast 4

The 4th addition of WEEI’s Fantasy Football Offseason Podcast is loaded and ready. In this week’s conversation Jim Hackett and Pete Davidson of Rotobahn.com dig into the sinking draft stock of Teddy Bridgewater (much too their chagrin), while refocusing and emphasizing the immense scouting work done by Pete on players like Bridgewater, Zach Mettenberger, Blake Bortles, Bishop Sankey & Lache Seastrunk. Also, Jim & Pete touch on news from around the league regarding new Jet, Chris Johnson, Montee Ball in Denver and help you tune out all of the negative noise some in the media are trying to push. We’re not buying! Lots of Football love in this podcast for the Football lover. Enjoy!

Pod Man Rush: DJ Bean and Greg Wyshynski on Bruins-Red Wings

Greg Wyshynski of Yahoo! Sports joins DJ to break down the first-round matchup between the Bruins and Red Wings. Also discussed is Zdeno Chara's Norris candidacy, transparency with voting for the NHL awards and whether the Canadiens will get out of the first round.

Minor Details Ep. 79: The meaning of winning in the minors with Carlos Febles, Evan Lepler

The Red Sox' High-A minor league team in Salem recently had a 16-game winning streak that spanned two seasons. So what? From the standpoint of making prospects better and fostering player development, does that matter? Salem manager Carlos Febles (who managed Salem for the end of their winning streak, but who was also in charge of a 50-87 Single-A Greenville team in 2013) and Salem radio play-by-play man Evan Lepler discuss -- while also touching on a number of prospects in search of the next Earl Weaver and Vinegar Bend Mizell.

Chris Forsberg, ESPN Bost…

Chris Forsberg, ESPN Boston, joins Chris Villani on Easter to talk Celtics

With the season over, Chris Forsberg says the Celtics accomplished what they intended to this year. He also gets into what Rajon Rondo may be thinking heading into his last year in his contract. Danny Ainge has a plan and it'll be interesting to see how this off-season develops.

More from this show

Boston Marathon director …

Boston Marathon director Dave McGillivray 4-22-14

Dave called in to discuss the epic Boston Marathon.

More from this show

Headlines, Headlines, Hea…

Headlines, Headlines, Headlines: David Gregory is tanking 4-22-14

The top stories of the day as recounted by Kirk Minihane. Today the guys discussed David Gregory's tanking Meet The Press ratings.

More from this show

Reflections on Marathon M…

Reflections on Marathon Monday and recapping the race with WEEI's Kirk Minihane

Dale and Michael talk about what Marathon Monday means for them, the tremendous amount of people and positivity today in the Back Bay, and then Kirk Minihane, fresh off 26.2 miles stops by to recap a great experience in today's marathon.

More from this show

Patrice Bergeron with Dal…

Patrice Bergeron with Dale & Holley: Expect it to be tight-fought, back and forth all series with the Red Wings

Dale and Michael speak with Patrice Bergeron on the phone from Detroit on Marathon Monday fresh off a Bruins optional skate. Patrice talks about the B's slow start in game one, putting it all together for the team in game two, how the rest of this series might play out, and what this anniversary of the Boston Marathon means to him.

More from this show

Weei Writers